Keen Men's Newport H2 Sandal

$100.00
16619

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Aug 4 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Aug 4 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

Keen Men's Newport H2 Sandal Reviews Page 5

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5

364 Reviews

Pros
  • Great design: 75
  • Build quality: 67
  • Performance: 57
  • Ease of use: 56

Cons
  • Wears quickly: 6
  • none: 2
  • Poor quality: 2
  • Cost: 19
Comfort: 5 / 5
Protection: 4.7 / 5
Quality: 4.7 / 5
Durability: 4.6 / 5
Fit: 3 / 5

364 Ratings & Reviews

Great shoe
June 09, 2006

Got these for my husband and son as an alternative to shoes to wear while backpacking this summer. They are versatile and comfortable to wear. Have not experienced an odor problem, but haven't worn them much yet either. They've been worn kayaking and walking. They will go along on the trip to Isle Royale this summer in addition to the hiking boots.

WaveSkier

Difficult to Get On
July 18, 2005

The fit is great and the rugged construction is perfect for "off road" conditions. I like all things about the Keen Newport H2 Sandals... except they are very difficult to get on. Since there is virtually no stretch in the material, there is no easy way to slip the back strap up past the heel short of nearly breaking your fingers to accomplish the task. Add some sand and water to the process and you have a super-challenge to getting re-shod.

H2'S RULE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
March 01, 2006

These shoe/sandals are the $H!t. They are so versitile,it's scary. Kayaking, rafting, hiking, casual. Whatever, and as far as the "stink" thing, mabe some people need to wash there feet! I lived in these things ALL last summer and with one wash they look and smell new. They seem pretty true to size, and are so friggin comfortable it's just wrong. Go buy em!!!!

Very Comfortable
June 14, 2005

Very comfortable sandals. I've had them for a month and no signs of wear yet. I love the toe protection. They are a bit snug for me getting my feet in and out, but overall I'm very happy with them. Kudos to Keen for a great sandal.

Fit the bill for tropical running !
January 29, 2007

I needed a shoe that would be adaptable to jungle trails, unimproved jungle roads and beach running. These worked extremely well out of the box. I put over 50 miles on them the first week. Some of those miles were pretty intense running.They stood up well to the jungle mud, saltwater amd abrasive sand. They dried rapidily and there was no shrinkage in the straps.The support was suprisingly adequate yet flexible. I experienced no biomechnical problems, even after a 12 mile run. I was extermely pleased and pleasantly suprised!

Very stinky
July 07, 2006

One month and my Keens smell terrible, I have tried the washing and keeping them in the sun, but they still smell. For $100 you would think they would last more than a month stink free. i am going back to my doc martin sandals...had them for three years and don't smell anywhere near as bad as my Keens.

arthritic feet
August 05, 2006

I have horrible arthritis in both my feet and ankles. The Keen shoes/sandals are the only ones that I can wear during my 12 hour shifts as a nurse. My feet still hurt by the end of the shift, but much less than any other shoe. I plan to buy several pairs in different colors so I can color coordinate with my scrubs! Thanks.

great sandals, but
December 01, 2006

watch out when it rains they can slip

NOT Stinkeens If taken care of properly!
August 21, 2006

I agree, some shoes smell easier than others after some substantial use i.e. walking in Europe, a.k.a land of the stink! for days on end where sunny, brezzy days are scarce and good hygiene is a luxury, ANY shoe will smell, especially if worn sockless. Some more than others, agree to that too. My wife and I both wear our H2's constantly and get them wet with sweat, pool water, saltwater, hose water and even hard water. BEFORE they smell and AFTER hard use, we give them a good soapy wash, a nice day in the Sun and some Lysol every now and then, they are good as new and have that broken-in feel without a compromise in support. Now, if you do river rafting, extreme cross-country, wading or canyoning, you are wearing the wrong shoe. Take H2's for a nice light hike through the woods, ride a mountain bike down an easy trail, lounge around camp or take them to the pool, you will feel right as rain and your toes will not take a beating inherent to the Bolivian tire tread numbers. Smell results from a lack of discipline and care, not manufacturer's quality control.

Great!
June 14, 2005

My husband loves them. Very comfortable and attractive even if weird looking. One draw back that he complains of is that little pebbles get in the shoe and it is hard to shake them out with the shoe still on.

Great sandal!
August 14, 2005

These things are the best footwear purchase I've ever made. I bought them as a kayaking sandal, but wear them constantly - - around the yard, barn, house, to the store - - everywhere. Talked my wife into a pair as well. Incrediably comfortable, low maintenance (hose them off while wearing them), quick drying, and unmatched toe protection in a lightweight water shoe. I'll be buying another pair to have around in caase anything happens to these.

great shoes
August 14, 2005

The shoes ware comfortable and great in the water.

Comfy, Healthy & in style
July 02, 2005

Cushiony for the whole foot - no rubbing! Sturdy sole with a welcome (& ingenious) toe guard to block any chance of stubbing my toes. In the few weeks of wearing them, I have received SO MANY compliments on the street. BONUS, I can wear these to work as they do not violate the "no open-toe shoes allowed" policy. Sweet.

Great sandals!
May 31, 2006

The Newport H2 sandals are very comfortable. I have had no problems, I would by them again!

Worth the price - well made, great fit
May 03, 2006

I now own five pairs of Keens, and can't seem to get enough of them. For trapical vacations, these are tough to beat. I use them for rugged hiking on wet trails, kayaking, playing on rocks at the coast, and then rinse them off for dinner out. The toe protection is something that I first thought was as gimmik, but now realize it should have been a requirement for my footwear. I still wear Tevas when I want a REALLY open shoe, but I've smashed my toes more often than I can count! The Keens are awesome, and I don't hesitate to recommend them to anybody who asks about them.

Great buy and great sandal
August 11, 2006

Bought these for hiking which required crossing water across trails, especiallly in Colorado. The sandals are perfect. Comfortable and water is not a problem.

Perfect!!
May 29, 2006

I've never truthfully had shoes this comfortable. The comments I've gotten from friends asking me where I got them because they love the way it look. I have not stopped raving about these shoes to anyone who asked. Another great product from Altrec.

try this to get rid of the smell
November 10, 2006

Keens are great, but like the tevas of old they offer a wonderful habitat for bacteria. A good way to unstink keens is to scrub the footbed with a toothbrush and detergent, then use lots of boiling water to rinse them out. The boiling water is the trick, it seems to kill most of the bacteria and the stink doesnt return for a while.

great shoe
July 09, 2006

The shoe is great. We have a little club going at work with all of us wearing your shoes. Thanks

Best Sandal ever made!
June 20, 2005

These sandals are simply very well designed and made. Toe guard alone is worth it, super comfortable (no blisters yet), great for paddling, on rocks, in rivers. Grip is amazing in wet conditions too. Draw sting makes it super handy to get on and off and to get fit perfect. Well done guys, 10/10!

fantastic
August 04, 2006

ver comfortable.

Stinky Keens
October 10, 2006

Mine got stinky. I washed them with Dr. Bronners and put them in the Laotian sun for a few hours. They are fine now. I live in them, but they haven't gotten stinky again. My girlfriend would let me know.

Great sport sandal
August 16, 2005

The H2 is a solid sandal for light hikes, canoe trips, etc. However, if you're looking for a lightweight shoe, you may want to go elswhere. It's rugged and carries some weight. The enclosed toe catches H20 and small rocks when you're in the river. All in all, it's a very comforatable shoe.

Excellent Shoe!
July 11, 2006

Very comfortable to wear and the rubber-toe guard allows you to wear these for activities (like biking) where you normally could not wear sandals.

Great!
June 21, 2006

The best sandal I have ever owned. The sole is tough yet provides great arch support. Fits true to size and feels great right out of the box.

Exceptional comfort and fit
July 30, 2005

Buy this shoe...it is great. The Keen H2 and my Birkies are all I need. I followed other reviews and bought 1/2 size larger, the fit is perfect. Did a 5 mile hike with zero break-in and they were super comfortable. Also, you can't beat the customer service and quick shipping from Altrec.com.

outstanding service and great sandals
September 30, 2006

outstanding service and great sandals

Great, quick, reliable service!
August 16, 2005

Wonderful expedited service! I received item even before promised!!

good looking sport sandal
June 06, 2006

Was amazed at the comfort of this sport sandal. I wear almost everyday now.

Great Ergonomic Shoe
August 13, 2005

I bought this shoe as a gift for my father. He has 11 1/2 EEE feet. I was hesitant to buy the shoe because it does not come in WIDE WIDTHS, until I saw another review from a happy H2 owner with EE feet. I took his word for it that these shoes would fit a wide foot, and I was not disappointed....my father said they fit like a glove, no rubbing, just great performance. I can't wait to get a pair for myself!

Yes, the DO stink!!!
August 21, 2005

I've worn a lot of hiking shoes in my life and these are by far the most versatile, comforable and attention-getting. Interesting, but they didn't smell at all for the first couple months of constant wearing. Then I went to Europe for two weeks and did a lot of walking. When I got back they smelled like an outhouse basement. BTW, I've never had a problem with this before and do not have a problem with any other shoe. I've washed them twice in warm water and lots of detergent but the smell is still there. I LOVE these shoes and am sad because I no longer wear them. I refuse to be the downwind guy. How 'bout the Keen folks 'fess up and come up with a solution? They're website tells the company line - antimicrobial stuff built-in and other such non-sense. Admit it: THEY STINK!

H2 is the Sport Sandal for you
October 18, 2005

A versatile sport sandal that gives you support where you need it - a truly exceptional all-terrain hybrid shoe. Great for climbing and near water activities. Highly recommended for everyone!

Footastic....
May 01, 2006

They performed with no break time in on an 8 day Siesta Key Beach Vacation that consisted of long beach walks, and some black top park days that I was moving on my feet from 8 - 8... Can't say enough, but I will buy another pair and highly recomend to anyone who needs solid foot support...

StinKeens
September 13, 2005

YIKES!! One summer of no-sock use around town and to the office and I am ready to go back to the Bolivian tire tread sandals - not so comfortable, but they cost a $1.50 and the noxious fauna doesn't seem able to get the kind of purchase that it does in the StinKeens. The Stinkeens are terribly comfortable, (note - need to be tightened significantly when wet to prevent foot slippage inside the sandal), but the slightly porous materials used in the insole and sandal seem ideal bacterial substrate. Detergent washings have not helped and my Stinkeens have been retired for the summer. In lieu of the Bleach Treatment, I might toss them in the backyard and see if a Vermont winter can do something....

I think they are going to be great
August 12, 2006

Worn them a couple of times and were comfortable from the get go. Someone advised that I order a half size larger than normal and that was good advise. Haven't tried them in the water yet, but looking forward to giving them that test.

5- great
June 21, 2006

My husband loved the sandal. He said they are so comfortable.

They stink.
July 18, 2006

They really stink after shot use. No other shoe has given me this problem. But they are comfy.

Great all around sandal!
February 11, 2007

Wore them for a year. From mucky Oklahoma lakes to Lake George, New York to the canyons of Arizona in all kinds of weather. Never stank! Best toe protection of any sandal. Forgot them at my son's house in Todos Santos, Baja so I have to buy a new pair today. Cheaper than the airfare back to Baja.

Keens are the best
August 12, 2005

I have many pairs of Keens, both sandals and shoes, and I can't say enough good things about them. I am constantly getting asked where I got them and how I like them. This particular pair dries much faster than the nubuck and is much more comfortable to wear wet.

Second Time Delight
August 13, 2005

This was the second time I have ordered from Altrec and it was due to the awesome sale price of the Madder Brown Keen sandals. I have been wanting to get these for so long but want them at a certain price. Service is awesome as always.

Excellent pair of sandals
May 11, 2006

I have just recently acquired these sandals as a gift. I must say they are the most confortable pair of sandals I have ever worn.

Great sandal
July 13, 2006

I bought this pair for my boyfriend with fat feet and he loves them. He says they are extremely comfortable and easily adjusted. He will not take them off and get this, in his words "my keen sandals forever!". lol! Glad i forked out the money at my local REI.

Terrible rubber compound
August 18, 2005

not properly made for wet rocks and slippery surfaces. Buy this shoes and you are likely to crack your skull open on a wet river rock.

These Keens are great!
August 20, 2005

These scandals are great, comfortable and easy to slip into. The sandal is constucted so tiny road stones don't get stuck in the show as in the open-toed variety.

Perfect warm weather footwear
October 09, 2006

I love 'em! From mid-April through September, this is the only thing I wear on my feet (OK, except for hiking through poison ivy in the woods). On the beach, most hiking, cycling, casual wear (including meetings) - these are the most comfortable footwear I've worn, have great traction, protect your toes, dry quickly and generate discussion. I'm buying a second pair so when these wear out I know I'll have some in reserve.

Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED