Merrell Men's Moab Mid GORE-TEX Hiking Boot

$149.95
35540

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 18 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 18 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

Merrell Men's Moab Mid GORE-TEX Hiking Boot Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5

91 Reviews

Pros
  • Great design: 9
  • Ease of use: 8
  • Lasts forever: 5
  • comfortable: 4

Cons
  • none: 2
  • a little expensive: 1
  • average durability: 1
  • Cost: 1
Comfort: 5 / 5
Quality: 4.6 / 5
Durability: 4.5 / 5
Sole Flex: 3.5 / 5

91 Ratings & Reviews

Golf course maint. worker
September 17, 2009

I've had this pair for a year and they have been very comfortable and have kept my feet dry. I wear them basically everyday for several hours and have no complaints. It's just time now for me to get a new pair because everyday wear for a year will do a shoe in. I highly recommend this boot!

Female wearing mens boots
January 03, 2009

I have been hiking steadily for several years now. I have tried many boots for hiking. I usually wear womens shoes sizes 7 1/2 to 8. I have found that womens boots are too narrow for my wide, flat feet. It was suggested to me in a Merrell store to try mens size 7. I did and love them. I had a pair of ladies Merrell Moab and gave them to my mom for her hiking. I replaced them with the Mens Merrell Moab and am very happy and comfortable.

Great shoes!
May 26, 2009

Very, very comfortable shoes. Somewhere I read that they fit a 1/2 size larger than what you might normally be used to - I would agree with that. I'm a big fan of Merrell products in general any these did nothing to change my impression. Quick service from Altrec!

Great boots in El Salvador
September 18, 2008

Purchased these 1 week before a trip to El Salvador as I needed walking boots for the trip. They worked great! They were the only shoes I wore for the week. They survived a very heavy rainstorm while I was in the back of a pickup truck. The insides became wet as a result of being caught without raingear and water dripping in from the tops. It was very humid but the boots dried overnight. Very comfortable boot. The only issue was where the boot broke over my toes on the left foot. I guess this is hit or miss with any boot. I loosened the laces on the front of my left boot and the issue was resolved.

Great boot so far.
June 01, 2009

Purchased the Merrell Moab Mid Gore-Tex, after a lot of research and testing various boots on different surfaces and treadmill, etc. I have one pair of Merrells before, the Chameleon (non-Gore-Tex). These were just general wear boots, around town, nature walks, etc. No serious hiking. Needed a pair of light weight, mid, Gore-Tex hiking boots for a planned summer hike on Englands Coast to Coast walk (192 miles, various surfaces, but like England in general, very wet, muddy, boggy, etc). I need good ventilation as my feet sweat heavily. The price of the shoes was no object, as I made sacrifices in other others of gear, and wanted to be blister, and pain free as much as possible. After must research, including multiple sites reviews, I had narrowed my choices down to the Salomon Fast Packer 3D, the Vasque Breeze, and the Asolo Flame GTX.. All were waterproof, rather light weight, and breathable. I really wanted the Salomon Fast Packer, looked great, great reviews, my hiking buddy (serious hiker) wears and swears by them, etc. I tried them on and my heel slipped too much. I have a slightly wider foot and narrower heal, and even with different lacing, there was too much movement. The Vasque Breeze felt great in the store. Wore them with Smartwool hiking socks, and gave them a one hour treadmill test and my feet were on fire. Multiple hot spots, and could not wait to get them off. The Asolo Flame GTX were incredible hard and tight around my forefoot. I ended up trying on a pair of Keen Targhee II waterproof, and they felt great. After research and talk with some serious hikers, did not think that they were built (own make sole vs. Vibram for Merrell) to handle the mileage with an approximately 30/35 pound pack. I settled on the Merrell Moab Mid Gore-Tex, the least expensive of the bunch. They fit true to size, fairy comfortable right out of the box, with good breath ability and excellent waterproofing. I have taken two test hikes with full pack and the boots. The first was 12 miles in wooded terrain on a 90 degree day. Considering the Gore-Tex, breathed very well with no foot slippage, and no hot spots. This weekend hiked Skyline Drive on a 7 mile trip up 3000 feet of elevation, through streams, etc. Feet completely immersed in river streams with complete waterproofing. No hot spots, etc. For me to date these boots are well constructed, very little to no break-in required, supportive, and stable, with complete water proof capacity. From reading other reviews on other sites, some complain that Merrells tend to wear out faster than other brands. I dont have any info on that but after the C2C walk, I will [upd-ate ]if needed. I hope this helps, as I have gotten a lot of mileage of others reviews, and felt that it was time to do my share.

Amazing boots!
November 03, 2009

Great boots!

Great shoes for everyday
June 16, 2008

This is my second pair of these. They are a great pair of shoes. I live in Missouri and this past winter we had a lot of ice and snow. My feet NEVER got wet. My feet were always comfortable and dry. The shoes are light weight and gives very good traction wet or dry. I purchased my second pair from Altrec and received great service and delivery. These are my everyday shoe. Church and all. I will continue to purchase as long as they are available.

ViburnumHiker
top25Contributor

I love Merrell
November 23, 2009

All Merrell size 11's fit me perfectly. I used these on a recent 13 mile hike and they felt broken in from the start. I also own the non-Gore-tex version of these boots. If you know how these fit from trying them on in a store, they are a best buy here. They have a lot of heel cushion and the sole is made of a harder rubber than other shoes I have worn. Seem like they will last a long time.

Wonderful fit and comfort
December 20, 2008

I have a very large foot (15) these are the most comfortable shoes I have.

comfortable boots
November 04, 2009

I went on a 3 hour hike today and this boots are great. Good traction up rocky hills. Had a backpack on and a 20lb. new born in front bjorn and they were very comfortable boots with a heavy load.

Comfortable
July 18, 2008

This is not just a understated comment from the UK. "Comfortable" is a high accolade. I have been hunting around for replacements for my Ecco boots which are no longer made in the really comfortable soft soles. But these Merrell boots do the job very well. Yes, they are waterproof - tested on a 6 mile walk yesterday in wet grass. Yes, they are comfortable - I didn't think the more rigid Vibram soles would be as comfortable as they are - and they are one of the few boots that I tried that are broad enough for my feet when scaled up to my size: UK 11; USA 11.5; Eur 46. And they are very lightweight. The Gore-Tex XCR is not as bulky as the Gore-Tex in my old Ecco boots and they fitted great and were comfortable from the start, giving good mid-size boot support. I'd buy another pair and recommend them.

More of a sneaker
July 03, 2009

When I tried this Moab Ventilator Hiking Shoe on I immediately new these would be no good for the type of Mountain Hiking I do. The Moab is more of a sneaker than what I would call a Hiking Shoe. If you are hiking on easy grade sloped trails with soft terrain these are the shoes for you. If you like to summit peaks I would not want to wear these shoes. Very little ankle support or protection from rocks. I could not even imagine wearing a backpack with these shoes¦

Page: 1, 2
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
    Live Chat
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED