Patagonia Men's Down Sweater

$218.95
31986

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 17 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 17 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5

110 Reviews

Pros
  • Build quality: 62
  • Performance: 53
  • Great design: 52
  • Ease of use: 37

Cons
  • Wears quickly: 2
  • Cost: 11
  • Bad design: 1
  • i would buy a seperate nylon bag to stuff the ves: 1
Comfort: 5 / 5
Quality: 4.8 / 5
Durability: 4.4 / 5
Warmth: 5 / 5
Water Protection: 4 / 5
Fit: 3.3 / 5

110 Ratings & Reviews

ComfortShoes: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WarmthWear: 5 / 5
WaterProtectionJackets: 4 / 5
Ski2Be
from Nebraska
35-44 yrs

One of my favorites....
October 01, 2010

Bought as a warm base layer for skiing. The "sweater" did not disappoint. It kept me warm on the lifts...probably a little better than a comparable weight fleece layer. Very deceptive lightness and no issues with durability so far; construction quality seems excellent. One of the few pieces of clothing of mine that my wife is jealous about ! She took to wearing the jacket around the house...it's very comfortable and soft despite being waterproof etc. I'm 6'2 and XL was a good fit.

Pros: Build quality, Performance

what a sweater!
November 15, 2009

On both the Altrec and Patagonia websites, this "sweater" has a HUGE number of 5-star reviews ... with nothing but 5-star reviews ... and for good reason: it's really THAT awesome! Not bulky like a conventional down jacket, super-light, but toasty. I actually like it indoors in our as-yet unheated house (it has to get to the mid-40s inside before our heat goes on). What other down garment can be worn indoors like that, and still be effective outdoors? By the way, the fit is the classic Patagonia "regular" fit.

Warm, high quality, athletic fit
November 24, 2008

Wear under a hooded shell. Warmth without a lot of bulk. I'm 6'2" and wear a 42 Long suit. The fit of a size large is tailored, but nicely roomy. Sleeves sufficiently long for my 36" arms. My waist is a 36", but a 38" or maybe a 40" could wear. Quality construction like my other Patagonia stuff.

Great Jacket - Generous sizing
April 23, 2010

I have had my eye on this jacket for at least two years and finally got it! Great Jacket that is super light and packable. NOTE: the sizing is a little generous compared to Arcteryx. I am 5'9", 165lbs and the Size Medium is roomy. Hope that helps.

these are great jackets.
January 04, 2010

I have 2, green and black, and I just got one for my husband. They run generously. My husband is between a lge and xl and the lge was great and the sleeves were plenty long. The men's fits a bit boxy.

Great light down jacket
August 18, 2010

Very packable jacket (Nano pullover is even better), just be careful or feathers will be everywhere. 6'1" 185lbs and the large fits great. Comfortable to 20 degrees F.

Polar
top100Contributor

Extremely warm and extremely light..well worth the money
January 07, 2010

I've own this jacket now for two months and it has been the best down jacket that I've ever owned! First, were I live we get a lot of bone-chilling cold winds and weather 20 degrees to negative below zero temps and this down jacket works amazing well. The best part about this jacket is that it's NOT has puffy and bulky has traditional down jackets. Instead it has the highest quality and warmth-to-wight ratio of down (800 fill)! Truly the best and I highly recommend to all!!!!

Great Jacket
March 09, 2010

Another fine product from Patagonia. Easily packable and lightweight, but is extremely warm and windproof. It's slender enough to fit under layers of outerwear and also works great as a windproof/waterproof shell. I wasn't so sure it would be so warm at first glance, but after trying it out in 20 degree weather - it performed beautifully. Great Jacket!

Super Light Super Warm
October 11, 2009

I was looking for something not as thick and bulky as my regular down jacket and this certainly fits. It is so light I had trouble believing it would be warm but it really is very warm for all but the heart of winter. The fit is good and I can put it on over a fleece vest and be super warm.

MikeCycle

Exactly what I was looking for!
October 28, 2009

This jacket meets my expectations for a versitile "do most" jacket: Warm enough for general cold weather (above 20-25 degrees) and comfortable in cool weather b/c it holds just the body heat that is needed to keep you warm. It is very light weight, compact and the material is thick enough to keep the down feathers in the jacket. It zips itself into it's interior pocket and can be stuffed into a side or sub pocket of a pack. It's functional and looks great - I frequently get comments on it from people who say that is the jacket they want. Good cut for those who don't like a tight fit. The low bulk also makes it a great insulating jacket under a shell. Very satisfied overall.

Light, Packable, Perfect
April 21, 2010

Easily stowed. Having a few of these types of jackets really brings down the weight of the carry on luggage. The wife and the kids have the nano puff series.

fantastic jacket
April 12, 2010

great jacket. 3 people in my family have it!

Yuong
top10Contributor

great!
December 22, 2009

It is extremely warm in very cold weather but light enough to wear when temps are in the 40s. It is also the lightest jack I've ever owned and looks great--it is not bulky and fits great. I love that it compresses into it's own pouch.

Perfect weight!
December 22, 2008

This outer garment is perfect by itself down to 32 deg F and perfect down to 0 deg F with a shell. It is lightweight and stows in minimal space.

great jacket
December 10, 2007

light weight, versatile and lots of compliments on its looks

Light but warm
June 08, 2010

I bought this jacket for my husband after purchasing one of my own. The jacket is light yet very warm! It's great for backpacking!

Toasty.
April 04, 2010

My wife bought one first and raved, so I followed her up with one of my own. Fits well underneath a waterproof jacket, then packs easily and is lightweight if no longer needed: four thumbs up!

awesome!
April 17, 2010

My boyfriend loves this jacket. It's lightweight and very warm, perfect for all of the windy weather we get here during the winter.

Excellent Product
February 19, 2009

Lightweight, comressible, warm 6', 190, 16/35 and the large fits well with room for layering. Probably cut a little bigger than a "sweater", but not so much so that it feels large...by contrast, i also purchased a Marmot Zeus which i also liked but it was just too big in the body for what i was looking for. Sturdy enough for non-abusive everyday wear, but dont expect to go through brush or rub up against something abrassive or jagged without the jkt coming out on the losing end. That is why we have hardshells. Havent gone below 30 with it yet, but at 30 with a shirt/midwght baselayer and it is quite warm.

XXL was too small around the waist and lacked a two-way zipper!!
August 20, 2010

Typical quality Patagonia construction and good design. Compared with other XXL products I have bought from Patagonia the down sweater was tight at the waist. It would have worked for me if it had a two-way zipper. I planned to wear it with my fly fishing waders. However, when sitting it simply didn't work for me. Unfortunately I had to return the item and will now immediately go on a diet!!

Warm, weighs nothing, and looks good - what more could you want?
November 30, 2009

I don't know why I waited so long to get one of these - there's nothing quite like it. It tends to run large - I usually take a medium in most things, but a small in this fits me perfectly.

Great Coat!
July 16, 2010

My husband bought this coat two years ago and uses it most every day. He wears it backpacking, about town, and to work. It has held up well, and he gave it to our son and bought a new one!

Very nice down jacket. True to size.
September 08, 2010

Just purchased this jacket and it is just what I expected. Very light and packable. I am waiting for cooler weather to see how well it performs.

Perfect for in and outdoor comfort
February 16, 2010

Bought this for my husband; born and raised Alaskan who wears down all the time--inside, outside, wherever. He loves this down sweater. It is so nice looking too, not bulky like so many of the other brands.

It's so light and warm!
October 26, 2009

I got this jacket for my husband, and he loves it! It's super lightweight and warm. He also like the color 'Phosphorous' It's like a yellow, but not too bright and too dark.

AKAaron
top100Contributor

Awesome Jacket
November 10, 2009

This jacket is perfect, not only does it provide optimal warmth, but its also the lightest jacket out there. Being 100% recycled from plastic bottles and such, you can feel relief knowing you aren't harming the environment. It also has a regular fit, so the arms are nice and long and there is definitely room for layering. All in all, being windproof this is not only a good outwear piece but an awesome insulating layer. I strongly recommend this one if you don't like bulky down jackets.

Extremely lightweight
April 21, 2009

This down sweater is being worn by my husband as he hikes the Appalachian Trail from Georgia to Maine. So far, he's been pleased with the warmth and light weight. He likes the drawcord at the hem and the interior pocket that allows the jacket to be compressed into a small package.

Cher
top250Contributor

Great Quality, Lightweight!
May 25, 2009

This jacket is all he was looking for. Lightweight, easily packed, great color and just the right thing for backpacking!

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
Warmth: 4 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
axes

October 16, 2010

great jacket, great color,that I have been looking for [Rockwall] Cannot wait for weather and snow.This jacket is perfect for all kinds of weather. I have one that is 5 years old and I wanted to change colors.

Pros: Great design, Build quality
top50Contributor

Outstanding
March 26, 2010

This jacket is everything it claims it is: warm, light, packable. The waist has a cinch cord, and there is a zipper flap to keep wind out there, but no adjustable cuffs, just an elastic closure. It looks puffier in the pics than it actually is, keeps a low profile. For anyone out there wondering about the "fill power" of down, the higher the number the better quality it is, meaning it takes less ounces of down to get the same warmth rating. 800-fill is at the top.

THE BEST EVER DOWN COAT
May 31, 2010

I bought this in December and wore it for the whole winter and it was AMAZING. The jacket is very well made and it fills great on. The best part of the jacket is that it has 800 down fill which makes the jacket extremely warm without all the bulky filling! I wore this jacket with a t-shirt in 10 degree weather I was still very warm! The fit is loose, so buy the actual size that you normally wear!

Page: 1, 2
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
    Live Chat
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED