Mountain Hardwear Men's Exposure II Parka

$199.95 - $227.95 save up to 30%
Prices vary. Some Discontinued. Limited to stock on hand.
177332

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Sep 22 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Sep 22 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

Mountain Hardwear Men's Exposure II Parka Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.6 out of 5

140 Reviews

Pros
  • Ease of use: 8
  • Build quality: 5
  • Great design: 3
  • Lasts forever: 3

Cons
  • a bit bulky: 1
  • Cost: 1
  • sizing: 1
  • would like to run 2-3 inches longer: 1
Comfort: 5 / 5
Quality: 4.8 / 5
Durability: 4.6 / 5
Water Protection: 4.3 / 5
Wind Protection: 4.3 / 5
Warmth: 4 / 5
Fit: 3.7 / 5

140 Ratings & Reviews

Warm, good quality, and light weight
September 25, 2005

This is a very good quality, light weight and warm jacket. It fits very well. It works great in the rain, the bill on the hood keeps the water out of my face very well.

Decent but not Great
January 08, 2006

Nice jacket, looks good, good price... However, I also ran into the same problem with the sleeves and pit zips as a couple of the others. I do not have huge arms, but I still found that the sleeves do not have enough volume for layering heavyweight fleece comfortably (windstopper fleece works okay but nothing much thicker). Something about the pit zips seems off to me as well. The zippers are very stiff and tend to bunch up uncomfortably right in my arm pit. I did try on both a large and extra large before ordering the large... the XL is just too huge on me... fit like a oversize moo moo (sleeves were way too long as well on the XL).

Awesome Coat
December 05, 2003

This jacket has lots of technical features while remaining stylish and practical. The waterproofing has worked flawlessly and the jacket is surprisingly quiet to wear. I bought the jacket on sale for $190 from this site which was entirely worth it. For a very good value in a high performance coat, I highly suggest the Exposure II.

Great value
December 07, 2006

I have only had this jacket for a few months, but have already taken it on three winter hikes. It fit well and kept me warm and dry in 70mph winds with both snow and rain. I have owned a few different shells, but so far this is the nicest I have owned. It is not that light, but for the money it is well worth the extra weight. I have long arms, so the extra arm length and the problem with the pit zips was not an issue. So far the only issue I have had is with the hood. The velcro tabs do not hold the hood in place securely. I would like to see a removable hood, button tabs, or something else. Either way, I did not buy the jacket just to wear around town...

Well designed parka
March 02, 2004

I liked the product, pockets and compartments are useful, soft material on the inside front of the collar is a great idea. Generally fit and style were great. Happy with the purchase.

ALL AROUND GREAT!!!
October 28, 2002

I WEAR IT TO CLASS AND ITS COOL ENOUGH, YET I WEAR IT SNOWBOARDING IN THE DEEP POWDER AND ITS WARM ENOUGH. THIS COAT IS THE GREAT AT KEEPING YOUR BODY AT THE RIGHT TEMPERATUR.

A nice shell!
October 06, 2006

I use mine for tele and back country skiing (this one is my second). Good protection from the wet and allows elimination of sweat. The new version has some welcome improvements in the powder skirt velcro closure.

Some good, some bad
September 02, 2005

Definitley fits loose, but mostly a good loose. The construction is nice and sturdy; just like you would expect from MH. Unfortunatley, the pit zips are way way too stiff. I don't know if I received a second, but I returned mine becuse the pit zips kept my arms from falling naturally beside my body. I found it really uncomfortable. Also a bit heavy. Otherwise, I am sure its a great jacket; sadly I'll never know.

One tough, great looking shell
January 29, 2005

After looking at many shells, I bought this one and couldn't be happier. I live in Chicago, so a lightweight shell is out of the question when the temp drops to 5 and the wind is blowing. The Exposure II is a great piece of gear for the northern climes. The DWR finish has held up nicely so far and it layers well, even with the mesh lining. Apart from its great performance, it looks great as well. There is some cachet that accompanies a Mountain HW that isn't found with North Face and definitely not with Columbia. I'm no fashionista, but the Exposure II looks sweet. However, its performance is what makes it one of my favorite bits of gear I've ever owned.

Great with 2 caveats
October 13, 2004

The MHW Exposure II is a fantastic parka. It is long, so your bum does not get wet. I bought it because I was sick of babying my Paclite coat. This thing is the toughest waterproof jacket for sale. anywhere. seriously. it weighs approximately 2.4 tons but is TOUGH. It is totally waterproof, as well, and is breathable. It's hot, but that's because of the thickish fabric. For winter, its unbeatable. The pocket design is brilliant, its gota powder skirt and inside wather bottle pouch, but the best thing is that it JUST PLAIN LOOKS COOL. Got more street cred than TNF. 2 caveats: DWR does not hold up good at all. I think it might be the thick fabric, but it does kinda get soaked after a while. You don't though. Remember: waterproof means the jacket might get soaked and heavy, but none of it will get to you. I redid it w/ Nikwax which helped a bit. Also: this coat is 2-layer, which means it has a mesh liner, which means it is poor for layering. You can do it, just not the best. But all in all, a great parka.

Great jacket!
October 03, 2005

Great jacket at a great price, it delivers the effectiveness of Gore-Tex without charging an arm and a leg for it. I would buy it again in a heartbeat.

Great Jacket...
January 08, 2006

Great Jacket...

Great value.
December 04, 2004

Comfortable, nice pockets, and the interior elastic skirt is handy for keeping snow out.

Nice
November 17, 2004

Good fit, not too warm, does the job while looking good.

Great coat
October 05, 2005

I'm quite pleased with the MH Exposure parka, good quality and good fit. FYI, the arms seem to run long but I suppose that is a small price to pay. The service at Altrec was terrific, I will be a repeat customer.

Great Jacket
January 03, 2007

Great Looking Jacket. The Pit zipps are somewhat stiff. Great Jacket to stand up to the Noreasters. It is longer than my NF Mountain light and tougher material. I was always affraid of snagging the ML but not the MHW Expousre II. The jacket could use a litte more room in the arm pits. I wear it with the MHW windstopper and it keeps me warm. All in all a great jacket.

Sleeves are long enough for a gorilla
April 21, 2006

Sorry, can't tell you that I really like the Exposure II parka. I bought one recently but still haven't worn it outside, because I'm thinking of returning it. The thing is obviously well built. However, while I'm a bit on the short side of average height, the sleeves on the large sized Exposure that I bought are MUCH longer than my arms. I've owned many different brands of large sized jackets and parkas but have never run into this situation before. So I checked a mail order catalogue that shows the different sleeve lengths for various sizes of the Exposure II, and even the small size has sleeves that are only 2 inches shorter than the sleeves on a large size. While the sleeves of a small size would probably be the right length for my arms, I've never been able to fit my torso into the small size of any brand of parka or jacket. The sleeves of Exposure II are pretty annoying.

Exelent !!
October 09, 2004

5:00 am, climbing in the higest montain of México, frezze winds, and im feel "increiblemente" confortable, dry... the sun rise up... yes, I will be up there!!

Great product...great price!
September 05, 2005

I recently began purchasing outdoor gear from Altrec and have become a convert. This Mountain Hardwear shell is a premier product and I couldn't be happier with the price (unless of course it was a gift). Service has been first rate also.

Skier's dream
November 14, 2005

A great coat with thoughtful pocket designs and a great water repellency. Conduit is light enough for the spring, but layered, it makes a great shell for the slopes. I recommend using Revivex to recreate the DWR finish at least once a season. The Napoleon pocket is perfect for a camera or Ipod. A great deal for the money!

I don't think it's possible to ever be cold again.
November 14, 2005

When i first took this coat out of the packaging i didnt think it was going to be worth what i paid for it, but with the under layer beneath it this coat is quite possible the warmest most secure thing i have ever put on. There's almost a vest inside of the parka that you can button and velcro up to keep the wind from coming up inside your jacket and the pit zips, while strange, are extremely useful. I was never a big fan of hoods, but it's there if you want it. It doesn't insulate quite as well as a hood should but i just wear a hat. Completely waterproof. This thing is like a space suit without the weight and the oven like quality where you sweat all over yourself. Chicago winters are going to have to be pretty brutal to make me feel anything.

Nice Parka
October 01, 2005

Nice quality and looks great. It's not cold enough to use, but I'll be ready.

Good Quality
January 01, 2005

Need a little room in sleeves and could be longer - other than that, very nice!

Seems fine so far
October 30, 2006

Wore this jacket the last couple of weekends with the temperatures in the high 30's, rainy and windy. Kept me dry with a flannel shirt and t shirt underneath. Will have to add additional heavy layers as weather really starts to get cold. Felt a little chilly in the shoulder area of the back.

bomber
October 06, 2004

absolutely bomber, my ski patrol uniform parka

so far so good
May 26, 2005

MH tends to oversize things had to send back as the sleeves were too long. Was a comfortable fit when I got the right size. Will give it a first big test this Monday on Mount Manadnock. The color is more of an olive than cobalt.

Altrec.com-Most MHW products run small in size not large as customer has stated. Though a few of their older pieces do run slightly large.

need changes!!
December 03, 2005

my exp.II is great but a think MH need to do some changes first..the pit zips on sleves runs one way so cant calibrate the incoming air, (if you are trekker you know what i means) it needs urgently two way pit zips... second, needs more sleve room...for heavier under layer to help the conduit in cold and dont feel in prision, needs too, an sleve pocket and more color conbination in backward because looks poor. great fit but could be much much better

Not bad
October 16, 2006

Some people have been saying you can't layer this coat. Unless you are some kind of beefcake, I don't think you should have much of a problem with the fit being too tight. I wear an MH Sub-Zero down jacket under mine, and it fits fine with good range of motion. It is, however, very bulky and doesn't pack that well. It is definitely designed more for use in snow. It is thick and has a powder skirt. Not a good all-season shell if you ask me, too warm for summer rains. Hood is easily accessed, pits zips are nice and long for good ventilation. Another thing I don't like is the lack of storage. Its got an inside water bottle pocket and a bonaparte pocket, but other than that you have 2 handwarmer pockets that don't hold much. If you carry a light pair gloves, a hat, and maybe a neck gaiter you find you are all puffy in the chest. I prefer a couple down by the hips, they don't leave you puffed up like a stud cricket.

Great Jacket!
February 24, 2005

Keeps you warm and dry.

it's a fantastic bit of kit
June 03, 2001

Great Shell for Skiing
January 04, 2004

This jacket has an incredible fit and all the features you need for skiing in harsh conditions. All the zippers and cords are pretty easy to use with gloves on. I've only had it a month, it's done well through both the wet and the cold storms I've exposed it to so far. So far there's no reason to expect it won't continue to hold in the long run. I'd definitely recommend it.

Great Jacket -Exposure II Sweetness
March 31, 2006

I started using the Jacket during December, I live in Idaho near Yellowstone Park and this jacket in combo with a fleece was extemely warm and weathered the elements exceptionally. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a excellent quality jacket

An excellent outer layer
December 17, 2003

Durable, waterproof, and great for use as outer layer. This jacket is built to accommodate layering, but also has pit zips and is very easy to ventilate when changing activity levels. The sleeves are built a little longer, this is useful when reaching overhead during climbs so they don't creep up your arm leaving a cold spot. Very nice parka!

Excellent Coat
September 06, 2006

Awesome coat for the winter! Lives up to the best Mother Nature can throw at you during anykind of winter sport or activity.

great jacket
July 09, 2005

Used on a weekend trip. jacket kept me warm but without sweating. The only thing wrong is the weight of the jacket; a little heavy compared to others. besides the weight the jacket worked perfect. Best of all with the stylish look you can even wear it when you are out on the town. Thanks!!!!!

wicked awesome
October 25, 2004

Conduit is cheaper than goretex and mountain hardwear makes solid gear - those are a couple of reasons why I settled on the exposure II. From a deluge in the San Juans to white-out conditions on Evans, this jacket has left nothing to be desired - uh - it is a bit heavy and it runs large. Did i mention that it is tough as a damn coffin nail?

Durabilty is Questionable
December 24, 2003

After about 40 days on the slopes this past winter the Exposure II has performed well, from snow to rain it's kept me dry. Durability is questionable, as it's less than a year old and all the velcro on the sleeves and zipper is falling off or has already fallen off. I've contacted MH and will see if they'll stand behing their product...

Good Jacket - Not great
September 24, 2006

Sleeves are long and narrow --- I am a 35" sleeve.

Excellent all-around parka
November 19, 2004

I love the MH Exposure II parka. Living in the Pacific Northwest, I own several waterproof shells but the MH Exposure II parka is my favorite. I'm one of those who prefer a heavier, more durable jacket to ward of the elements and this one certainly fits the bill. It's also really sharp looking. I've always liked MH designs and colors. This parka will last forever.

Great coat
October 14, 2006

When I first received my Mountain Hardware (MHW) Exposure II, I tried it on and thought it had a very large fit. I always wear XL, but this felt real roomy. After I went hiking with with a fleece shirt under it, I was very impressed how MHW put the extra room in this jacket. It is sooo comfortable to wear, I hate to take it off. It breathes great and is waterproof. I can reach and climb without the cuffs riding up my arms or exposing my mid-section to the cold. Great coat!!

Great Jacket
February 23, 2004

I was a North Face man until I spoke with someone at Altrec who suggested I consider the Mountain Hard Wear jacket and I like it A LOT more than the North Face one that I was replacing. It is sturdier and more rugged and -- in my opinion -- better looking, too. I also like the unique "Napolean Pocket" which allows you to be zipped up, but still have an easy-access inside breast pocket. I will probably give all Mountain Hard Wear products a more thorough review before buying North Face again.

Simply The Best
September 06, 2004

Simply put, ths is the best ski jacket I've owned. Lightweigt, warm, rugged,& waterproof; who could ask for anyhting else. Altrec beats REI, HTO, and EMS on prices and service. The many varied pockets store all sorts of gear, especially if you are skiing all day and don't like to take many breaks. This jacket is a winner! Drew

Love the Men's Exposure II Parka
June 20, 2006

Was looking for a suitable jacket for outdoor activities and for coaching. The Exposure II Parka is outstanding for the unpredictable weather in the Midwest. The Conduit fabric keeps you dry and warm through rain and windy conditions. The length of the jacket covers more of your body, which is an added benefit. The overall coverage and design of the hood is outstanding versus other jackets that I have worn. Sleeves tend to be a bit tight, but then I wasn't looking for a large bulky jacket. The actual price is a bit high, but did find the jacket at a discounted price.

Great Jacket
October 02, 2005

I had this jacket for the last few weeks, and it's great. Completely waterproof, very breathable and very comfortable. Two comments: I found the pockets to be a bit too high (I know it's suppose to help when carrying a pack, but still - most times I don't carry one), and the hood looks a bit messy when rolled. This jacket has a lot of nice features, but my favorites are the warmed pockets - very nice to have on a chilly morning... Overall, a very nice jacket for a very decent price.

Sick!
October 10, 2004

Bombproof jacket! I've had it for a little over a year, at it has gone through the most skiing I've ever done in one season (and was just as good the last day as the first). The pit zips are great for the days where the mornings are cold but then warm up in the afternoon. Excelent jacket!

Good Value
December 15, 2004

MH Exposure II Parka is a great value. I was plenty warm through 50mph winds and snow on top of Vail at 20 degrees with only two base layers. I'd buy it again. The only weakness with the shell is that it is a somewhat heavy. Also, if you want your friends to pick you out in the lift line...don't buy red as everyone has a red coat...

Love It
March 18, 2005

I love this jacket. There is no way that I am going to pay $400+ for a shell. I like the $200 price tag much better. I think the durable weave is excellent. I have yet to get wet or let down in any way. My only concern is in reading a few of the reports about the longevity of the DWR? I trust MH did their research before offering a DWR to challenge Gore -Tex. I don't like paying $100 extra on an item or more JUST for the Gore name. I am willing to give Conduit a try. So far I love it.

Great Buy!
September 04, 2005

The sale price for this jacket I could not turn it down, $95.98 with shipping. Thanks David

Amazing Value
December 01, 2005

The finest jacket I have ever bought, worn and pushed to the limits. This jacket has stood the test of time, too. Purchased new in 1994, I have NEVER had a single problem with this shell, until the zipper finally broke, over ten years later. It has bombed chutes, glades and below zero cruisers year-in, year-out. You will NOT be disappointed! The coat has actually dropped in price since 1994. It was a $300 coat then. You can buy it from an official Mountain Hard Wear dealer for $200 today. Can't be beat.

Form and Function
January 14, 2005

This jacket looks great, but unlike some other jackets I tested, the Exposure II is concerned with more than just its fashionable appearance. From the fleece-lined hand warmer pockets to the easy-to-use pit zips, the jacket design is terrific. Though others complain about its weight, this is not a jacket only to be used for summer rain showers; I like that the jacket can take a beating in the snow, yet still be vesatile enough for most of the rest of the year.

love it
January 03, 2005

Great jacket! I've just got back from a 70 mile trip through the smokies on the AT. While in the jacket the wind was non-existant, rain bounced off me, and no clamyness at all while putting in 15 mile days.

Great Jacket, worth getting if you need to stay dry.
July 19, 2006

Amazing Jacket...It has kept me in dry in all conditions. I take this jacket with me 6 moths out of the year into the mountains and desserts of Utah where I am a wilderness guide and it has never once not kept me dry in a downpour.

This shell works for 1 year +/-
August 01, 2003

It worked well for the first year but after that and medium useage the DWR finish was gone off the shoulders and arms. (Only 3- 4 day pack trips) After 2 years of use the entire coat was retreated with manuf. recommended finish, and it still soaks up water like a sponge. Not good if you were like me with 4 days in rain and snow , .... a drowned rat

Love It!
December 17, 2003

Just got this jacket, but so far I love. Extremely comfortable with more pockets than you can shake a stick at! The big test will be this summer on Mt. Rainier.

Functional, Stylish, and Fun
October 15, 2005

I have been slow to convert to MH as the cost is a little high compared to some other products, however, I have never been disappointed in anything I have purchased. My Exposure II parka has been a great addition to my gear bag as I spent quite a lot of time outside. It has a great fit and keeps me warm and dry with an emphasis being placed on the dry. It is great by itself or with a layer and has stood up to the wear and tear of heavy use. I promise that you won't be let down by the Exposure II.

Excellent product.
October 03, 2004

Great jacket. With all of the rain coming up the coast from the hurricanes I have gotten plenty of use out of this jacket already and it has held up wonderfully.

Good jacket, great value
September 24, 2006

I got the saphire color, it is a really good looking color. The jacket has everything you need powder skirt, warm pockets, pit zips, and a shapeable hood. I also think that layer for layer conduit is every bit as waterproof as gore-tex. I also love the feel of a fabric. The only reason this review is only a four star review is because the jacket has not really been tested hard yet. You can't go wrong with this jacket.

Watch out im bullet proof
October 30, 2002

my exsp 2 can survive a gang war, car bombing, plane crash, chemical spills and even a good day at wistler. the nylon ins not flat it is a weave giving it top abresion resitstancy. good for use on hard snow and ice. i took this jacket to devils thumb when i went last year. it was a bit heavy but i was a lot better off in this than my alpha sv. it kept the wind off and the water repelency was great. tap in this shell or your one stupid outdoor enthusiast!!!!!

Awesome parka...tough as nails
November 27, 2004

This parka is just plain awesome!! It will stand up to briars, sticks, rain, falling down and all kinds of other abuse, too. It breaths very well and the hood is very adjustable. Some people say that it's a little heavy (maybe if you're a todler) but I don't agree. I suggest buying this parka if you are considering it.

Great, great jacket
May 30, 2006

I have a ratty old Gore-Tex jacket, and I wish I had replaced it with this Exposure II long ago. It is very well built, and looks like it will last a long, long time. I has already proven its worth in some significant rain and wind, and it was perfect. The only downside is that it's a little heavy. But the "breathability" seems good, and I have no problem with the weight because it's put to such good use. Highly recommended.

Great Jacket!
January 26, 2003

This shell is the coolest thing since sliced bread! I've used it on several mountaineering trips and it's performed excellently!

Page: 1, 2
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED