Outdoor Research Sombriolet Sun Hat

$39.95 - $40.00
Prices vary.
37268

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Sep 16 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Sep 16 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Ground only within 48 contiguous U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

Outdoor Research Sombriolet Sun Hat Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5

90 Reviews

Pros
  • Lasts forever: 9
  • Great design: 38
  • Build quality: 35
  • Performance: 27

Cons
  • Bad design: 1
  • brim flips up wind.: 1
  • flopy brim: 1
  • none -- yet: 1
Comfort: 5 / 5
Quality: 4.9 / 5
Durability: 4.9 / 5

90 Ratings & Reviews

Great Hat
June 06, 2008

I use this hat for sailing (both racing/cruising). Great for keeping sun off face, neck & ears. Brim doesn't stay real well in good winds, but still better than ball cap. Also, I wouldn't want to wear a heavier duty hat to deal with the wind since it would be heavier and hot. Stay cool, stay in the shade, pack it, whatever. Also comes in real people sizes. Works ok to keep light rain out of your eyes as well.

Another great hat!
May 04, 2009

Well, I'm off and running! My first hat was the Nimbus Sombrero and I loved it. We've had lots of rain this spring in the mid-Atlantic states and this hat has kept me dry. I liked it so much I decided to buy a Sombriolet Sun Hat for myself and a Women's Oasis Sombrero for my girl. We're planning a trip to Texas soon and we need that sun protection. Both hats have the same quality as the Nimbus Sombrero. We are very impressed!

great for calm conditions
April 16, 2009

I bought this as a kayaking hat, mainly for sun protection. In the wind the brim blows up and therefore does not shield your face from the sun. I will continue to use it until I find a better solution. Fit, quality and packability is all excellent.

Functional and Comfortable
September 15, 2008

This hat is very useful. It keeps the face and neck protected without getting in the way of your vision or movement. It stays on in a somewhat brisk wind. It keeps the head cool and dry and is overall comfortable (a big improvement over other hats I've owned). It also packs well.

Love my Sombriolet !
August 23, 2008

I love this hat...it is just as described...light, airy, brim doesn't obscure your vision and I especially love that I can adjust size. For a lady your hat size changes depending upon your hairstyle for the day...just cinch it down or open it up. I only use chin strap on really windy days.

A Terrific Sun Hat!
February 26, 2009

I spent a lot of time reading reviews of various hats before buying Sombriolets for my husband and myself. I wasn't sure it was going to fit me because the stated measurement was larger than my head, but the fact that I could adjust it, made it perfect -- and easy to separate my hat from my husband's, because mine had been cinched smaller and we could both see that when they were hanging on the hooks on the door. We were in the Galapagos where it was very warm and humid and this hat was terrific -- much cooler than the normal baseball style caps we enjoy wearing in cooler weather. I can't find a single negative comment about the hat -- it's well worth the money and does everything that is described.

So far so good
March 10, 2009

I bought two of these hats for our upcoming trip to Peru. Not having any experience in buying these types of hats I was relying on the description provided and the reviews. I must say that so far I am not disappointed! The sizing chart was accurate and fit the two of us perfectly. The hats are light weight and easily stored in our backpacks, or hanging on the outside of the packs. The brim covers both our face and the back of our necks. Can't wait to get them to Machu Picchu.

Great Hat
June 06, 2008

I use this hat for sailing (both racing/cruising). Great for keeping sun off face, neck & ears. Brim doesn't stay real well in good winds, but still better than ball cap. Also, I wouldn't want to wear a heavier duty hat to deal with the wind since it would be heavier and hot. Stay cool, stay in the shade, pack it, whatever. Also comes in real people sizes. Works ok to keep light rain out of your eyes as well.

Function and Style
March 30, 2009

Great hat!! Utilize this hat for all my coaching needs. It's like a stetson on the pitch. Keeps my noggin cool and the sun off my face and neck. The hat keeps it's shape w/ the brim piping, but any winds over 20+ and the brim is flopping a bit.

Excellent ventilation and durable construction
July 17, 2008

Outdoor Research manufactures great products and the Sombriolet Sun Hat exemplifies their standards. The hat has great ventilation and construction. Easy to care and wash. Wide brim offers great sun protection. Good looking and comfortable.

Excellent ventilation and durable construction
July 17, 2008

Outdoor Research manufactures great products and the Sombriolet Sun Hat exemplifies their standards. The hat has great ventilation and construction. Easy to care and wash. Wide brim offers great sun protection. Good looking and comfortable.

Page: 1, 2
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED