Mountain Hardwear Men's Dome Perignon

152846

Coming Soon
We'll tell you when it's in:



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship - details 
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Ground only within 48 contiguous U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

Mountain Hardwear Men's Dome Perignon Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5

194 Reviews

Pros
  • Great value: 9
  • Ease of use: 7
  • Build quality: 29
  • Performance: 25

Cons
  • Cost: 2
  • a bit gnomish looking...: 1
  • Bad design: 1
  • blocks sound effectively: 1
Comfort: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
Durability: 4.8 / 5
Warmth: 4.4 / 5
Warmth Gloves: 4 / 5

194 Ratings & Reviews

Great Hat warm and fits perfect
April 03, 2009

Hat is warm and keeps the ears warm too. Great for a cold morning walk

Blocks the wind, warm and cozy in the worst cold
February 13, 2006

This hat is a great cold weather hat. The Gore Windblocker inside stops the wind and the fleece keeps my bald head warm in the cold weather

Toasty warm and
December 26, 2005

well made. Windstopper is great for those gusty days on the trail. The only problem will be keeping others from "borrowing" it:-)

great hat, strange fit
February 22, 2007

I like the warmth and wind-blocking properties, but when you put it on it gives you a pointy-head look. The cut could be better. Seems to run large. I had to return my large for a medium.

Stylish design ,comfortable hat
January 21, 2008

This hat looks great.It is very warm and is not bulky.It fits snug but and is very comfortable.It covers your ears easily while looking stylish.It's a great hat for cross country skiing,and all winter activities.

MrPercussionScottsdale
top500Contributor

Mountain Hardwear is the best
February 04, 2007

I've used this hat in cold and windy climates with full comfort from the performance. Get one, you will be glad when you're in the REAL elements> you won't be disappointed. Fits well too.

top1000Contributor

Cool Warm Hat
July 07, 2006

The Dome is a perfect match for my Windstopper Tech Jacket. Gives the "dome" room to breath but not enough to get cold.

nice
December 21, 2006

good for cold weather

This hat is a MUST during a cold winter!
May 21, 2009

Okay .. now you dont need to search for the ultimate warm winter hat anymore. THIS IS IT! I have never ever hat a winter hat which covered all my needs ... this one does. It keeps my head and especially my ears really warm and the style is cool with a great tight fit. I ought to sell my other winter hats, because THIS is the one I always end up wearing! It is not the last time I buy gear form Mountain Hardwear.

Very Warm Hat
February 26, 2007

After reading the reviews for this hat, I decided to take the plunge and purchase it. It's definitely one of the warmer hats I've owned, and it lives up to its reputation for blocking wind. It comes in handy for walking the dogs out in the bitter winter months, or just anything outside where you don't want your ears to freeze off. I wish I could purchase a full body suit made out of this material.

very warm hat
November 06, 2007

Hat is warm and fits over my ears great, the Mountain Hardwear logo is cool and really stands out.

Great - Five stars
November 15, 2008

Love the cut of this hat. Fully covers the ears and fits snugly around my noggin. Plus, like most Mountain Hardwear stuff I've owned, this hat is made very well. Does run smaller than normal so when they suggest you size up, I would take heed.

Extermely warm
May 09, 2009

This is true to size and extremely warm, thanks to windstopper. In addition, the style is pretty cool. You won't regret.

A great product for harsh conditions
February 06, 2007

I go through a lot of hats, and this is by far the best I have put on. I hunt in hard winter conditions and wear this hat. I even ordered one for my wife.

Cold at 8,000 feet
February 04, 2007

I bought this for snowmobiling at altitudes of 5,000 to 8,000 feet (when we stop to eat and relax) and the hat just does not cut the wind chill at all. Very unhappy that the hype on this hat did not prove true.

The best hat I've ever bought!
January 03, 2008

The hat is the best I've ever bought! The Windstopper material ensure my head is always warm, and it fits fantastic over my ears. I normally wear a Large size (my head size is 23 in) but the right fit was a Medium size for this awesome hat.

The perfect hat! Toasty!
November 07, 2006

The Dome Perignon hat from Mountain Hardwear, combining Polartec fleece and Gore Windstopper material, is an outstanding cold-weather hat. Its stretch fleece back panel (stretchy on the back 20% of the ear band--the part of the ear band at the back of the head) and its availability in three sizes--S, M, and L (Do take the time to measure your head circumference... Consult MH's sizing chart for headwear.)--allow a snug fit. Full ear coverage is provided, as the Gore Windstopper ear band tapers from narrow in the front third to wide in the back two-thirds of its girth. Mine fits just right (a welcome first for a hat of this type): Pulling it down fully, with the crown of my head pressing tightly against the apex of the hat, my ears are completely covered, and the front of the headband stays where it belongs--on my forehead!--requiring no annoying readjustments to keep the hat from blocking my vision. The hat is awfully warm, so if you tend to run hot, a "lesser" hat might be a

All Mountain Headgear
May 03, 2005

This headgear is perfect for all mountain conditions - breathable enough for aerobic activities, yet warm enough for windy summit bids.

Keeps the cold from my ears
January 24, 2007

What else can I add that hasn't already been said? This hat is excellent for keeping my head warm and the wind stopper does its job keeping my ears comfy too. I highly recommend it!

Excellent
June 07, 2006

I really kept warm! It took a while to get over the goofy "pope" shape of the hat, but when I did I really enjoyed the wind protection and warmth. I would recommend it!!

Nice Hat
December 31, 2005

Good fitting, nice quality. Windstopper around the brim really cuts the chill.

Suprise- it really is wind proof and warm
January 12, 2007

I live in an extreme cold windly climate. Have used this hat with temps in the mid -30's C. and winds up to 40 kph. while walking. Acutally was windproof and warm on the ear band. Wore it snowmobiling in a hooded parka at - 25C. Kept my ears and forehead warm. Transfers moiture from hard shovelling really well.

nice hat
November 16, 2005

Windstopper product is excellent. It gives me enough warmth when I hike or bike in the 40s temperature. However, windstopper product also blocks sound a little bit.

Material and fit can't get any better!
March 16, 2009

I have been looking for the right Beanie Hat for over two months to find just what I think would be a ideal hat. And when I wore this on my last outing my expectations were met! It fit perfectly the way I had expected. And the material wasn't itchy nor was to heavy. I was able to sleep with it on. When any other hat I have owned in the past was just two uncomfortable.

The Ultimate Expedition Hat
May 26, 2009

This hat has a built in earband/headband and then the dome part is not super tight. As a female with bangs and longer hair, it is perfect to wear. I can push my bangs back and tuck my long hair (or ponytail) up into the dome and it doesn't smash it down like other sock caps. It also does not give off as much static electricity. It is very warm, but does not make you sweat.

A Coat For Your Head. . .
February 08, 2007

This is one great piece of headgear. Not only does it keep the wind from numbing your ears, its soft, lite weight and a lot less bulky than the wool knit alternatives.

Treker
top500Contributor

HEADOUT
February 19, 2007

With this dome, your ready for wind chills of any degree. Covers your ears and stays on under all conditions.

Functional hat, but it will make your head look pointy
November 15, 2006

Excellent windstopper-hat. Cold wind doesn't go through the hat at all. The hat covers your ears as well, kepping them warm and toasty. Fashionwise, however, the hat will make your head look pointy (like a conehead). This can be fixed by squishing down the hat just a little bit. That's why I gave this hat a 4/5.

its a great value
January 19, 2008

i like my new hat very nice, it is very warm and comfortable. its easy to roll up the ear flaps if it gets too warm

TiredOfSnow

Love this hat
January 05, 2007

I like this better than the knit ski hats I used to wear. I have one and bought this one for my brother. He reported the same thing.

nice looking hat - looking forward to wearing it
September 09, 2008

I am looking forward to putting this toasty head cover on when the temperatures fall here in mid-Missouri. This hat is very well constructed and appears to be very warm.

Keeps My Mellon Warm and Dry....
January 23, 2007

Wife bought me one a few years ago. Keeps my head warm and dry during those cold winter hiking trips up in the northern New England mountains. Loved it so much, bought a second one!!! The ULTIMATE winter head warmer...

What a great hat!
September 02, 2006

I love this hat! Unfortunately, I'm not sure how warm it is since it's only Septemebr and I live in Maryland.

Excelent!
February 14, 2006

Very warm and comfortable. For any cold, windy weather conditions.

The best
October 04, 2006

I've got a bald head, so am always needing good protection in the winter, as it's hard to keep my head cold. This hat is the best I've ever had at keeping out the chill. For me, it's good to about 5 degrees, maybe 20 degrees if there's a brisk wind. If it gets colder, I'll layer a thinner fleece hat under it and I'm good to the minus temps. Also, it's nice that it covers the ears well. It also wicks sweat well.

Great Hat!
November 20, 2007

Really hot hat cant wait for full winter!

Great fit, Very Warm
February 15, 2007

Just got back from Colorado, 19 degrees and up to 20 mph winds and the hat kept me very comfortable. The fit is great, doesn't keep riding up over your ears like a normal ski cap. Mountain Hardwear is quickly becoming my favorite brand.

Best Winter Hat
November 15, 2005

This is a great hat for those of us who live in places where winter can be extreme. The wind blocking feature is great for those cold gusts, and the 200 weight fleece does the trick. I wear a size 8 hat, and the elastic band allows for a good fit.

Good at Speed
January 24, 2006

I have now tested the Dome perignon hat while riding my motorcycle at 75mph. The actual temperture was 27 degrees, which puts windchill about 2 degrees. Their was no wind getting thru which means me head was warm. I give this hat 5 stars. Me and my ears thank you.

Not too anything
February 22, 2007

Light, warm, comfortable, and it looks cool too.

Great Fit
January 16, 2008

Looks great and warm I would buy it again!

Son likes this hat
January 12, 2007

One of the few winter hats my son will actually wear.

Warm and a great fit
February 27, 2007

I ordered this hat in a medium and it was too small I reordered it in a large. It now fits great and the fabric is very smooth. The hat is very fitting and warm. I recommend this to any one that fancys the style. Everyone I ski with now wants to know where to buy the hat at.

Fit my head a little goofy ...
October 31, 2005

This hat seems absolutely wonderful for winter conditions, but it fit my head a little weird and made me look like a gnome! I would recommend it for comfort and warmth as I have worn a similar one and loved it! Great product and brand ...

invaluable in wind and/or cold
October 01, 2006

I wore this hat to Loveland Pass- 12,000 feet and 24 degree weather. My head and ears remained toasty warm. I love it.

Nice!
May 08, 2009

I spend as much time as possible at Silverton Mountain and I see these all over the place up there. I've always wanted one and now I have one. My new favorite hat!

Fine Headware
August 27, 2005

This is a nice warm comfortable hat. I use it in the desert southwest in extreme conditions during the fall and winter on cold nights and early mornings. Excellent for Backpacking and Snowsports.

Dome Perignon Hat- Mountain Hardware
February 01, 2006

I wanted to write and thank you for the immediate response time. I originally placed the order with a company called Mountain Gear- online. I waited for over 8 weeks, Altrec order took 6 days!!!!!

Lightweight, windproof, breathable, and warm!
December 05, 2006

I initially bought this hat for cold, windy days in New York City. Now I live in California and still wear it when it's chilly out. OK, so it looks like I should be in a ski chalet, so you might not go out for a night on the town in it. But it's so warm and functional that I wish I could!

Warm hat
January 20, 2008

I've worn this hat during several climbs and ski trips this winter and it keeps me warm in very cold temperatures. It covers my ears entirely, which is a big plus. As a female, it fits a little big (I ordered a size medium and should've gotten a small), but I still love the hat.

So Comfortable & Warm!
January 06, 2006

Extremely warm and very comfortable. Fits comfortably over pulled back hair. Highly recommended.

Great for really cold weather, and it covers your ears!
February 14, 2007

This hat is great for extremely cold weather, as well as just "normal" cold weather! It's good for any time you are going to be outside for a period of time. Is good at blocking wind, due to the windstopper. It's gotten below zero in the last couple of weeks and this is the hat that I have chosen to wear. The design keeps your ears warmer than other hat styles, as well. The espresso one looks great with my brownie TNF Nuptse jacket, too. If you have one of these and a Mountain Hardwear windstopper Micro Dome for warmer days or for vigorous exercise, you have your hat needs covered! Literally!

Awesome Hat!
August 03, 2007

Another incredible purchase from Altrec and Mountain Hardwear. I bought this hat while it was on sale (lowest price anywhere on net). It is in the middle of the summer right now, so there is no way I'll be able to test this thing out. If this is anything like the Mountain Hardwear Windstopper Tech Jacket I have also purchased, then this hat will be incredible. The hat looks of quality and I'm sure it is.

Awesome cap
January 15, 2006

Great product, great fit and great service from Altrec

young007
top1000Contributor

warm
April 25, 2007

Mountain Hardwear: Dome Perignon Hat is very comfort and warm in winter mountaineering.

Good to have on Top
February 28, 2008

Good worm enough in cold days.. Great fit .. everyone should have one.

great hat
March 11, 2007

gore windstopper is great! it is hard to hear people when you are wearing it, but you're ears are toasty!

Great Hat for East Winds
February 27, 2006

I've recently purchased this hat off the internet having had a Lowe Alpine for years - firstly I've found altrec.com to be a great source for purchasing outdoor gear - secondly this is one serious hat - The Irish have seen a recent bout of very cold easterly weather - this hat, the fleece weight and its shape ensures 0% heat loss throw the head and its contoured sides ensure that your ears keep warm also - My first mountain hardwear piece of equipment - I shall be buying more

I like the thickness of the hat.
November 27, 2006

I wear a hardhat and this is a perfect fit. Winter will be warmer this season.

The hat to have
December 21, 2005

I have used this hat on the coldest of days..in a white out, on top of a snowy mountain in Colorado, and skied down..and my head was just as toasty as if I was next to a warm fire. It's a great hat, and well worth the money.

Good materials, good design, great hat
February 09, 2007

Shoeing in 20-degree weather with lots of wind, I found this hat quite toasty. I'm anxious to see how it warm it is in colder weather, but for now it's my very favorite hat.

Very Satisfeid
January 16, 2006

This hat is great. The Gore Winstopper really keeps the wind out. I have used it several times while out shoveling snow on the driveway - each time it has kept my head taosty warm. Good fit for larger head sizes.

Warm and good looking hat.
January 15, 2008

Not only is the women's fuzzy version cute, but it's incredibly warm, as well. Fits a bit small, so order a bit larger. Good price and service from Altrec.

not worth even the sale price
October 03, 2006

all good except for the large uninsulated elastic section in the rear to make one size fits most instead of the fitted design the ad copy implies

Best Hat Ever
March 03, 2009

You're looking for the Best hat ever made, you found it. Dome Perignon Hat is the warmest hat I could find, plus, it is windstopper... The shape is really good, good fit.

Too Good To Be True!
May 26, 2009

I just bought a second one for my girlfriend, she tried mine the other day and was really surprise with the comfort and the warmth of this hat. It is well made and looks quite good as well!

Blocks wind & very warm
January 05, 2006

Great hat, comfortable fit. Windstopper really works.

Awesome Hat
October 14, 2006

Super warm, totally windproof, and lightweight. The windstopper does make hearing through the hat kind of difficult. And, you look a little like a conehead when you wear it. But, you're a warm and comfy deaf-conehead. This hat can stand up to any kind of nasty cold you want to mess with.

Mack2
top25Contributor

Great warmth & fit.
January 29, 2007

As good as the ad reads for total warmth in cold, especially windy conditions. Great fit keeps it in place...good bye to my old stocking hat!!

Great cold-weather hat!
November 06, 2006

The Dome Perignon hat from Mountain Hardwear, combining Polartec fleece and Gore Windstopper material, is an outstanding cold-weather hat. Its stretch fleece back panel (stretchy on the back 20% of the ear band--the part of the ear band at the back of the head) and its availability in three sizes--S, M, and L (Do take the time to measure your head circumference... Consult MH's sizing chart for headwear.)--allow a snug fit. Full ear coverage is provided, as the Gore Windstopper ear band tapers from narrow in the front third to wide in the back two-thirds of its girth. Mine fits just right (a welcome first for a hat of this type): Pulling it down fully, with the crown of my head pressing tightly against the apex of the hat, my ears are completely covered, and the front of the headband stays where it belongs--on my forehead!--requiring no annoying readjustments to keep the hat from blocking my vision. The hat is awfully warm, so if you tend to run hot, a "lesser" hat might be a better choice for sustained high-output activities.

Great!
February 27, 2007

I absolutely love this hat for the wind and extreme conditions. I bought one for my husband because he ice fishes and it gets pretty windy out there on the ice. Awesome!

Great Cap
February 23, 2009

Great cap, I got it to compliment the Mountain Hardwear Tech Jacket. I ordered the large, the fit was great, I don't like a hat to be to tight.

Great Purchase
January 30, 2008

First of all I give 5 stars to Mountain Hardware. I have never been disappointed with any of their products. This hat keeps me warm and dry and it is a perfect fit. I highly recommend it. A+++

Product and service were great.
January 22, 2006

The Dome Perignon has proven to an effective barrier to those 7 degree windy days. Your delivery service was excellent

This hat has to be one of the best on the market.
August 21, 2007

Just received my Dome Perignon a few days ago, in August no less, and of course I tried it out with all my rain-wear and down jackets. The fit is perfect; the coverage of the ears is perfect; and most importantly, it looks GREAT, at least in black anyway. Sizing appears to run true.

CONEHEAD
January 02, 2007

THE HAT IS REAL WARM, HOWEVER, THE ONLY PART THAT I DO NOT LIKE IS THE SHAPE. THE HAT POINTS ON TOP AND YOU LOOK LIKE A "CONEHEAD". I PREFER MORE OF A SNUG , FORM FITTING DESIGN. OTHER THAN THAT, I AM PLEASED.

Great Hat
March 15, 2007

Keeps head and ears nice and warm without having to pull it down tight like a helmet. Very comfortable and lightweight.

top250Contributor

Windproof
October 28, 2005

Mountain Hardwear-Dome Perignon is Great for climbing, camping, skiing, snowboarding.

Gilbone

Blocks the wind, warm and cozy in the worst cold
February 13, 2006

This hat is a great cold weather hat. The Gore Windblocker inside stops the wind and the fleece keeps my bald head warm in the cold weather

The Best
January 07, 2006

I have had this hat for a few years and work outside every day in upstate NY. I have bought this hat for the guys that work for me and would recommend it to everyone.

Very nice
May 15, 2005

I used this for skiing. It fits so well and keep real warm. Highly rtecommended.

Page: 1, 2, 3
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED