Mountain Hardwear Men's Mountain Tech Jacket

$124.95 - $180.00 save up to 31%
Prices vary. Some Discontinued. Limited to stock on hand.
122558

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship - details 
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

Mountain Hardwear Men's Mountain Tech Jacket Reviews Page 4

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5

481 Reviews

Pros
  • Ease of use: 9
  • Lasts forever: 9
  • Performance: 9
  • Great value: 7

Cons
  • Cost: 2
  • cat hair sticks to it: 1
  • fit: 1
  • inconsistent sleeve length: 1
Comfort: 5 / 5
Quality: 4.9 / 5
Durability: 4.8 / 5
Wind Protection: 4.3 / 5
Warmth: 3.7 / 5
Fit: 2.9 / 5

481 Ratings & Reviews

Great Jacket
March 13, 2006

Awesome jacket - impervious to wind but yet lightweight without bulk. Great in cold wether climates.

Excellent product
March 29, 2006

I have been using different windstoppers for a few years now, but this one beats them all!!! The ventilation openings under the armpits is something I've only seen on jackets before. After two months of daily use, I don't have anything negative to add.

Great Performer
October 13, 2006

Light weight jacket that performs in variety of conditions. Fits body nicely Im 6-4 and the XL is just big enough. Not a lot of extra room, but thats what I like. Great for a winter hike. Not warm enough for extreme winter conditions.

Errrr, more than other fleeces but not as warm
February 24, 2006

This jacket was supposed to rival TNF denali fleece in warmth, and it costs more than almost any other fleece I looked at. This jacket is not close to as warm as the denali fleece, but is decently effective at keeping out the wind. I am dissapointed with this jacket.

Great Jacket!!!
April 08, 2006

Bought this jacket for my husband after my son bought one and absolutely loved it. My son wears his all the time and lives in Chicago where the wind and weather is often cold and blustery, often with no other coat or jacket. We originally bought them for skiing to wear under a shell or parka. It works great for that as well. They especially like the pit zips which most light weight wind jackets dont have. Only suggestion I have is to make it a little longer in the body. Both of my guys are taller 6' and 6'4" and little longer would be great. However, I was pleasantly surprised as I did not think the jacket would be long enough for my husband at all and it actually isnt too bad. Other option would be to make it in tall sizes. Loved the carbon color. My son has the grey and really likes that as well.

Great... !!
February 21, 2006

Great jacket... i very like this jacket..

SoCalClimber
top1000Contributor

warm and light - great jacket
January 18, 2006

It really does block the wind and keeps you warm. It has pit zips to give you ventilation when needed. It fits me quite nicely and I can even layer it under shells easily. What Ir eally like is the warmth you get for the little bulk...so I can pack it easily.

Excellent Overall Jacket
December 07, 2005

I bought this jacket with the intention to use it as a layer for my outer shell, but I have no need for the outter shell now. The warmth of this jacket is unbelievable given its weight. The Windstopper technology is really great. I often only wear a t-shirt under the jacket in 30 degree weather and am completely comfortable. Also, the underarm zips are great for cooling down.

Comfortable but shoddy construction
January 26, 2006

Very comfortable and warm jacket for strolling or exercising in temps over 10 degrees. The seamstress work is shoddy however, and the lycra cuffs fray rather easily. The quality of construction does not match the high price.

well cut not too warm
November 11, 2005

Quite please with my windstopper jacket. Well dersigned, seems extremeley durable and has turned more then a few heads by its excellent tailoring. It is not a very warm jacket and needs to be augemented by other garmets in cold weather. overall rating is above average.

Great Performer
October 13, 2006

Light weight jacket that performs in variety of conditions. Fits body nicely I’m 6-4 and the XL is just big enough. Not a lot of extra room, but that’s what I like. Great for a winter hike. Not warm enough for extreme winter conditions.

Aweseom
January 26, 2006

Great jacket at a great price

Outstandingly functional windproof fleece jacket
January 06, 2006

This jacket is very breathable and windproof. I love the pit zips because it gives me a lot of flexibility while layering. And it's nice looking to boot! The Shiraz color is very neat. Shipping and customer service from Altrec.com was outstanding!

Buy this jacket.
April 03, 2006

I have had this jacket for many years. It is my favorite. This jacket rocks! Very warm, big pit zips, and durible. I highly recommend it. Well worth the money. Buy one. You won't be sorry.

Good fit. Great quality!
January 19, 2006

Great jacket with lots of pockets. Pit vents are handy, and this is a great "layered" garment; or if not needing an outer shell, protects from wind and is a good insulator.

Mtn. Hardwear does it again!
November 02, 2006

I've had a TNF Denali for years and after mis-placing it was on the hunt for a new fleece. After much research I decided to go with the Tech. Best decision I've made!! Stops a 40mph Wyoming breeze with no problem. The microfleece combined with the Windstopper has been perfectly warm on 20 degree days with just a single layer of Capalene. Excellent fit and range of motion, even with arms stretched overhead the Tech doesn't ride up. Large pit zips are a plus. I'm a TECHie now.

Awesome
January 22, 2006

This jacket is awesome. Really lightweight, and still some-how warm. I love it.

Mountain Hardware Windstopper Jacket
November 01, 2006

This has been the best purchase of outdoor gear I think I have ever made. Well worth the money. My first weekend out with this jacket I was hiking from 9000' up to 13,380' and went through fog, rain, blowing sleet and snow. My core remained warm and when I got back to the car several hours later my clothes under the jacket were dry and the jacket itself was virtually dry. It would be nice to have dual zippers on the pit zips but certainly not a reason to shy away from this product. Another great product from MHW

Mountain Hardwear: Men's WindStopper Tech Jacket very nice jacke
May 22, 2006

I have wanted one of these jackets for years, Mountain Hardwear: Men's WindStopper Tech Jacket, I finally purchased one a few weeks back. It is an exceptional garment, made here in the USA according to the tag in mine, which is important to me. I started with a walk around the Bellingham bay found it to very comfortable fallowed by the night on the town, stylish, just right. Best of all, I have had it on several hikes and outings since and I love it. It is simply performing passed my expectations. Jack Jensen

Great Lightweight Jacket that really is comfotable.
January 16, 2006

This jacket is warm enough to use and cuts the wind chill factor. Very light-weight. All and all a great jacket to have if you do not like alot of bulk

I LOVE IT
February 06, 2006

This is a really nice and warm fleece jacket. Much better than the Northface fleece that I own. Could be a little thicker, but it's great the way it is.

Great Performer
October 13, 2006

Light weight jacket that performs in variety of conditions. Fits body nicely I’m 6-4 and the XL is just big enough. Not a lot of extra room, but that’s what I like. Great for a winter hike. Not warm enough for extreme winter conditions.

This is absolutely the best fleece jacket
January 23, 2006

This is absolutely the best fleece jacket

Great Jacket
January 25, 2006

Great Jacket. Lightweight and warm. Pit Zips are there if you start to overheat.

Leonid Brezhnev
December 06, 2005

Now that that's out of the way, the fleece: Just like everyone and their brother has said, it's a great jacket. It's pretty light, so I use it as more of a windbreaker. It is sized roomily. I have it in a small and it fits the same as an Alchemy in medium. I also LIKE the carbon color. It's a loden sort of green. Unique but cool. I go to college, and over 99% of the students wear the same North Face garbage. This jacket is getting to be real common too, but it actually performs well in the backcountry. It's a great layer for under a shell b/c it's thin and has pitzips, which are an indispensable feature.

As close to perfect as a fleece can get
March 14, 2006

Wonderful! This jacket stops the wind completely, give a lot of warmth for its weight, and - unlike many other MH jackets - fits right (at least for me). The only down side is that it's tough getting all the dog hairs off!

Awesome and essential gear
May 14, 2006

The MHW Tech jacket rocks. I have worn it hiking 14,000' peaks, skiing at Breck on 30 degree days, and just as an all purpose jacket. Also have used it as a thermal layer during glacier climbs. It always keeps me warm and keeps the wind out. I am glad to see that the price has come down. When I bought my first one 3 years ago they were $215. Now they are $185 and there are plenty of good spring sales around. I getting ready to buy my second tech jacket. Not that the first one is worn out, just time for a new color.

Great windproof fleece
May 22, 2006

Great for windy spring/fall days. Well constructed. Only thing I'd change would be putting the inside pocket on the right side and make the exterior chest pocket a vertical zipper. Would make it easier to access. Other then that 5 stars.

An excellent choice!
September 26, 2006

I got this jacket to use while skiing. I hate bulky outdoor clothing and this jacket is perfect for my use. A vest underneath if it's really cold and you're good to go. The wind does not get through and the zip pits let you cool down after a long run. The sleeves are of a perfect length to allow freedom of movement. Style and comfort and plenty of pockets for the stuff you need to bring along.

Great Pick
November 08, 2005

I'm a fan of Mtn Hardware, and this jacket is no disappointment. I just spent 4 hours fishing in a float tube while the wind was blowing and the temp was 50 degrees. Stayed warm all day. Fit & finish is very good too. Great jacket to add to the stable.

Mounatin Hardwear
January 17, 2006

I bought two and excellent Jacket. Great outer shell for windy weather to keep warm. Great for 30 degree weather wet or dry. My only complain is so many thread need to be cut. Quality issue.

GREAT FLEECE!!!
January 18, 2006

I recently bought this Windstopper Tech (Carbon color) from Altrec.com. This company is THE BEST outdoor company on the web (and probably anywhere you will find). From the price match policy to the return policy, there is no worries in ordering from their site. Now, about the jacket...I bought this jacket Jan. 05 and ordered the Carbon color in size XL. The jacket fit me PERFECTLY, and felt great on. Although, I ended up sending it back because the carbon color was a lighter greenish than shown online. I will order another one of these, but I just need to decide on the color (maybe charcoal). Even though I just tried this jacket on, I can say that from the feel and construction, I can tell it is VERY well made and the reviews on here are probably pretty accurate. In the mean time, I plan on ordering a North Face Denali from this site and will eventually order another Windstopper Tech once I decide on a diff. color. By the way, the XL fit me perfectly and I am 6'0 (or a little over) and 190-195 lbs, w/ an athletic build/broad shoulders (44" chest, 32" waist). The only spot it was a tad big was around my waist, which was easily sinched up w/ the cord. Overall, this is a fantastic company and they will definitely see my business in years to come.

Excellent Jacket
December 29, 2005

Great outer shell for windy weather to keep warm. Great for 30 degree weather wet or dry. Very nice jacket!

Good
March 21, 2006

As far a fleece is concerned this is a very good jacket, given the windstopper fabric and the pit zips. I will not repeat what the others have said, however there are a few nitpicks that I have with this jacket...The chest pocket cannot be accessed easily while wearing a pack. The fabric picks up dust and hair just like fleece. The earlier jackets were made in the US, now they are made in El Salvador. Big fat MH logo on chest (this may be an asset for some ;-)

Great Jacket! Lightweight fleece that's extremely windproof!
January 15, 2006

I put this jacket to the test on a hike on a breezey 35 degree day. I had other layers on for a little extra warmth but the MH Windstopper Tech Jacket really kept out the wind! On warmer days it performs well too as a light weight fleece jacket. The pit zips allow you to regulate the temperature for your comfort.

One Of A Kind
July 04, 2006

The MH Tech is really light weight, but stops the wind with its Gore Tex insert.....right now the temp is 95 so it is "keeping the hanger warm in my closet." I will be going to the Baltic countries and northern Russia in the fall and it is exactly what I had in mind when I ordered it. The style is also a combo of sporty and casual. Along with my Gore Tex shell (a weather channel Lands End jacket) it will keep me really dry and warm without having too much of a "mountain climber"look. If you are concerned with the cost being high, consider that this is a quality product and you should expect to pay this price. Now it is on sale for $40 less than I paid, so go for it at this bargain price. You won't be sorry!

Multi purpose jacket
January 24, 2006

This are my second jacket, first was stolen :-( Someone else must know the value of this jacket Perfect to ware a windy summer night as a winter day on skates Jacket is perfect for the Nordic climate

Must Have Fleece Jacket
January 16, 2006

The Mountain Hardwear Windstopper Tech fleece jacket is the most comfortable, highly functional, and warmest fleece jacket I have ever worn. This athleticly cut jacket fits closely to the body to provide great warmth. Make sure when buying this jacket you do not buy a size to big, you want the jacket to fit snuggly. The only downside is that there are no snaps or wrist loops to combine the fleece with a shell. However, with the jacket fitting close to your body, it does not get stuck or binded in the sleeves when combined with a shell. Also, the Windstopper Tech is able to be worn in the rain and still provide great protection.

Nice jacket
December 10, 2005

Warm, great wind blocker. Pit zips rock!!

Awesome but not perfect
December 26, 2005

Just got it and it rocks. Like everyone says it's very light and effective at keeping the wind out. I like how the liner is NOT fleece - it eliminates piling issues on the insides and makes it easier to move around in and feels better putting on and off. Two comments regarding the design that could be improved [but I'm reaching here] (1) it's better to have 2 zipper tabs for the pit zips just in case one breaks and (2) the horizontal zipper for the outer chest pocket is harder to get to than a vertical one when wearing a pack (makes sense ya? can someone tell me the logic of having it horizontal?). Now this is comparing apples to oranges, but the Windstopper isn't as warm as my 300 weight polar TNF fleece IN a shell [duh] but it kicks the TNF's butt when warn alone especially with the wind blowing [duh]. MH rocks though and I won't ever buy TNF again...not that they make crap, but the preps, dorks and also 7 year old girls running around in pink TNF fleeces everywhere kinda ruines droppin the $$$ on it. Other manufacturers Id consider and respect are Marmot, Patagonia, and ArcTeryx.

Great Jacket
March 05, 2006

Bought three jackets; Arcteryx Gamma SV, MH Alchemy and the Windstopper tech. When they arrived, I wore each for a couple of days to test comfort and warmth. Gamma SV was the best looking, exterior was a soft shell and not fleece, but it was not the warmest. Alchemy was like wearing a wetsuit, very tight fitting and pockets were not well placed. Windstopper was the most loose fitting of the three and allowed me to layer underneath. Style, it probably loses the competition, Gamma SV wins that. But, after owning for three months, I've worn every day. Skiied in temps down to 10-15 with base layer, mid layer and this as top layer. Run in temps around 30 with tshirt and this as outer layer (pit zips very nice). Wear to work with dress shirts every day. Lots of pockets, large inner pocket for cellphone and wallet while skiing. The only negative and it's picky is that I liked the look of the softshell material better than the fleece and if you wear it as an outerlayer during snow it obviously sticks to this jacket, although keeps you dry. Overall very satisfied and Altrec allowed returning other jackets no problem.

Feel warm
January 09, 2006

Very light weight. Great with a soft shell. Kept me warm on a very cold day

Perfect
April 14, 2006

Was skeptical at first because of the price. But it sooned proved to be worth it as I rode a motorcycle through the mountain in Thailand. The chilly breeze was literally Stopped! With a light sweater inside, I was warm, comfy and not bothered by the wind at all.

Awesome ONE Jacket.
August 25, 2006

Advantages: 1. Stylish Atheletic Cut 2. Awesome Windstopping abilities 3. Comparatively lightweight 4. Super warm in varying conditions. I've used this jacket from strolling in the SanFrancisco streets to Hike thru cold John muir wood to look over the Windy Golden gate park to backpack in Yosemite. Extermely versatile and htat One Jacket that I can depend on and take it anywhere I want... Disadvantages: 1. From 2000 to 2005..Zipper Qulity has come down.I recently bought my second jacket on closeout deal. 2.Compressability to pack and use it as mid-layer in backpack.Slightly bulky to use it under Ultra light Raingear. 2.

excellent
November 18, 2005

Light

Love this jacket
November 11, 2005

I bought the Windstopper Tech jacket for my son's birhtday! I like the color and he thinks it is great for northwest weather. It's not bulky so it's very comfortable.

Great for all uses
March 10, 2006

Bought three jackets; Arcteryx Gamma SV, MH Alchemy and the Windstopper tech. When they arrived, I wore each for a couple of days to test comfort and warmth. Gamma SV was the best looking, exterior was a soft shell and not fleece, but it was not the warmest. Alchemy was like wearing a wetsuit, very tight fitting and pockets were not well placed. Windstopper was the most loose fitting of the three and allowed me to layer underneath. Style, it probably loses the competition, Gamma SV wins that. But, after owning for three months, I've worn every day. Skiied in temps down to 10-15 with base layer, mid layer and this as top layer. Run in temps around 30 with tshirt and this as outer layer (pit zips very nice). Wear to work with dress shirts every day. Lots of pockets, large inner pocket for cellphone and wallet while skiing. The only negative and it's picky is that I liked the look of the softshell material better than the fleece and if you wear it as an outerlayer during snow it obviously sticks to this jacket, although keeps you dry. Overall very satisfied and Altrec allowed returning other jackets no problem.

Outstanding
December 26, 2005

I am currently using this jacket in the mountains of north-eastern Afghanistan - there are 3 other guys on my team using it also. This thing is great! It works - and in this terrain and situation - I can't give any higher praise than that.

Outstanding Jacket
January 24, 2006

A must own for anyone who is active in the outdoors. I bought this jacket after using my brothers jacket in New Mexico. When worn with a fanny pack you can climb all day and not sweat. Stops the wind dead.

Mountain Hardware: Men's Windstopper Tech Jacket-It's Great
October 03, 2006

I really love my jacket, it is warm and not too thick and bulky.

Great choice for cool, windy places
June 08, 2006

I have had this jacket for about 6 months now. It works great as an outer layer - blocks wind as promised and keeps heat in. I find the pit zips to be a great feature, allowing you to release heat there while retaining heat elsewhere. It also works great layered under my LLBean mountain guide shell for colder or wet days. As for fit, I seem to be right between two sizes. I definitely need an XL in the North Face Fleece jackets; however, the XL may be just a tad too large in the Windstopper. However, the L just did not leave any room for a sweater or thick layer underneath. So - I have stuck with the XL. Quality seems to be great - no problems with zippers or seams. I spent a lot of time trying to decide between a large number of jackets, and I am really happy with my decision to go with the Windstopper.

awesome
November 25, 2005

This fleece is perfect for those days when it is windy and chilly out. It is light and comfortable but yet keeps you warm.

Just what I needed
January 27, 2006

Been looking for a jacket like this for sometime. Wind block works for bike commute and hiking into strong wind. I can wear a long sleve capilene and a marmot vest underneath to stay warm and still stay dry when hiking with a backpack. Love the fact that this soft this softshell has pit zips. Sold.

Looks good
July 31, 2006

As it is around 96 here now in NJ, i look forward to the cooler days of Autumn and fall to try it out.I wanted to be a bit different than all the North face clones.

a Light jacket you don't want to miss
September 23, 2006

a Light weight windstopper jacket, a very good jacket for Fall. I just need a T-shirt under it in a 30F degree. Mounatin hardwear always have great quailty jacket. A can't miss fall jacket.

Excellent jacket - surpassed my expectations
March 16, 2006

Recent test in Idaho. Jacket stops wind in its tracks. Warm -- never got cold. Got too warm, and the pit zips fixed that. Snow and light rain were not issues with this jacket. Far exceeded my expectations. This is the best jacket I have owned and I would highly recommend this jacket to anyone. Note: Sizes run to the larger end of the sizes. If you are looking at this as a mid-layer or outer layer it's probably fine. If you are ordering it for "jacket only" you may want to get a size smaller - expecially if you are on the border for one size or another.

Better than The Denali!!!
November 19, 2006

If you are looking at The North Face's Denali Jacket and This one and Cannot decide this jacket is it! very light for a fleece yet warm and blocks wind like it says! great Jacket! Zips in to many shells too!

Great!
January 03, 2006

Very good jacket. I've worn it from 50 degrees down to 25 degrees and it worked great all the time. The only time I needed another jacket is when I needed a hood.

This is absolutely the best fleece jacket
January 23, 2006

This is absolutely the best fleece jacket

stops the wind
December 24, 2005

Very comfortable and keeps warm on blustery days. Looks great as casual jacket or wear under outer shell.

Very good!
November 20, 2005

Overall, I am very pleased with the jacket. It is very warm and very light. No problem at all with walking in cold weather and only a t-shirt underneath. My only request would be two zippers on the pit-zips, with would make them a lot easier to use. Would gladly buy it again!!

Great all-round jacket!!!
November 09, 2005

Recommend this jacket for anyone who loves the outdoors. Both my husband and I have a couple of the windstoppers.

Best in class jacket
November 17, 2006

Wore this jacket on top of Rainier, years ago, and was sold then. Recently decided I wanted a different color. Same great jacket, great features, freedom of movement and warmth without bulk. It's hard to improve on a winner. My only criticism is that the logo is too big. I feel like a walking advertisement. Great gear companys should be more subtle. I'll get over it. Bottom line: if you buy this jacket you won't be disappointed.

Backpacker's Perfect Jacket
October 20, 2006

Great all around jacket. I purchased mine on Altrec for a super great deal.(which I only thought I could find on Campmor) This jacket is great for hiking and backpacking. I learned that on a recent trip to the Smoky Mountains. The jacket was 101 percent windproof and was plenty warm with a light fleece layer underneath despite how thin it was. The low temperature was around 30 with a pretty good breeze blowing with a cold front coming in. But I was still warm enough to keep from shivering. It has a good weight value considering I didn't have to bring an extra layer.(Good jacket for ounce counters) It was great while I was hiking thanks to the extra long pit zips and numorous pockets. It was a great jacket in town too. It also shed a light rain to my suprise, but do not depend on it in a shower. A+ for Mountain Hardwear, my new favorite outdoor brand. I have many of their products, all of which are great. Goodbye to overpriced and heavy The North Face items; but don't get me wrong they're great too. But anyway, have fun on the trail with this jacket. I hope I have been helpful to anyone looking for a great jacket.

Exactly what I needed
December 05, 2005

This jacket has filled the ezact need I ordered it for. I wear this jacket primarily for my morning walks on the North Florida beaches, which in the winter can get a bit chilly and very windy. This jacket is warm enough to use and cuts the wind chill factor to nill. The arm pit zippers are great for temperature regulation for when I get the body heat built up.

Great
August 26, 2006

Everything about the transaction and the coat are great. I have owned Mountain Hardwear for 7 years now and have no complaints. My first Mountian Hardwear windstopper fleece came from Altrec. Still going strong.

Perfect Jacket!!!
February 28, 2006

All in all one of the best purchases I have made in a long time. The jacket is comfortable, can be adjusted by open heating vents to keep you cool when exerting yourself. Not only that but its perfect for any outdoor activity because of it adaptability. I would reccomend this jacket to everyone.

Fashionable, Windproof Fleece Jacket
January 15, 2006

I wear this jacket around town and will also use for backpacking and mountaineering. It is very windproof.

fantastic jacket
January 15, 2006

jacket fits very well, very nice colors and overall very sharp looking. Does do what it claims: stop the wind. The zippered internal pocket is very useful to keep your keys, cellphone, etc. Well worth the money!

must have
December 13, 2005

this jacket pretty much gets it all done, it will be your go to jacket for all purposes. You will rarely need another jacket throughout the spring and fall. Unless it is an extreemely warm fall or spring day, or if it is pouring down rain, this jacket will keep you happy. I even use it in the winter sometimes. If you are even moderately active, with a base layer this jacket will keep you warm down to 30 degrees or lower, it is just fantastic

4 Years and counting!
January 05, 2006

This is the best fleece I've ever used. It gives me a bit more interior room than my MH Alchemy soft shell, and I wear it everywhere year-round. Hiking, skiing (under a shell or alone as weather dictates), to the gym, or all-around; it's comfortable, durable, washes well, is windproof, and has been a solid value.

Great jacket, lots of features.
May 07, 2006

The windstopper works very well, making it light yet warm jacket. The pockets are well designed and the pit zips are great (I wouldn't get a jacket that warm without them).

Would definitely not buy again or recommend.
March 06, 2006

A lot of hype behind the name but the actual product lacks in function. I could have spent my money better else where. You pay a hefty preimum for this product.

All-Pro Jacket
November 07, 2006

This jacket is the most practical piece of outerwear I have ever owned. I am 5'10, 175lbs. and this jacket fits fine and looks great. It is hardcore and constructed well, yet it is still soft and comfortable. Won't need another fleece...maybe...ever.

AMAZING - Very Very Light, Windproof, and Waterproof
September 20, 2006

So lightweight, comfortable and versatile, the perfect single jacket for any occasion. As a test, I blasted it in the shower... THE INSIDE STAYED 100% DRY!!! The outer soft faric did absorb water, but if you treat that fabric with spray on water repellent then toss in the dryer, that'd fix that too. 3 cheers and 3 beers to Mountain Hardware!

Great Jacket
March 05, 2006

Bought three jackets; Arcteryx Gamma SV, MH Alchemy and the Windstopper tech. When they arrived, I wore each for a couple of days to test comfort and warmth. Gamma SV was the best looking, exterior was a soft shell and not fleece, but it was not the warmest. Alchemy was like wearing a wetsuit, very tight fitting and pockets were not well placed. Windstopper was the most loose fitting of the three and allowed me to layer underneath. Style, it probably loses the competition, Gamma SV wins that. But, after owning for three months, I've worn every day. Skiied in temps down to 10-15 with base layer, mid layer and this as top layer. Run in temps around 30 with tshirt and this as outer layer (pit zips very nice). Wear to work with dress shirts every day. Lots of pockets, large inner pocket for cellphone and wallet while skiing. The only negative and it's picky is that I liked the look of the softshell material better than the fleece and if you wear it as an outerlayer during snow it obviously sticks to this jacket, although keeps you dry. Overall very satisfied and Altrec allowed returning other jackets no problem.

Great jacket!
January 08, 2006

After doing a lot of research and trying on several tech fleece jackets, I bought the MH tech. Compared to the NF Pamir it just fits better and looks better imo. The thing I notice about the MH stuff is the sleeves fit great! They are long enough, but not huge around - in otherwords they have a trim fit, but the jacket is not confining at all. It is amazing how the jacket is so light, but due to the windproof material it is really warm - hard to believe what just keeping the wind out of your jacket can do for your body temp. Anyway - this is a very high quality jacket - which it should be for the price, but if you want good gear, you can't go wrong with this piece. - Carbon color is subtle but nice as well -

Nice purchase!
September 18, 2006

This jacket is everything I expected from MH. Light, great ventilation, good looking and comfy!!!

Great
January 15, 2006

One of the best I own and I have 3 different color. Wear in office, trip, school, home. Only my complain is so many thread need to cut. It is quality issue. Design and material is great.

extremely versatile
December 20, 2005

This jacket is perfect for those in between temperatures and activity levels. The pit zips keep you comfortable while on the move, but it cinches down nicely when you need to retain more heat. Windstopper material was a good choice for this item.

FIRST CLASS IF IT KEEPS YOU WARM IN ALASKA IT WILL IN UK
September 10, 2006

I WORK FOR THE BIGGEST MAIL ORDER COMPANY IN ENGLAND,BUT YOUR FIRST CLASS SERVICE Your service and delivery are FIRST CLASS,5 days from alaska to Shaw ENGLAND UK,was very good I am going on a cruise in Alaska in may next year so i can try the fleece on the Glaceirs. if isee any of your shops i will call in to either return the jacket or buy another MOUNTAIN HARDWEAR jacket.I am sure it will be to buy. Cheers ROLAND IN A VERY CHILLY ENGLAND.

Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED