Keen Men's Targhee II Shoe

$120.00
25232

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Sep 19 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Sep 19 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

Keen Men's Targhee II Shoe Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5

184 Reviews

Pros
  • Great value: 9
  • Lasts forever: 7
  • comfortable: 5
  • Ease of use: 4

Cons
  • none: 3
  • a bit loose in the heel.: 1
  • a little big on me but i have very large size 13s: 1
  • Cost: 1
Quality: 4.8 / 5
Durability: 4.8 / 5
Comfort: 4.6 / 5
Fit: 3.5 / 5
Shape: 3.3 / 5
Cushioning: 2.7 / 5

184 Ratings & Reviews

Keens go-to shoe
January 19, 2010

Great Keen fit, waterproofing, style, and comfort. I wear them daily

Very nice!!!
August 12, 2009

This is my first pair of Keen boots. I have purchased Keen sandals in the past and loved them, and can definitely say the same for the Targhee II. Great fit, I love the toe compartment, and they really do a good job on slick, wet rocky terrain. I took them hiking at Kaiteur Falls in Guyana and they really came in handy over the wet rock and moist rooted jungle terrain. They also breathe well. Definitely will buy another pair someday.

Best shoes EVER
January 04, 2009

Awesome fit, large toe box, lots of space for toes, easy on, easy off, once you get past the look they are AMAZING, typical chunky look from KEEN. reflective material great for visibility at dusk, waterproof holds up great, not much ankle support though. Round laces loosen frequently, great traction on wet/icy surfaces. Fairly breathable, won't stink much after full day in them.

Great Shoes!
May 29, 2009

These are a really great pair of shoes. They are comfortable and airy. Take note of this: I got half a size bigger than what I usually wear (as suggested by several reviews), but they were too big for me.

nicolasg

AWESOME!!!
March 23, 2009

Great shoe! Most comfortable shoe I have owned in years. Keendry work great on keeping your feet dry even in wet conditions.

Not as comfortable as previous models
April 19, 2010

Somewhat disappointed as the design of the shoe has apparently changed yet I was unaware of this and its repercussions. The new model is decidedly stiffer, and as a result not nearly as comfortable for all-day wear as the previous Targhee II. The outsole compound even sounds more dense when it hits the ground, and while this is perhaps a welcome change, the shoes are overall somewhat stiff and my feet feel numb in them. Perhaps they will require a longer break-in period than the earlier model, but I have my doubts that this will change the comfort factor. I am curious whether the non-waterproof version of this shoe is more comfortable but if so, I wasn't expecting to sacrifice comfort for water resistance... Also, personally I found no need to order a half-size larger.

Have 3 pairs of Keen's, love them all
September 21, 2008

Ordered them all in half size larger. Very comfortable and feel good all day long. Seems they are going to be durable. Liked them so well, ordered them for wife and daughters and even son-in-laws.

I love these shoes!!
June 21, 2010

I've been looking for outdoors shoes that can stay dry and give me the comfort that I like for a while and these shoes perfectly cover all my needs!

Incredible comfort and looks... Just size up.
March 28, 2009

I love the comfort of this shoe. I am a high school science teacher and am on my feet all day. After wearing these shoes all day, my feet felt great! They work great in class and for a casual night out as well as on the trail. On the trail they are sturdy, grip well and feel like the extension of my foot they should be. I am a 10.5 in my New Balance runners. I go with the wide foot model. The Targhee II size I bought was an 11.5. So, if you have a wide foot, size up.

TOP COMFORT: VERY SHORT LIFE
January 02, 2009

Possibly the most comfortable shoe in my 60 years of climbing and walking, alas they are totally worn out in just 9 months of urban hill walking keeping fit with 5 days per week and an average of 7 km pr day which in my calculations is approx. 1260 km which equates to nearly 16 c pr km. I can run my SUV for the same price!

Awesome shoes, and I'm not exaggerating!
September 08, 2009

When buying my first pair of Targhee II shoes I searched for something with good arch support and no twist in the sole. None of the other brand names matched up to the Keens. After wearing them for 2 years I'm sold more than ever on the Targhees. Other than being a little scuffed and needing one minor seam repair, they're every bit as good as the first day I put them on.

Great Shoe - Didn't Fit
April 19, 2010

Unfortunately when I ordered this shoe via Amazon there was no notice stating that the shoe runs 1/2 size small. I only found out that these did not fit me when they arrived on my doorstep and I tried them on around the house. When I went through the procedure to return and order the next size up, I was dismayed to find that there were none in the size that I needed. I had to order from another company.

Good shoe. Good price. Good Service
March 17, 2010

Good experience. Love the shoes.

Sturdy Performer
August 25, 2009

I bought my first pair of this shoe to replace Merrell's that gave up under the circumstances of my work in three months. The Keen lasted over a year which is saying a lot with the abuse they see. They have remained sturdy and comfortable and now I will begin breaking in a second pair to prepare for the inevitable demise of the first.

Great shoes!
February 17, 2009

I have bought those shoes for my boyfriend already for the third time, pretty much every year now. They look good, they are functional for his job and weekend hiking. I would recommend to everyone.

Another Great Keen Shoe
December 28, 2009

Keen has become my favorite brand, and this shoe is another winner. Comfortable and looks good, wore them for a full day the first time I had them on and no aches or pains. The waterproof-ness hasn't been put to the test yet, but i bought these for a casual shoe so I won't be standing in too many streams with them.

Shoe fits great and has walked the Nile
June 11, 2009

I am very pleased with these shoes. I wear size 12 and found reviews were right to order a size larger. Size 13 fits perfect.

Great in all areas except....
June 25, 2010

I love Keen, I have worn my Gunnison's everywhere and am now keeping them alive with Gorilla glue and stitches, so I thought I would like the Targhee II, and I did....except for the heal. No matter how tight I laced them my heel would not stay in the heel cup. I tried a variety of socks from my normal Smartwool hikers to athletic socks, my heel came up and out with every step. Other than that, the shoes were comfortable and built like tanks. Suffice it to say I made use of ALtrec's return policy (which is great) and am looking through their other shoes to see what might fill my light hike needs. I'm sure these would be great for people who's foot fit the shoe, but mine didn't (and I don't have narrow heels). Give them a try, if they work they will be your favs.

Best Hikers Yet
April 16, 2010

This is the third different style of Keen shoes I've owned in recent years. These came highly recommended by my dog-walking daughter for all kinds of weather and conditions. They've lived up to their advance billing: lots of comfort, great wear, and good stability

Another winner from Keen!
December 21, 2009

This is my fourth pair of shoes from Keen and every one of them is fantastic. The fit is great, nice and roomy in the toe, and the look is classic Keen. I wear my Keen's all winter long here in Maine and they just last forever. Great shoes!

Lightweight, comfortable, awesome.
July 15, 2009

My first real hiking shoe - don't see a reason to try anything else.

Awesome!!!
October 09, 2009

I have purchased many, top name brand hikers in the past but this pair runs circles around them all. They are comfortable, stable, supportive and best of all the treads will give you traction to make you feel like you can go anywhere. If you are thinking of a new hiker you won't go wrong buying these!

Just as expected
April 22, 2010

I had the "first" Targee and they lasted a long while. I wanted the waterproof feature. These shoes are very stout, and perfect to take a beating from trail use.

Best Hiker I've Ever Worn
June 10, 2009

I've had my share of problems with hiking boots and shoes in the past. I usually wear them around the house before going on any long jonts. But with the Keen's I wore them 3 days after receiving shipment on a 6.2 mile Volksmarch to the top of Crazy Horse Memorial Mountain in the Black Hills of South Dakota. Great comfort and I highly recommend these to anyone. I got a half size larger than I normally wear, and I strongly recommend doing so.

2nd pair of Targhee II
April 19, 2010

This is the 2nd pair I have owned. The last pair lasted over a year with most days standing or walking on concrete all day. Well constructed, light weight, waterproof and very comfortable indoors or outdoors. When this pair wears out I will buy another pair. You do need to order a half size larger that you wear.

Very Good
April 23, 2010

This pair of KEEN shoes has kept me dry on numerous occasions. They are comfy and have not lead to any sock falling, bunching, or sogginess upon an outing. Very well done.

Comfortable shoe, not so good durability
April 09, 2009

I just ordered my third pair. The first pair were returned after about a month due to a blown out lace loop. I had the replacement pair about 9 months, and the rubber toe cap has delaminated, allowing water to leak in. The poor durability is offset by the fact that this is the most comfortable shoe I have ever owned.

very pleasedm with keen
April 04, 2010

this hiking shoe is very comfortable. I always enjoy keen. they really are a quality shoe. thank you

Great Low Hiker
April 14, 2010

Great support and traction with extra comfort and protection. Shoe is waterproof even if water gets across the front. Keen is a great brand for comfortable shoes.

My 2nd pair, as comforable as the first.
September 28, 2008

This is my second pair of Targhee's. Buying larger size shoes is always hard, these size 15's are very comfortable and suit all day wear. These will be my shoes of choice for my touring holiday of Europe in November.

Nice Nitch Shoe
December 17, 2009

This one is kind of a cross between a walking shoe and a light hiking boot. It's very well made as is everything I've ever gotten from Keen breaks in rather quickly. I was a little late to the party on color selection, mine came in kind of a mossy green if it was one thing I wished Keen would do is be a little less creative with their description of colors if it's green just call it green not some goofy name like Forest Night or how about Madder Brown or Gargoyle what the hell color is that? All in all it's a great shoe and I will wear it into the ground it fits a nitch I hadn't had before in my footwear

56hiker

my favorite shoe
January 05, 2010

I am wearing my second pair of Targhee's and have my third pair on standby awaiting in the closet. There is no question in my mind what will be my fourth pair but I will show some restraint and wait to bring them home.

Around town or long hike
September 08, 2009

I bought these for my husband as a new pair of shoes for him to wear on short little 3 mile trail hikes. Well, he just recently went on a 12 mile hike with them and still had great things to say about them. Comfortable!

really comfortable and stable
March 02, 2009

Great shoe, good fit right out of the box. Your site had many colors and sizes to choose from.

A very comfortable and supportive shoe.
May 13, 2009

The shoe is very comfortable and sturdy. Keens tend to run about a half size small but I was aware of that before ordering. I would reccommend this shoe to a friend.

Men's Targhee II
April 06, 2010

Second pair of keen low top light hikers,and feel great on the old dogs. Last ones lasted forever with moderate to heavy use. The new ones even have double stitchings...so that's even better. Hike on brothers!

Great--but for one feature
June 08, 2010

These are great shoes. Rugged, grippy, waterproof, good-looking. I wish, though, the tongue didn't bunch up so much around the top of the shoe. It does create a sort of bag-like effect, which is very effective for keeping out water--but the extra fabric has to go somewhere: pressing into the top of the foot. The good news is that they wear in reasonably well. I leave them a bit looser than most hiking shoes. Really, you can't go wrong with Keens.

djollio

great shoe,does run small though
May 28, 2009

This is my third pair of Targee's. Great shoe,offers much more support than sneakers for everyday use and has a large toe box which works out well for me as I have wide feet.Keen dry works well also.They initally feel a little stiff which caused some heel slippage but they break in rapidly and that resolves itself.

2nd pair of Keens
April 02, 2010

I already own a pair of Keen sandals. These shoes are very comfortable. Great fit and the best sole I have found on a pair of shoes. I would recommend this to anybody who wants a great shoe at the $100 range.

Great Shoe
August 02, 2009

I bought these shoes to replace a pair of Merrells that I've had for about 4 years. I haven't taken them hiking yet (we'll be hitting some trails in Germany in September), but I've been wearing them at least once a week to break them in. They feel great and I look forward to getting them on the trail. One thing that drives me a little nuts are the loops on the back heel - if you're wearing pants they'll occasionally get hung up on the loops. No big deal, though - I could always cut them off if it becomes an annoyance. So far love the shoes and Altrec had them for a great price.

misslindy

try on before you buy to get best deal
July 08, 2010

I purchased these shoes for my husband as a gift. He is totally addicted to Keen shoes. Other reviews said to purchase a size up if you are in between sizes. We did, and they were too big for his narrow heel. We went to a local shoe store to try on other sizes, and for him, he was more true to size on this model of Keen. We plan on ordering again, but just trying on the shoe else where and then ordering though Altrec to get the best deal.

Keen comfortable and great performance but...
May 08, 2009

These shoes like my Keen Newport sandals are incredibly comfortable. I have read that some of these do not hold up but mine are fine so far. The only issue I have is the tongue is a bit strange and does not sit well in the shoe. This creates limited snugness towards the ankle and the result is some upward heel movement. Otherwise great performer.

Great day hiking shoes
May 03, 2010

Lightweight for easy trail walking. Low cut very comfortable but not suitable for ankle support on rocky trails. Great construction, I have Keen sandals too. Dry quickly when wet.

Great for wide feet!
August 03, 2010

These shoes are great for anyone with wide feet. I tried on a variety of other hiking shoes which were all too narrow. Very comfortable and great on the trail.

Awsome Shoes
April 27, 2010

I have weird feet with a wider toe this is my third pair Keen's I have not found a better shoe that fits me. No break in period and always stay dry BUY KEEN

Solid outdoor shoe
April 01, 2010

The size 12 fit like a size 12. The shoe is great, very solid with good support and comfortable. It is meant for outdoors, it does get a little warm inside due to the waterproof membrane.

Good shoe
May 21, 2009

These are my 4th pair. I use them for my job in construction - comfortable and great for mornings with wet grass. They dont last as long as boots as the fronts start to separate from the rest of the shoe after 6 months, but I think that's any shoe when it gets hard use.

Not as good as the nylon styles.
March 02, 2010

This is my 8th pair of Keens. The leather make the shoe stiffer than I am used to, therefore the lower score. I am hoping they break in soon as they are rubbing my ankle creating a sore spot.

Fantastic Shoes
November 12, 2009

I've relied on these shoes for 3 separate trips to Europe. Their versatility and durability has been something I've really appreciated - be it stomping through peat bogs in Scotland or wandering the streets of Spain.

Awesome shoes that last!!
May 17, 2010

This is my fourth pair of keen shoes and I continue to be impressed by the shoe. I abuse my shoes and the keen shoes are the only ones that hold up.

awesome shoe!
June 10, 2009

The first time I bought this shoe, I paid full price at a shoe store at my local mall. I loved the shoe in every way; it is the most comfortable footwear I have ever owned! I wear them to work, kicking around my yard, and on my weekend outdoor excursions...in every situation they keep my feet dry and comfortable. When it came time to buy a new pair I found your site and was happy to find I could buy the same awesome shoe for a much lower price than I paid at the mall. Thanks!

Great Shoes!
December 18, 2009

This is my first pair of Keens. They fit fine right out of box, no break-in was necessary. I ordered my regular foot size, did not go up either half or full size as others have suggested. My son has tried them and will buy a pair - he's in dog walking business and wanted something light, comfortable, and supportive. These should do just fine.

Fantastic shoes !
February 13, 2010

Tough on the terrain, durable, waterproof, and comfortable. The best shoes ever.

Great shoe - rock solid support
April 22, 2010

This is my second pair of Keen Targhee's. Having done a little research ahead of time and reading many people's comments that they run 1/2 size small, I have to agree. I would suggest buying 1/2 size larger than you normally wear. They are stiff, but give me great foot support. Not sure if the stiffness will get less after a longer break in period? Overall I think they are a great shoe, good foot and arch support, and overall tough.

IkeD
top500Contributor

Great boot!!
December 23, 2009

Right out of the box I took these boots on a 3 mile hike over rocky terrain and up some bluffs with not a single blister!! I was really amazed by this and after about 5 months of wear I can see the boot outsole beginning to wear down; however, since I love these boots so much and wear them everywhere, the wear is definitely expected. GREAT BOOT, you won't regret this purchase!

Heel too loose even with tight lacing
March 27, 2010

This is the third pair of Keens I own. The other two hiking boots are mid vs. the low shoe. The mids fit perfectly The heel area of the shoe slips excessively even when the when laced tightly. If you have a problem with heel slippage, I would suggest you look at mid or high Keen boots

The most comfortable shoe I've found
April 04, 2009

I wear this shoe every day for work. As I am on my feet all day these proved to be the answer for tired sore feet. Great stability, arch and heel support. I had an arch problem in my left foot and my podiatrist actually recommended this shoe. It has helped immensely. Added plus, they look good. Thanks Altrec for great service!

very nice solid shoes
April 16, 2010

really nice shoes fairly easy to get on and off

Excellent
December 23, 2009

Great product, I don't have any complains and I'm happy with my purchase, they are comfortable which it was what I was looking for, awesome product.

Comfy!!
January 11, 2010

This my third pair of keens. Love that they come in my size and that they are so comfortable. I do a ton of hiking with my dog and now where these shoes everyday I hike plus more.

Best shoes I've ever owned
January 03, 2009

I liked my Keen Targhee shoes so much I bought a pair for my four sons for Christmas. All of them said, "They're the most comfortable shoes/boots they've ever had!" A classic like father like son.

DO NOT BUY THESE BOOTS!
September 23, 2009

In the 5 months I've had these boots I've had to glue the soles 3 times and now the stitching is coming apart. I don't even do much serious hiking. I could have paid half the price for High Techs or Merrells and they would be showing little wear at this point. Keen is highly overrated and an inferior product.

shoepeeps
top1000Contributor

Great shoe, weird tongue
June 05, 2010

I will start by saying I own a pair of Keen shoes and I love them. I have been looking for a Keen hiking shoe and the Targhee II that I got had a weird tongue so I returned them. I don't know if I got an older design so I will try another Keen hiking shoe. The fit of the Targhee II was very good, true to size and bent in the right place unlike some other Keens. I can see why people love the company because when you get a good design in this brand you don't want to put anything else on your feet.

great shoe
June 06, 2009

this is the second pair I've owned. very comfortable. great for hikes or just walking around.

great shoes
July 13, 2009

Awesome shoe, I'm a contractor and these shoes got me through three summers of rough abuse. Excellent shoe

Great shoes!
April 24, 2010

Took these shoes on my Galapagos trip and they held up nicely. I have a heal spur and these shoes offer amazing support.

Great shoes!
May 22, 2009

I'm a nurse and work on my feet 10-12 hours a day and needed a pair of shoes that didn't make my feet ache at the end of the day. I also underpronate and have plantar fasciitis, and since my other Keen shoes work really well, I thought I'd try these shoes. I am SO glad I did. I feel like I'm walking on pillows and no aching feet when I get home! The only 'bad' part is my feet get pretty hot, but they still feel great! They are very worth it...thanks Keen and Altrec for sending these great shoes right away!!!

Good Shoe
July 02, 2010

I love my Keens. I work in the marine industry and wear Keens every day. I am happy with these shoes. They seem to run a little smaller than other Keens, and I have the same complaint listed in another post. My heel won't stay in the heel cup. Otherwise good shoe at a fair price.

Support
December 13, 2009

After a long run, I somehow hurt my foot. The next day in my work shoes I had a hard time walking. Then I wore the Targhee II to work, with it's great support, plus comfort, I was able to walk with no pain. I tossed the work shoes and I now wear Targhee II everyday to work. They look great with cords, khakis, and jeans.

awesome shoes
September 10, 2008

I wear them every day and love love love them. Comfortable enough for tooling around town or extended hikes around the mountains. Living and playing in colorado requires good footwear and these shoes are it!!!

Great shoe
April 21, 2009

Always size up on these.. They fit snug. Very happy and these are my second pair. Great fit and comfort. Rugged.

you can't beat these shoes
December 18, 2009

The Targhee IIs give you the toughness of a work boot with the comfort of a sneaker. Instantly comfortable, and waterproof! These are awesome shoes.

Very good shoes for hiking/working in rough terrain
April 28, 2010

The shoes fit well right out of the box, but I would order the larger size if not sure. The shank makes walking in rocky terrain comfortable. I would get the high top for heavey hiking for ankle support.

A great shoe!
September 23, 2009

I've worn Keen shoes (various models) for several years now and have never been disappointed in their product. The Targhee II Shoe is the 2nd of this type Keen "hiker" for me and I still use the first pair for my yard shoes.

This was a birthday present for my father, and he loved it!
February 17, 2010

The original size I got for my dad was his normal shoe size, but they were a half size to small. Altrec made it very easy to send the other shoes back and I just re-ordered him the same one in a half size bigger. The customer service was very friendly and patient when I was asking about how to return the original product. I am very happy with Altrec

Great shoe, be wary of width
January 02, 2010

I ordered the show from altrec.com with great service as usual. The shoe was typical Keen--sturdy, well made. But, the show width was just too narrow for my 11.5-12 EE foot. Strangely, an 11.5 in my other three pair of Keens fit perfectly. I eventually purchased the non-water proof Keen (without the waterproof lining) and it fit fine--in a 1/2 size up. So, I highly recommend this shoe if it fits your foot. You may need to order 1/2 size up, though (the width and 1/2 size up are why I rated it 4 stars and not 5 stars).

Comfort&Style Are Combined For A Great Shoe
June 16, 2009

Keens feel so good on my feet.This is the 4th pair I have purchased in the last few years. They look & feel great.

Keen Shoes
April 13, 2009

I like the wear of the Targhee and Voyager. The Targhee doesn't breath as well but provides more protection. I recommend these shoes to anyone doing serious outdoor activities.

my mother has worn these constantly for two years. that says it.
November 23, 2008

I bought the first pair for my mother and she has worn them every single day for two years. No kidding!! She is a big walker. She loves them.. obviously. It is only now after two years of constant wear that the heels are beginning to wear. The uppers are perfect. So I am getting her a second pair. I myself bought a pair based on mothers feedback. They just love my feet I have to say.

This is great everyday and treking shoe
August 25, 2009

This is my second pair of this shoe, I just love it. It has a perfect support for my almost flat feet, upper leather and fabrics are very resistant. It is perfect for everyday as for trekking. Only con is that sole is not as lasting as the rest of the shoe, I really hope Keen improves this.

Keen Targhee II Shoes
May 24, 2010

I'm a diabetic who walks a bunch. These shoes are excellent and give great support and they look great. Not hot at all. Broke in out of box. Stitching around back and side of shoe is reflective, very bright at night for safety. Highly recommended. Buy 1/2 size larger than normal, nice wide shoe. Go for it!

Page: 1, 2, 3
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED