Marmot Men's PreCip Jacket

$119.94
113738

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 23 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 23 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Ground only within 48 contiguous U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

Marmot Men's PreCip Jacket Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.7 out of 5

143 Reviews

Pros
  • Lasts forever: 5
  • Great value: 27
  • Performance: 26
  • Build quality: 25

Cons
  • Bad design: 2
  • Cost: 2
  • a little noisy: 1
  • bad maneuverability: 1
Comfort: 5 / 5
Quality: 4.7 / 5
Durability: 4.6 / 5
Water Protection: 4 / 5
Wind Protection: 4 / 5
Fit: 3.5 / 5

143 Ratings & Reviews

Portable jacket that leaves you dry
September 04, 2009

Rugged. Comfortable. Weighs as much as a handful of tissue. Not sure how it would hold up in a full gale, but has kept my dry in light rain. And Altrec's delivery was on the mark.

the best Jacket
April 08, 2009

It is perfect for the rain. It fits perfect for my needs. Marmot is an excellent brand.

Super Waterproofness
April 23, 2002

This jacket is really spectacular. For light to moderate rain and misting, it kept me dry as a bone. I wore it one time when it was a HEAVY HEAVY downpour, and I got wet aroound my neck and shoulders, but for light rain, it holds up really well and packs down light too!

good except hood needs more coverage
March 07, 2003

Only problem I have so far is the hood. It does not give enough protection for your face in blowing rain or snow. It is even worse if I wear a fleece balaclava. If the hood was deeper with an adjustment so I could have just the right amount of front coverage than the jacket would be near perfect in light duty uses such as backpacking.

Great jacket
October 13, 2008

The fit 'n finish is top-notch. Good breathability.

Great Value!
March 03, 2008

I have been happy with other Marmot purchases in the past and this Precip Jacket is no exception. The quality is top notch and the jacket is thankfully light in weight, designed well and priced right. I was a bit concerned about the Dark Brown color but it's refreshingly plain when many competing products are multi-colored and exhibit an abundance of marginally necessary buttons/cords and zippers.

Great light weight rain cover.
August 11, 2009

If you can get by the color (weird green on sale), you won't get wet. Very lightweight, exceptionally comfortable, and a good value on sale.

Great Jacket
May 05, 2009

Very light weight, excellent quality. It's lightweight, easy to pack away and best of all, it keeps you dry!

Great Jacket - passed the shower test
November 15, 2009

Right when I got this jacket I put it on over a long sleeve t-shirt and jumped in the shower with cold water running (hot water would not be fair b/c the jacket is designed to allow body moisture to escape and the hot water or steam might have have passed through). Not a drop of water made it to my t-shirt over a ten minute period of testing the hood, back, front zipper, and arms. I made walking movements as if on the trails, and the seams held the water out like a champ. There are not many rains that I see on the east coast that amount to that much water. I got the solid cayenne color so nobody would miss me in the woods, especially hunters, and during college football season, I get to wear it to rainy Tennessee games without the chance of being in visitor colors. I had another jacket determined to be comparable to the precip(by a company named after a directional side of a mountain, that you would wear if you were on a "venture") that shed water just as well, but this jacket is much lighter and seems to compress much easier for packing. The first jacket was stolen from me while I left it on the back of a chair, but if there was ever a fortunate time to lose a jacket, this was it because I found the precip. I have become a Marmot fan over time because of the quality of their products, and it is getting to where I look to Marmot first for my rec gear needs. Good job on the precip, guys. I heard from other reviews that the older version of the precip may have had some problems, but I'm pretty sure Marmot has fixed those issues with this jacket. It has inner mesh pockets, outer hand pockets, a hood draw-cord, and an overlapping-Velcro reinforced front zipper. And no, I do not work for Marmot. I am just becoming a huge fan. Though, they should pay me because it is getting to where if you see me out, I look like a living Marmot advertisement. Hope this review helps with your decision, as I read through many of the same in making mine.

light rain jacket
January 26, 2010

Just right for Florida summer weather.

excellent
June 01, 2009

I am travelling internationally and wanted a lightweight rain jacket. It packs well and performs as advertised. I especially like the air vents to allow air to circulate while wearing this jacket.

Incredible shell
April 13, 2009

Light-weight and well ventilated. The fit and cut is as described, great range of movement and sizing is on the mark. Layers well without binding at elbows and shoulders. I highly recommend this to anyone playing in the elements.

Amazing!
October 09, 2002

I sat through a football game in driving rain and not an inch of my upper body got wet!

Velcro closures great for limited hand function.
October 19, 2003

It may not have been thought about in the designing, but the addition of velvro closures on the sleeves and body are great adaptations for persons with limited dexterity due to spinal cord injury or other factors. I am a wheelchair-user due to such an injury and have found the PreCip jacket to be extremely easy to get on and off. The excellent material slides easily, is not bulky,is very easy to get on and off, and easy to fasten. Great product! Thanks. Mike Cooper, Saginaw, Michigan

An excellent jacket
January 30, 2008

The Marmot Precip rain jacket is well designed and made. The hood, pit zips, and fabric are very useful. The color Wood is also good instead of using several disparate colors. Size is true to fit.

Great jacket!
January 08, 2010

Great lightweight rain/wind jacket. Best price we found on the jacket and we received it pretty quickly. Will definitely order from here again!

Just what I was looking for.
May 30, 2008

I needed a jacket for backpacking, hiking and fishing. This jacket fits all of those requirements. It's lightweight, easy to pack away and best of all, it keeps you dry!

Great Travel Jacket
January 05, 2010

If you need to pack light, this is a great jacket for you. It folds up small enough that you never regret bringing it, even if every day is sunny. The hood is a nice touch. Blocks the wind enough to keep you cozy if worn over a sweater. I haven't worn this jacket regularly, so I cannot attest to its durability.

These jackets are hot!
February 26, 2002

These jackets won't stand still,a top seller!

Great Rain Shell
May 16, 2009

KEEPS YOU DRY - PERIOD. Light weight and packable. Loose enough to fit over fleece but not to large to wear over just a shirt. On the "could be better" side - I would like inside pockets and the Velcro strips on the zipper rain flap snag a lot of things - sort of annoying, but can overlook this because of the great performance in wet weather.

Best of all jackets !
October 17, 2009

I am delighted with my Marmot jacket. It stylish and very well made. I have been using it for my around the town gear. The best recommendation I can make is that I plan to purchase another one very soon.

Exactly what I wanted and expected!
August 10, 2008

Very light weight, excellent quality, fits wonderful, fully water proof and breathable.

Great all-around jacket.
November 28, 2008

Kept me perfectly dry on recent trip to 3 cities in rainy Northwest US. Pit vents kept me from getting too warm. Easy to pack and stuff it into laptop bag. Just as good for weekend hike or streets of Seattle.

very good rain jacket
June 20, 2002

ive used gore-tex jackets in the past. they 'wet out', do not breathe well,are heavy and expensive. the precip solves all the problems associated with gore-tex. although, the xcr gore-tex solves most of those problems except the latter. ive used the precip in various conditions, all of which ive been very happy. the jacket packs down very small and its quite light weight. the precip has very good breathing qualties.. far better than my gore-tex jacket. get this jacket.. you wont be disapointed.

Great Jacket
March 24, 2009

Best rain jacket I have ever owned. Great Price for the quality you get.

Excellent product.
January 27, 2010

Nice fit and very durable. This is always a component of my travel bag as it's lightweight, compact, and performs very well.

Nice Jacket
June 16, 2009

I've had this jacket over a year now. It has held up well on numerous back backing trips. It fits well, keeps you dry in the rain, & functions as an excellent wind breaker with a fleece jacket underneath. I'm very happy with this jacket.

Fine for the price
March 02, 2010

It's VERY light and packable, and fits well. Sometimes in the rain I feel a bit clammy inside, but I don't really have any other rain jackets to compare it to...

Raskolnikov
top100Contributor

Provides good protection in a lightweight package
October 21, 2009

The Precip is lightweight, packable, and doubles as a great wind/waterproof shell over an insulating coat. I have been using mine for less than a year, but I have suffered no leaks even in extended periods of rain. The jacket is comfortable and breathes well and the hood closes securely around my face.

soft, light and totally waterproof- great jacket.
April 29, 2009

Excellent fabric and design. Only shortcoming - no interior pockets.

Great start, poor finish
June 26, 2004

I bought this jacket last year before a trip to Africa in my search for lightweight, waterproof, quality gear. This jacket was so fantastic the first time I wore it out in a storm, but the remainder of my month there I suffered through any rain at all. It simply doesn't keep the water off of me. Continuous leaking not just at the seams but all over the coat, I suffer from continued stick-to-skin sleeves and wet under layers. Maybe I got a defective PreCip?

Exactly what I was looking for
December 07, 2009

Not too bulky. Not too heavy. Perfect for a rainy day around town or on a hike. I'm constantly running around and my heavier Marmot was too much - it always felt like overkill and left me sweating unnecessarily. This jacket provides the perfect solution! It'll be my go-to jacket from now on!

Great lightweight outer layer!!
October 08, 2003

just finished a week of hiking in Glacier National Park, Montana... my Precip Jacket worked great!! very lightweight, packs small, we dealt with some high winds 40-50 mph at the higher elevations and it was a great windbreaker...also sheds rain extremely well..my only suggestion would be to add a small interior or exterior chest pocket(s) for a compass, map, wallet, etc......... :)

Outstanding
March 27, 2004

A good all-around jacket - I use it as a windbreaker as well as a raincoat. I day-hike a lot, and it fits in my waist pack leaving plenty of room for other necessities. It is also very good for traveling.

Light weight / heavy protection
April 01, 2004

This is a quality jacket. It's very lightweight and stuffs small. However, it provides big coverage from rain and wind. I have a heavier Goretex jacket that I use for winter expeditions and heavy storms. However, the lightweight PreCip is just the thing to throw into my pack for Sierra trips where anything can happen, at least weatherwise.

Great Jacket!!
December 29, 2008

Top-shelf quality at a great price!! Extremely lightweight, packable and breathable. Cut roomy enough for layering without buying a larger size than is needed.

Just what I was looking for
December 04, 2009

I was looking for the same jacket that my husband has for a Christmas gift for my son and this was such a great price I couldn't pass it up.

Why Spend More
July 26, 2004

Right out of the box. I could tell it was Marmot. The quality and fit says it all. The jacket was just what I was looking for in a product that provides the rain protection without the weight or cost of goretex. If you are looking to reduce your pack weight without sacrificing the performance needed in bad weather. Precip is the ticket. Great fit. Good features seen on much more expensive jackets. Highly recommended.

Awesome Jacket
December 27, 2009

I gave this jacket to my boyfriend for Christmas. He loves it. Although it is not insulated, he says that he is still pretty warm in it. It looks great and will definitely serve its purpose. It's a mild, rainy New England day and he just wore it out the door to surf!

Great all around jacket
April 13, 2008

Bought mainly for wearing to work or knocking about town but also for some day hiking and outdoor activities. Jacket fits great. I bought a large and usually have to look for tall sizes but this one fit perfectly. It is very lightweight. No problems at all.

Great jacket!
December 30, 2007

Just the kind of jacket I was looking for... especially for traveling and hiking. Light-weight and roomy fit.

Awesome jacket
May 30, 2002

The Precip jacket is even better than goretex (in many situations). Heavy rain or light rain doesn't faze the Precip. I would recommend to anyone!

great jacket
November 02, 2007

This is my go-to jacket for all situations. I live in the humid south and still with the low temperature difference it remains very breathable

i dont think a skier would like this at all
November 30, 2002

it is a very delicat face fabric. its perfect if used in the right aplications i.e backpacking and climbing. but with snow abbrasion it is very bad. one bif on the the hard pack and youve riped your 100 rain shell. of all marmots ski pieces this is not one i would chose for any rugged activity. this does do a good job of keeping the spilt beer of your clothes at the bar after a good ski. but during a ski im very aprehencive about wearing it.

Are you kidding?
May 13, 2009

So I don't know why others have rated this a 5, i live in Oregon where it rains constantly, and the precip simply doesn't work longer than about 30 minutes in the rain, especially after a few weeks of wear. I have 3 friends with the same jacket with similar results.

Great Jacket
February 14, 2008

excellent rain jacket for the money, also doubles as a wind blocker. vents well when backpackng or hiking. jacket keeps rain out and lets moisture out, which is key. another good one by marmot.

Magnificent!
June 21, 2004

The Marmot PreCip Jacket is a wonderful rain jacket. No rain leaked through, and sweat was brought out. Thanks Marmot!

Outstanding all weather coverage.
March 31, 2004

The PreCip jacket is so versatile I use the jacket in a variety of outdoor conditions. I can rely on the PreCip jacket in almost any weather condition including, extreme rain, wind, and snow. I routinely layer under the jacket in cold weather and the venting provides an incredible cooling feature.

Great in Windy Weather
February 17, 2010

I've used this jacket out in low 40's windy weather. I was surprised how it kept me warm, even thought I was wearing just a t-shirt beneath the Precip Jacket. Plus the hood folds into the back collar.

perfect travel jacket
May 10, 2009

For anyone who travels a lot and needs that extra backup layer packed away, this jacket is perfect! It's extremely light weight and compactable, and very well made with waterproofing and a fit that would satisfy anyone looking for a solid all-around rain jacket.

MUST HAVE ITEM!!!
August 21, 2008

I bought this jacket for wearing to work or hiking. This jacket is very comfortable to control sweat and rain both inside and outside.

Great
March 03, 2009

A great lightweight packing jacket...just what I was looking for.

Lightweight. Packs small. Water proof so far.
February 13, 2008

Jacket is lightweight for hiking. Packs tight in daypack. Used once so far in rain and did fine. Not as hot as heavier previous jackets.

Rugged, packable, waterproof, breathable
March 31, 2008

I just got back from a trip in Ozark wilderness bushwhacking for 3 days with rain everyday and feel like I can give a good review of this product. Jacket performed great and exceeded my expectations. It was snagged on a number of sharp branches and never tore unlike my icebreaker shirt I had on underneath. Never let rain through and the pit-zips are great. Really easy to clean if it gets muddy, just dunk it in a stream and hang it up and dries quickly. Would recommend this product.

Lightweight and works great!
May 11, 2009

I bought this lightweight shell to stay dry on an upcoming month-long hike and have been taking every opportunity to test it since it arrived on my doorstep. Weather has been rainy the past few weeks in Chicago and I've gotten the chance to see how this great jacket works in light rain as well as an awful downpour. I was surprised that even in the worst weather, it kept me completely dry with no leak-through. It also layers well with my Marmot fleece for good wind protection and warmth. The feature I enjoy most on this jacket is the roll-up hood. I don't like walking around in a hooded jacket when I'm not wearing the hood and having the ability to essentially turn this into a jacket without a hood when I'm not using it gives it extra points. When I do need the hood, I don't even have to remove the jacket to unroll it - Accessibly velcro strap is reachable while I still have the jacket on! Great buy at the price!

The best rain jacket out there!
May 23, 2009

I've used this jacket for years - it's light, easily packable, and does exactly what it's supposed to do - keep you dry in nasty weather. I've bought several for family as gifts as well. My only complaint is that I'm 6'2", and it's a tad short. But this is the best value rain shell on the market, in my opinion.

quality jacket, minimal price
October 26, 2009

Went backpacking in Virginia' Shenandoah Valley (one of the most beautiful places ever) this past weekend and this jacket passed the test as it poured like crazy for several hours and not a drop of water made it through to any of my other layers. Jacket is very breathable and you can hide the hood when it's not pouring. Very happy with this jacket...and as always, the service from Altrec.

Lightweight. Packs small. Water proof so far.
February 13, 2008

Jacket is lightweight for hiking. Packs tight in daypack. Used once so far in rain and did fine. Not as hot as heavier previous jackets.

Fantastic jacket
March 27, 2008

I bought this jacket for my husband for his birthday and he hasn't stopped wearing it. He loves that it is lightweight, waterproof and he can fit an additional layer under it.

Terrific Jacket
March 14, 2004

This jacket is terrific! Definately lives up to the advertisement and I have been extremely pleased with its performance. I've worn it with a polartec shell underneath in 30 degree weather and it keeps you warm and does great job blocking the wind. Pit zips are great. Only one thing that I wish it had and that is a securable/zipper pocket on the inside for wallet or keys.

VERY PLEASED!
June 10, 2009

Light-weight. Breathable. Totally waterproof. Everything I was looking for in a rain jacket for my husband who works outdoors daily. Highly recommended!

Great
October 17, 2009

True to size, keeps me dry in even steady rain. Will buy another for my girlfriend.

the Precip is fantastic
May 22, 2008

I bought the marmot precip and have favorable feelings towards it. i like that it offers a full range of motion in the arms. the precip gets two thumbs up.

Excellent Jacket
November 24, 2008

This is a great light weight jacket for rainy days on the trail. You can't beat the price also. It is very well made. Love It.

Page: 1, 2
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
    Live Chat
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED