Keen Women's Targhee II Mid Hiking Boot

$130.00
30351

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Sep 22 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Sep 22 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

Keen Women's Targhee II Mid Hiking Boot Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5

150 Reviews

Pros
  • comfortable: 8
  • Lasts forever: 3
  • waterproof: 3
  • Build quality: 22

Cons
  • none: 2
  • a bit too short: 1
  • Cost: 1
  • didn't order sooner: 1
Quality: 4.8 / 5
Durability: 4.7 / 5
Comfort: 4.6 / 5
Sole Flex: 3.5 / 5

150 Ratings & Reviews

KEENlover4

Pure excellence
January 13, 2010

These boots are awesome. I am a big fan of Keen shoes and this boots do not disappoint!

Excellent Rough Terrain Boot
December 13, 2009

Purchased these boots for my wife, hiking in the Linville River Gorge of the North Carolina mountains. The trails here are steep, strewn with rocks and roots, and are usually wet from mountain springs. The boots provide great support and traction. She wore them right out of the box on a rough 4.5 mile climb from the north rim down to the river and back. They felt more comfortable than any shoe she had ever had. No break in required. She really liked the Iguana colors too.

Great shoe!
April 11, 2010

Completely comfortable right out of the box. Waded through streams yet my feet stayed dry. Would recommend going a half size larger than you normal size.

Totally pleased!
October 26, 2009

Followed suggestions of others and order one half size up. Perfect fit. Had my first hike and my feet stayed dry and comfortable. Love the cushioning of these boots, typical of Keen footwear. Excellent service from Altrec, too.

love this boot
December 16, 2007

I walked through cold freezing snowy chicago in these boots and never felt a bit of cold or moisture. Very warm and comfortable.

Great boots at a great price!
February 01, 2010

I love these boots. These are my 3rd pair of keens (first pair of waterproof boots), and they keep me warm and dry on some very wet walks.

Best work shoe
June 15, 2009

I work at a plant nursery for 9 hours a day, these shoes are so supportive and relatively light weight (for a boot) I am comfortable all day. I have tried many comparable brands, the Keens are the best hands down. And they look so rugged! I am an 8, and my boots are an 8.

Great boot
September 20, 2008

Some how I lost my hiking boots that I had for 26 years. They fit my foot perfectly and were the most comfortable boot I could ever find. UNTIL NOW... since my old boots were lost I was forced to replace them. I have been a big fan of Keen shoes for the past several years so decided to try the Targhee II Mid Hiking Boot and am loving them. I've been on several mid level hikes in western North Carolina and have fallen in love. From the first moment I put them on they have been comfortable. Keen shoes are tops on my list. I am heading to Kazakhstan and these along with my other Keens will be in my bag.

I'm very happy!
May 26, 2008

Because I love my Keen sandals so much I wanted to get their boots for an upcoming trip to Yosemite. I love these boots! Glad I took everyone's advice and bought a full size larger.

Great lightweight mid hiking boot
April 08, 2010

Since I enjoy hiking in the great outdoors I purchased the Keen Targhee II mid hiking boot. I had to order a half size larger for a perfect fit but these boots are lightweight and so easy to hike in. I love Keen shoes and I also own the Keen women's Newport H2 sandal for water related fun as well.

super comfortable for an urban or easy walk in the woods
April 05, 2009

Had my first long walk yesterday. I orderd half size bigger but with thick socks it's still a bit short!Beside this: just slipped in and rather didn't feel it on my feet, super comfortable. But not for heavy terrain, the soles are too soft and flexible.

Rugged Shoes
December 08, 2009

These shoes feel great right out of the box.

Can wear right out of the box!
April 20, 2010

I was so happy with my Keen hiking boots the moment they arrived. I went to a local sporting goods store to try on a pair of Keen sandals so I knew what size to get. I normally wear an 8.5 and I ordered an 8 and they fit perfectly! They need no break in time and I'm anxious to wear them on my trip to Yosemite next month!

They Climbed Kilimanjaro...
October 05, 2007

and my feet stayed warm, dry, and blister-free. These were the 3rd pair of boots I'd bought in preparation for the climb, and they are keepers. I paid attention to other reviewers and bought a full size larger than my usual size, and the fit was fine with wool socks plus liner socks. The boots were comfortable out of the box and cleaned up well after 9 days in Kili's volcanic ash. Knowing what I do now, I'd rethink some of my gear purchases, but not these boots. They exceeded expectations!

Great boots, comfy, supportive, stylish, buy a half size larger.
February 22, 2010

I love these boots! They are as comfy as bedroom slippers and require no break-in time. I plan to hike this spring in Bryce and Zion and can't wait to put them to the test. I normally wear a size 6 but bought 6.5 and 7 to compare, ended up with the 6.5 as the best fit. I love the top eyelet which locks the lace in for easy, no slippage lacing.

Great boots, but smaller than usual
April 12, 2008

Even though these are smaller than usual, I can tell they feel comfortable. I'm going to order the next size up and it should be perfect. Love the ankle support

EASY COMFORT
March 05, 2009

GREAT BOOT. I WAS CONCERNED DUE TO A MORTON'S NEUROMA THAT I WOULD HAVE FOOT PROBLEMS WHILE HIKING. BUT WITH NO TIME TO BREAK IN THE BOOT, I WORE THEM WITH NO FOOT PROBLEMS. LOVE IT

Very comfortable boot
April 01, 2010

I am very pleased with my new Keen boots. They are very comfortable with a nice blend of moderate sturdiness. I bought a 1/2 size up and they fit well. I have been hiking in them and they feel great. I will be using these boots on a 10 day trek in Nepal.

trailboss
top1000Contributor

above average
September 08, 2009

Normally wear a size 7 1/2, after chatting with the company personnel on size, ordered an 8, turned out to still be too short. Will need a size 8 1/2 in this particular boot. Otherwise, liked the boot a lot!

Amazingly comfortable!
April 12, 2010

I bought these after reading wonderful reviews online, Im so glad I listened to them. They were ready to hike right out of the box. So comfortable and lightweight. Kept my feet nice, dry, and warm. And of course they are cute too! Im very happy with my purchase!

They're Great
December 12, 2009

As comfy as my regular Targhee IIs. Good traction, good support. But as always, order 1/2 size up and you'll be fine. Still trying them out in the rain but so far so good.

Great Boots
June 06, 2009

Boots feel very comfortable. Lots of room, your feet do not feel cramped. I have to buy one size larger. Like the design.

Love the wide toe box
December 12, 2009

I do love the wide toe box. Was expecting a more comfortable and supportive insole. Wasn't able to get the color I wanted but the price was right.

Great Boots!
November 10, 2009

These boots are great! They are very comfortable and warm. Pros: Warm Waterproof Comfortable

A comfortable, stylishing outdoor shoe? Check this out!
October 14, 2009

Keen really got it together on this model hiking boot: comfort and style! I ordered my true shoe size because I wear the same weight cotton socks year round. They have a fabulous fit, especially with a rounded toebox that that does not accentuate the length of my size 8-1/2 foot. The padding around the ankle is comfortable and gives me stability when I'm out in the woods. Another feature I enjoy is that the tongue of the shoe is a bit wider, making them easy to pull on and off. Definitely would recommend and would consider purchasing in another color. Styling has a fantastic feminine appeal for outdoors without making me look like a lumberjack. Thanks, Keen, for constructing an outdoor shoe for women that is both functional and has wardrobe appeal!

so far great
April 12, 2009

so far so good. I actually have it almost 1 size bigger and it fits well--I usually wear either a 8.5 or a 9 and I got it in a 9.5. Very comfortable and seem to be great so far and well worth the cost.

Great Right Out of the Box
April 25, 2010

These boots have superior construction, as you would expect from Keen. They are comfortable right out of box with almost no break-in time. I can wear them all day long without them feeling constraining or heavy.

fragipps

Once broken into - Perfect.
April 05, 2008

I usually wear a 6W or 6-1/2M, boots size 7. Purchased these in a size 7 - with socks felt tight for the first three days of my trip...toes actually fell asleep at one point while hiking..but, by the fourth day they were fine. I think a couple of more hiking trips and they will eventually fit as well as my 1991 Vasque leather boots.

Excellent product.
March 09, 2010

I bought these shoe's for my wife and she loves them. They look great and she's says they're more comfortable than her sneakers. She got the size bigger and they fit great.

Great prices on great shoes.
January 10, 2010

Ever since I bought my first pair of keens I've loved them. I'm on my third pair now,and will never buy a different brand. They are cute enough to wear out on the town, yet versatile and tough enough to hike and work in. Thanks for your great prices.

Lovin them so far!
March 17, 2008

I've not worn these hiking yet, but did wear them for 10 hours running errands the day they arrived in oder to break them in. I was surprised... no breaking in required! I didn't have a single sore spot or blister. I typically wear an 8.5 but ordered a 9... they were perfect for me. Good arch support, too - which is hard to find & I love the square toe box! All in all, I'm very happy with my purchase!

Great Boots!
February 06, 2010

Love the boots, fit great, feel great! Very waterproof--good enough to go sledding in & my feet stayed warm!

Feel Great
May 15, 2009

These boots just arrived today so haven't had a chance to test them out, but if they are like my other Keen shoes, they will be great. Keens are very comfortable and my feet don't hurt after standing on them all day. Great support.

AlbaCorps
top500Contributor

almost a five, except for...
February 24, 2010

These boots are an odd combination of Wow! and What?! On the plus side, they have a cushy ride, deep lugs on the sole, quality leather and construction. They have minimal ankle support, being on the low side of "mid-high". On the minus side, I need at least 1/2 size larger (these and the Oregon PCT ran quite small, with the Shastas at nearly true to size). Also, the tongue is not gusseted, which can allow trail debris into your shoe. And two really odd problems--the tongue is about an inch too short and the shoelaces that came with the boots were so short I could barely tie them! And, while I like the no-slip plastic eyelet at the top of the shaft, it will wear out laces quickly. All in all I liked the boots well enough to try again-this time a bit larger and in a men's version, since the women's boot was surprisingly tight in the toe box (and I have a narrow foot).

great boots
February 17, 2010

love the boots, never had to wear them in they were amazing and comfortable for 7 days of trekking through the Colombian Andes. the gore tex really came in handy. i would definitely buy these again!

Size/Color
March 01, 2010

I received my boots quickly and was quite impressed. However, I should have paid heed to the reviews/comments regarding what size to order - I would definitely recommend order at least 1/2 size larger possibly a full size depending on what type of sock you're going to wear. I was also a little disappointed in the color - thought I was getting more of a black shade - its gray. Comfort excellent! Even the mid boot feels fabulous from the get-go!

These boots feel great both my feet and knees like these boots.
February 18, 2008

I have read commentary about the sizing of these boots running small. I am never sure what size to by with most shoes until I try them on. It is an even split between sizes 7.5 and 8.0. These Keens were a perfect fit for me at 8.0. The construction of boots were good.

perfect fit, perfect grip, perfect warmth
December 28, 2009

These boots are incredibly comfortable and keep me stable while walking on snow and ice. They also keep my feet warm. I would definitely buy another pair in the future.

stiff high tops.
January 07, 2010

I bought these shoes to be my primary hiking boots but unfortunately, they won't work for me. I have problems with stiff high tops as they tend to inflame bones on my ankles. After walking a couple of miles with these, i started feeling pain in my ankles and had to return them. This said, the rest of the shoe is great. Very sturdy with great traction and that great "Keen" feel. I got the same size that I usually get for running shoes and it worked good for me.

I ordered wrong size
December 29, 2008

As usual, Altrec had them at my door quickly and exactly as expected, but the 9.5 was too small, and she usually wears a 9 or 9.5. Had read other reviews that said "don't order 1 size bigger," but my experience was different. We'll get a 10 and see...

Like Walking on a Cloud
April 07, 2010

I bought these for long field courses I offer in plant identification. They're VERY comfy and I'm quite pleased with them.

Great Boots
February 08, 2009

I love these boots! I also took everyones advice and ordered 1/2 size bigger than my usual size and they fit great! For anyone using orthodics, I highly recommend getting a pair of these boots!

Great Boot!
July 15, 2009

This is my second pair of Keen hiking boots. I love the support and comfort. Always order a size up from your usual because they run small. Altrec got these boots to me really fast. Great customer service!

Great Boot
November 09, 2008

Thanks to the other reviews I bought my boots 1/2 size larger and they are perfect. Good support boot but lightweight. I had to hose my boots off due to mud and muck and water did not get inside. Good looking boots also.

WOW!
December 16, 2009

Fit is amazing. Keen's are an acquired taste in terms of fashion. IOW, they are so ugly, they ROCK!! Just received them today and since I go by the 50 mile rule, I can only give you how they feel out of the box. GREAT!! I have 3 other pairs of hikers: Garmont, Scarpa, Adidas. They are all really good, but the fact that these are waterproof makes them just that much more special. Yes, size them up one half size.

Yes, These are the Ones
September 08, 2007

These boots are not stiff at all, yet you know they will protect your feet and ankles very well. Great grip on the soles, excellent lacing system. I had no problems breaking these in, in fact I really didn't break them in at all before I went to the Grand Canyon. I was a little disappointed with the arch support because I have flat feet and am addicted to Birkenstocks. I will buy some scaphoid pads and try those. I had heard that these boots run small, so I ordered 1/2 size larger than I normally wear. Those were still too small so I went one full size larger. They feel great!

Great Affordable Hiking Boots
March 27, 2010

These boots fit great. There is no break-in period. No blisters or rubbing where I normally have experienced. After a long hike, my feet feel great and good protection around the ankles.

fantastic lightweight hiker
October 30, 2008

Bought this boot for a light-weight and waterproof hiker. Great all-around. Almost no break-in time, easy on the feet for long hikes out of the box. Have a wide foot and fit great as the toe box is rather wide. Would not recommend for a narrow foot. Hiked 44 miles across Isle Royale in 4 days with a 30lb pack (starting). Provided adequate support, stayed dry in the rain, breathed well enough to stay cool when warm (80ish), and provided enough warmth on the cool nights (50ish). Highly recommend.

fabuloso
July 02, 2009

These boots feel comfortable and look durable. I haven't worn them to hike in yet, but will later this month. Make sure to get a half size larger than you normally wear.

Great boots!
October 01, 2009

I'm a huge Keen fan. I ordered up 1/2 size for plenty of toe room hiking. I've been casually wearing them around to get ready for Colorado next week. They have great support and comfort. I would recommend them in a heart beat

light hiking boots
July 09, 2008

I tried these recently on a multi-day backpacking trip and I was very happy with them. They are light and comfortable. My feet did not get wet hopping on the rocks while crossing the streams. I did not break them in before I use them but they were fine, I had no blister problem. My normal size is 6.5, I bought a size 7 for these boots as hiking socks tend to be thicker, and after a long day of hiking feet gets bigger. The size is fine. I'd recommend a half or full size bigger than your dress shoes.

Extremely comfortable
September 10, 2008

My husband and bought these to hike the Inca Trail in Peru. They were one of our favorite purchases. They don't take much breaking at all, and they are lightweight and extremely comfortable. We did a ton of hiking up and down in many different terrains and a variety of weather conditions, including rain, and our feet stayed dry, blister-free and happy. The key to happy hiking is happy feet! I highly recommend the mid boot rather than the low shoe. I thought that there was some heel slippage with the low shoe but none with the mid boot at all.

Comfortable but a little sweaty
April 24, 2009

Agree with all the positive comments but find my feet feel a little sweaty in them (light synthetic sock and light merino wool sock)...My previous Garmont were great (not sweaty) but not waterproof and hell in the rain! Maybe sweat is unavoidable. Love my Keens...

this boot fits my wide feet really nicely
March 12, 2008

After leaving college I chose to never answer surveys any more, but after having a LOT of trouble finding hiking boots over the years, and especially the past two months for a hike in Ireland coming up, am happy to review these boots. I buy a women's 8 wide for my low heeled shoes, found the 9.5 size for hiking boot adequate for the width of my feet. The heel is nice and snug, the toes have room to wiggle even with medium hiking socks on, the toe of the shoe bends at just the right place so the toes don't get crushed when going up and down hills...I hope. Will write review again after our ten day hike in Ireland.

Comfortable from the get go
December 25, 2008

As usual these Keens Targhee II Mid boots fit my wide foot perfectly from the first moment they were laced up. (Meant to be useful sizing info: Men's medium width feel comfortable for me, but I have a small heal. With a men's medium my heal slides around ending up with blisters, regardless of how much applied mole skin. Then with a woman's medium width, my heal is stabilized, but my foot feels painfully bound up.) These boots feel custom made for my foot. One bit of warning about the newer version of Targhee II Mid: they were a bit stiffer, not as comfortable as this version. All in all, Keens are the most comfortable shoe/boot/sandal for my webbed shaped feet.

top1000Contributor

great boots
November 15, 2009

I love these boots because they run wider to fit my feet. I did need to return the first pair and order up 1/2 a size. These are very lightweight and waterproof... and nice looking too.

Comfortable and great looking
November 23, 2009

These are great boots for anyone with a wide forefoot. It took 1 day to break them in and then I was wearing them all day long and while hiking. I love the gray and green coloring - looks great with everything. I highly recommend them to anyone wanting a comfortable hiking boot. Tip: Try increasing your shoe size by 0.5 for best fit.

Women's Targhee II Mid Hiking Boot
July 09, 2008

I purchased these boots in preperation for a trip to Africa. Although I have only had them a short while I have worn them a great deal to insure they would be ready for the safari. They are great, comfortable, light on my feet. I made a great choice.

great boots
April 03, 2010

very comfortable, good looking shoes. I have heel pain, these shoes make my feet happy.

Keen Women's Targhee II Mid Hiking Boot
March 02, 2008

These are soooo comfortable, 1st time and every time, I wear them. I read other reviews and saw where most were buying a size larger, and this worked great for me. Awsome shoes.

Comfortable fit and dry, but won't weigh you down
November 04, 2009

I decided to try the Targhee Mid Hiking boot for the cooler, wetter weather after enjoying my Targhee II shoes this summer. I'm very happy with them and with the service I've received from Altrec.

Warm and Dry
July 22, 2009

Boots were very comfortable. Used for a 2 day Glacier and ice climb in Alaska. Kept me warm and my feet cozy. Great boots. Crampons fit nicely around shoe. I will enjoy these for a long time to come!

Great!
February 25, 2008

I find all Keen's great for people with wide feet, and these are no exception. Very comfortable, relatively light for their size, and the laces stay tied tight. I had to buy a half size larger than I normally wear.

barb1

Love them!
March 26, 2010

I love them! The color is great, the comfort is too, just out of the box and onto your feet, so comfy!

Excellent Boots!
January 06, 2008

These boots felt comfortable out of the box - no need for breaking in. They fit a bit small so I ended up getting a half size larger than I normally wear. They look great too and I get a lot of compliments on them.

Great Boot for Price, Very Comfortable
November 06, 2009

I read through all the reviews on this site and others before I bought this boot. I was looking for a good cold/rainy weather boot for commuting to work during the winter, but I also wanted the boot to be good for hiking in any condition. This is the perfect boot for both of those needs. Fantastic boot for the price, it really holds up. Service from Altrec was really good too.

most comfortable boot I have ever owned.....
October 30, 2009

Keen never stops amazing me. I have had trouble with hiking boots in the past even after a "fitting". These boots (and also Keen shoes) fit right out of the box. Toe cramping is gone and the inner soles last for a long long time after much use and seem to rebound back fully. Nothing I have tried in other brands has come close to the fix and comfort of this boot.

Super comfy but dont stay dry
April 08, 2008

I loved these boots all summer during fair weather. I did 100 miles in them and then fall hit. The first major bad weather hike was drastic because the shoes filled up with water. The mesh goes down past the side of the toes. They really are good otherwise.

Sweet boot!
April 03, 2010

I love the boot. It is the most comfortable boot I have ever worn. The color was exactly what I expected and more. A side note order 1/2 larger. My first pair I sent back because I didn't heed the warning about ordering larger.

Gotta Love Keens!
April 09, 2010

I've been a keen shoe wearer for years. When my (very) old hiking boots gave out, decided to get Keens. I am very happy with my boots! Love the color and the comfort. However! The boots run smaller than other Keens IMO. I usually wear 7.5, but had to return that size to get a size 8. Other than the size, I am crazy about my boots! My husband even thinks they are very good looking, and for him to notice says something.

Great Hiking Boot
November 18, 2009

Only had my new boots for one week and broke them in with a seven mile, all different types of terrain, hike. Good support and traction and very comfortable. I previously tried on a different brand that was very comfortable on the feet, however, too high in the ankle and could not walk naturally. As for size, I normally wear around a 7, and from reading previous reviews, I ordered a size 8 and am glad I did. There is enough room for a thick pair of socks (or two pair of thin/medium weight). If you get the correct size, I think you will be very happy with the boot. Happy trails!

Page: 1, 2
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED