The North Face Base Camp Duffel

$119.95 - $144.95
Prices vary.
113118

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 21 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 21 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

The North Face Base Camp Duffel Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5

195 Reviews

Pros
  • Great design: 9
  • Ease of use: 7
  • Performance: 6
  • Build quality: 46

Cons
  • Cost: 8
  • Bad design: 1
  • initially bulky: 1
  • needs accessory pockets: 1
Quality: 4.9 / 5
Durability: 4.9 / 5

195 Ratings & Reviews

a bit big, but handy
July 20, 2008

Overall, this bag is great. Durable, can be carried various ways, and simple. The XL is a bit big, though. So chose your size wisely.

The Pelican of duffle bags!!!!
June 20, 2009

I have worked all over the world and heavy pelican cases have been my luggage of choice. Now I have a lighter super tough replacement that I like much better!!!

EagleScout156

It got me through 17 Days in Europe
December 27, 2009

This bag is incredible. Two summers ago I bought this bag right before a 17 day trip through 7 countries in Europe (France, G. Britain, Italy, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, and Lichtenstein). The bag was durable and held everything I needed. The sinch-straps helped condense the sometimes protruding sides, leaving more room for other bags under the bus. Also the backpack straps came in handy during long treks across airports and two and from hotel rooms. This really is the ultimate bag. Take it from me.

Great
April 26, 2005

This will hold everything I need for my trip to Tibet. Since luggage is limited, this is great. I will let you know the durabilty when return.

Awsome !
February 12, 2008

Very large and durable. Already used it to travel by car to northern america and back by aircraft.

Excellent duffel
September 26, 2008

I do a lot of sailing and you can't take hard luggage on a boat. So, the North Face duffel is excellent for that. I now own 3 different sizes of this duffel and love the shoulder straps. Makes it much easier to handle this bag - excellent quality just a little pricey.

Fantastic
February 16, 2008

This bag is all you need. It is lightweight and collapses easily. The backpack straps make it easy to carry around. It's also really tough and lasts a lifetime.

FABULOSO
April 13, 2005

Excelente bolso no solo por su gran capacidad de carga, sino por la calidad de sus materiales, el diseño, los detalles. Sin dudas uno de los mejores del mercado en su segmento. 100% recomendable.

F.A.B
November 18, 2009

What can I say about this iconic piece of kit. To a greater extent 'waterproof' but also robust. Great for packing into car boots/trunks where a rigid case will not do and can be carried as a rucksack/bergan when both hands are needed. All that and in a variety of colors too so you can pick one to go with your eyes ;-)

Awesome Bag! Love it!
January 07, 2009

I purchased this as an addition to the Large duffel that I bought a while back. I really like the (medium)size for a weekender or carry-on. You can really cram a lot into it and its very durable/wipeable. With North Face, you really can't go wrong.

Gretel

The BOMB!
May 13, 2009

This duffel is so simple yet has all the convenient features you could hope for. The shoulder/backpack straps makes for easy transport vs. awkwardly lugging it by your side, and the D-zip flap gives effortless access to everything inside. I have the XL, which isn't too big and the black topo is a fun way to spice up black luggage. The only way the bag could be better is if it had an internal pocket.

Great Bag
June 05, 2009

I have the XL duffel and it is great i can fit all my clothes and my ski clothes for college all in one duffel bag, this is what I was really looking for in a duffel bag.

Good Duffle, no compression straps
June 04, 2009

Good duffel. Rugged. Not waterproof, but far better than most when it rains. Would be improved by having compression straps across the lid. I have 4 of these - enough said.

Excellent Product, even better service
September 20, 2006

I run a stock operation for a large national park. I tried to purchase these particular bags from another vendor and was pandered too. Altrec supplied the duffles fast and they are now traveling through the seirra's on mule back. Great Product.

Just what I was looking for!
March 02, 2010

So- I have been looking for a strong, waterproof, sturdy duffle that will not put me in the poor house. I found it! This bag is easy to access, large, and we are hoping to put it on the safari rack on our car - I got one for me, one for my husband. We also know it will be great for the boat. I was so impressed by the quality, the easy use, with the back back straps, that I am buying two more for my kids - so they can lug their own stuff through the airport! We bought the xl - it is great for a week long trip out west - but even for our weekend get aways to VT mountains - it can hold ski boots, and helmets and all the other gear we need. High ratings- strongly recommend.

GREAT PRODUCT, VERY CONFORTABLE TO DRIVE
August 31, 2005

I RECOMMEND THE DUFFEL BAG OF TNF. THE MATERIAL IS VERY STRONG, AND THE CAPACITY ENOUGH TO TRANSPORT HEAVY EQUIPMENT IN THE MOUNTAIN. A PRODUCT FOR ALL LIFE. AND THE ALTRECS DELIVERY SERVICE VERY QUICK AND EFFICIENT (LESS 1 WEEK TO ARGENTINA).

Best Duffel Bag I Have Ever Owned!
November 18, 2009

This bag has lived up to all the hype. Every traveler should own one.

Excellant
June 24, 2006

This bag is brilliant, very durable. I can can get loads of stuff in it.Being a woman, that's a lot of stuff. Its very easy to carry.Recommended to anyone for any type of travel.The first place I've taken it to is Ekateringburg, Russia-Siberia

Top notch
May 08, 2009

After ordering this I bought an REI for a cheaper price thinking that I would just return this when it came in but one look at the bombproof material and construction in this bag, plus the little extras like shoulder straps and the extra compartment in the lid made me change my mind. This product is a keeper.

Best duffel bag
December 17, 2009

Well made, durable must-have bag. Husband loves it. Would purchase again.

bodasafa
top250Contributor

Awesome Bag!
October 29, 2009

Outstanding, durable bag ready for any adventure. I have used it on numerous camping trips to Joshua Tree and snowboarding excursions in Tahoe. The medium size fits just about everything.

Large Base Camp Duffel
March 05, 2008

Excellent purchase. Just took it on a 5 day trip to Snowbird and it was perfect. It was a little tight with ski boots but did the job. The backpack was great for airport travel!

great bag
September 30, 2008

This bag works really well for someone who travels alot and has demanding requirements for hauling their gear. I have one that has been to the South Pole and back a couple of times, far into the wilds of Alaska and across country on the back of a motorcycle. They work great for a trip log too, a Sharpie records each trip I take on it. The opening allows for effective packing, it's comfortable to carry and extremely durable plus pretty waterproof. I give them as gifts to fellow adventure travelers.

Not waterproof?
July 11, 2005

Ill admit, I just assumed that a bag like this was waterproof (now that Ive re-read the spec, I see that nowhere is it described as being waterproof or even water resistant for that matter. I bought this very big bag (the size is perfect!) for the back of my motorcycle (BMW GS1200) to hold my gear. On my first trip, I got rained on (very heavy.) Later in the afternoon, when I was setting up camp, I was horrified to see that everything inside the bag was soaking wet. The darn thing looks like its made out of rubber, how could it NOT be waterproof? It is very durable otherwise, has a plethora of anchor loops for bungy-ing other things to it, and has a great inside mesh pocket for keeping track of small items. Just be sure that anything you put in the bad first gets put in a some waterproof container!

Wonderful
May 31, 2009

Best price, rapid delivery. Can't beat these folks. Have had several of these bags. Have taken them all over the world and they are still going strong. Also nice that they are easily found by airlines of developing countries that lose them. Now, give them as graduation gifts. Always a hit

top50Contributor

Ballistic
December 20, 2006

This bag is huge, it holds everything. It is incredibly tough, you could haul it up a wall. I like dragging it through airports.

no long strap
January 14, 2008

really classic design , but there should be a long strap to make it shoulder bag.

The Hummer of gear bags
February 11, 2006

I got this bag for a ski trip... wheelies and ski resorts are kina a bad thing. I go everything but the skis in this bag for a week of skiing, and it was even comfortable to wear on my back as a backpack. Well thought out straps / zippers... I'm quite happy

durable, well made, tough and big....
November 23, 2009

Looks great and works well as a backpack...

I cant get too excited about a bag...
January 08, 2008

...but I bought this duffel in Cham and it does the job very well indeed. Very nice bit of kit

Kytas

Does the duty
February 19, 2008

Great bag for stuffing lots of stuff! Could use some additional internal compartments and shoulder straps could be built stronger but overall gets the job done.

it could be love.
March 17, 2008

Used it in Maine last weekend--seemed waterproof to me---no snow got in, kept it uncovered in the back of a pick-up for 500 miles some of it in a constant rain--stayed dry. Great size. I attached hiking poles and snowshoes to the bag. It could be love.

Nice equipment
July 09, 2005

I just got back from a trip where I used the Northface Duffel and it worked spectacular. These bags are awesome. For clarification let me state a point: this bag is only water resistant NOT waterproof. I called Northface myself. In me being fussy, I would like to see the duffel waterproof but it is a really nice duffel. In addition, Altrec was running a sale on the XL Duffels recently as I paid only $107.97 (TOTAL) for my yellow duffel. That is a great price! What can I say.happy, you BET!

Does it what it says! And then some!
April 24, 2005

I owned three duffle bags prior to the TNF bag - and now the others are redundant! This bag has been to Africa, the Middle East and Asia and it's soon going to N. America. It has stood up to two years of abuse already - when I first bought it I packed the bag and decided to trample all over it - just to see!! I have no complaints about the bag, a little pricey but well worth it! Trust me you won't regret it!

Over 12 years of use and still looks brand new!
January 03, 2010

I can't say enough about my XL base camp duffel. I have literally tried to beat this bag up with countless ski, beach, football and hiking trips. It is perfection. You won't regret buying this bag!

Good bag with many uses
October 16, 2005

I have two of these Base Camp Duffel Bags and have used them for traveling as well as moving. There rugged construction makes them well suited for regular abuse. The PVC coating kept my gear dry in the middle of a monsoon thunderstorm in Arizona while the bags were in the back of my truck. The only downfall is the price, but then again you get what you pay for.

durable bag for the avid adventurer...
October 16, 2009

Very versatile for throwing all your gear for camping, riding, etc. Water-resistant but not waterproof. I wouldn't strap it on top of your roof rack. Otherwise not too bling bling with the name on both sides.

paullang

Duffel is as advertized.
June 18, 2009

Bag is very well built and was delieverd quickly.

Great Bag
June 15, 2009

Very sturdy bag.

Holds everything (including the kitchen sink)
March 07, 2005

I’ve wanted this bag for a long time and finally broke down and purchased it. It holds everything you need for a 3-month expedition to a long weekend multi-sport adventure. It’s great!!!

Great Bag
June 04, 2009

This duffel is a superb example of what an expedition duffel should be. It is durable, holds a lot of gear, and is comfortable when using the shoulder straps. The mesh interior pocket is good for storing and locking up things while on the trail. Only negative, is that because of it looks so durable some airlines tend to treat it with less respect.

the best
May 19, 2006

this is the best duffel bag on the market ive found excellent sizes weights and colours strong material and nice big zips

Awesome piece of equipment
June 19, 2006

This bag is great for day trips out to the park/ beach/ or around town to pack all those just in case items. It's damn sharp looking too and gets more compliments then most of my wardrobe. Working outdoors you don't have to worry about a sudden change in the weather due to the bags waterproof properties

OregonDoug
top1000Contributor

Very Durable Bag
May 01, 2005

I own the large and extra large North Face bags. Great bags to use when traveling. Great service at Altrec.Com.

FABULOSO
April 13, 2005

Excelente bolso no solo por su gran capacidad de carga, sino por la calidad de sus materiales, el diseo, los detalles. Sin dudas uno de los mejores del mercado en su segmento. 100% recomendable.

I love mine
October 04, 2009

I have a large North Face duffel that I take with me everywhere I go. It's bomb proof and just looks cool. The inside of the bag is a waterproof coating, the same as the outside of the bag, that keeps your other things dry if there is something damp in the bag with them (as long as it's not touching other things, obviously). The large version can hold enough clothes for 4 or 5 days or you can tighten the straps on the bag to securely hold what you need for a day or two. Only those who need some seriously huge luggage need apply for the XL version.

This bag rules!
September 15, 2005

A must!

simply great
September 28, 2006

It's an outstanding duffel... a great piece of luggage. Durable construction, great design (compression straps, backpack straps), monster zippers... it's "flippin sweet".

Better than your grandfather's duffel bag.
February 10, 2006

No problem finding this bag on the airport baggage claim. It's sticks out. You could carry it as a bag or wear it like a backpack...cool!

Aviatorruss

Awesome
October 04, 2009

I've owned the M, L and XL versions for over 5 years now...rugged, dependable and really the best duffel I've ever owned. Multiple uses from camping in Colorado, snowboarding in Tahoe, airline travel back/forth to Japan, flying all over the US in my plane and everything in between. Awesome.

Can't go wrong
December 19, 2009

This bag is bombproof. Great for travel, and the alpine style straps make it easy to carry for longer distances even when heavy. I highly recommend getting a least one of these bags.

survived the porters of kilimanjaro
March 06, 2006

This is an awesome bag. My only regret is that I bought 1 XL and 1 large, when really I should have just bought 2 XL--these duffels are HUGE but worth it, they took quite a beating on my various trips and the material is rugged, seams are strong. definitely recommend.

Works Extremely Well For Us
November 12, 2009

I purchased a medium-sized bag in yellow for me and my wife's weekend travels, and so far (we've had the bag for about a year) it's worked extremely well for us. The medium-sized bag holds pretty much everything we travel with, including shoes, the wife's hairdryer and makeup bag, etc.leaving only our hanging clothes outside the bag. I've used the bag for myself on a business trip, and it held everything, including my hanging clothes, I used for the entire trip. We picked the yellow color to help easily identify it in airports (which we haven't flown with it yet), but it also works great when hunting for it in the dark at a campsite or in a darkened SUV. Overall, we're completely satisfied in the quality of this rugged bag, and would definitely buy another should the need arise.

Just right!
November 29, 2005

I got this for my daughter to take to South Africa for a study abroad program. The size is just right for her to carry, while wheeling a rolling duffle.

Awsome bag
October 29, 2008

Bought this bag for a cruise. It was great for bring back thoes little extras. Side straps to take up slack when needed. Water proof. Heavy duty material. Looks like me and this bag will be around for a good long while.

Yellow, Large...28 days SE Asia
December 30, 2009

Many have commented on the durability...I agree. After numerous transfers from planes to buses on a couple of boats and on my back while sitting second man on the back of a Motorcy...my bag would probably scrub up and look new. While do not expect it to be waterproof...my stuff stayed dry. All I did was divide with some trash bags as I packed. I was able to fit more then enough in my bag for the 28 days, although tropical weather clothes. But on return...with not-so-neatly packing and additional stuff purchased I still used the compression straps and was under the 20kg mark. The alpine straps are great and one of my main reasons for purchase. I will buy another...my only question is should I get the XL for my next trip? Buy it...you will not regret the purchase. Another note, the yellow really stood out while standing at the baggage carousel.

North Face Duffle
July 05, 2008

The NF duffle was a graduation gift for an extreme nephew. I purchased him the large in yellow as you cant loose it among a crowd. I purchased the medium black for my daughter who works for Red Bull and is a Professional Ski Instructor. I have the XL yellow that has been all over transporting diving gear, motorcycle trials gear and ski gear. The zippers are finally getting loser after 7 years; I expect this bag will last my life time. I have a picture of my 8 year old son zipped up in the bag. Maybe high end on the price scale, but this bag rocks & rocks!

Great Multi-use bag
October 09, 2009

My bag is primarily used for skiing, mountain biking and other outdoor recreation. However, I have also used it when traveling with our children -- I will throw their bags inside mine and be able to haul all our belongings in one large pack. If on the fence, I would definitely go with the XL as you can make smaller, if needed.

top500Contributor

great duffel bag
July 19, 2005

Great duffel bag, plenty of space, I use it mostly for wet windsurfing gear. Yellow color makes it easy to spot in the airports baggage claim carousel.

Strong as a horse!!!
June 02, 2006

A necessity for any traveller. Built to withstand the wears and tears of any camping/hiking trips. I've had mine for 2 years now and it's still my number 1 choice!

Big Bag !!
April 04, 2005

This is my second TNF Duffel (L and XL) and all I can say is that this one packs ALL your week long (or more) stuff. Has great color & design, has many alternatives of handlind it, carrying it or towing it, rugged material, weatherproof, etc. One of my best TNF accquirements. Took it to a 10 day trip into Patagonia and no matter dust or rain , it kept all my belongings as they were at my closet back home. A little pricey but it sure is worth the extra cash.

Great Bag!
October 10, 2005

I took this thing on a trip the day after I got it in the mail and it is amazing. Huge packing capacity and rugged construction make for what I consider to be the best duffel out there

Had to return the product
August 14, 2006

Love to review the product, but unfortunately had to return it. I will say that the shopping experience at Altrec is as good as I have ever had online. Very impressive!

Better than expected
March 16, 2010

Very impressed with this Big sturdy duffel. It was bigger and better than expected.

BASE CAMP DUFFLE
November 10, 2007

THE BAG IS SWEET, ONE OF THE BEST MADE PRODUCTS I HAVE SEEN IN A VERY LONG TIME. ZIPPER IS A LITTLE TOUGH BUT I AM STILL RBEAKING IT IN. WOULD RATHER HAVE IT THAT WAY AND BE MADE LIKE IT IS THAN ANY OTHER WAY. I HAVE NO, NO, NO COMPLAINTS. YOU WONT FIND A BETTER, MORE INDISTRUCTABLE DUFFLE.

Bomb Proof
March 14, 2005

This is an awsome duffel...Bomb proof construction. I really like the shoulder straps that let you carry it like a backpack.

North Face Quality & Functionality
February 03, 2007

What one would expect from the North Face. Very tough and durable, and comfortable to carry.

Not waterproof?
July 11, 2005

I’ll admit, I just assumed that a bag like this was waterproof (now that I’ve re-read the spec, I see that nowhere is it described as being “waterproof” or even “water resistant” for that matter. I bought this very big bag (the size is perfect!) for the back of my motorcycle (BMW GS1200) to hold my gear. On my first trip, I got rained on (very heavy.) Later in the afternoon, when I was setting up camp, I was horrified to see that everything inside the bag was soaking wet. The darn thing looks like it’s made out of rubber, how could it NOT be waterproof? It is very durable otherwise, has a plethora of anchor loops for bungy-ing other things to it, and has a great inside mesh pocket for keeping track of small items. Just be sure that anything you put in the bad first gets put in a some waterproof container!

Such a great bag I bought it in different sizes.
March 15, 2010

Indestructible, hate checking luggage and I can grab this bag and throw it around an airport without worries

kierajane

Great Product
March 13, 2010

I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a well built water resistant travel duffel.

All-Star
January 31, 2008

This bag is so durable and great. I use it to travel...I use it to camp I use it to store stuff in my closet when I'm not out and about. By far one of the best duffle/backpacks on the market. I highly recommend also buying the smaller one to complete the set. Boys you will never use a suitcase again if you buy the set. Unless your wife makes the decisions.....which I won't touch on right now. Get your credit card out, you won't be disappointed!!!

Great Advertised!!
August 18, 2007

Plenty of room. Awesome bag. Easy to carry. Made it thru 6 airports no problem. carry straps help me move all my gear without a hitch. Only problem I found was, it was too easy to fit in extra stuff. Backpack trip into Colorado Wilderness was a snap. I read above advice about water proofness?? So,I packed everything in waterproof bags. Durable and reliable. It will carry whatever you need with ease. Great Buy!!

Roomy and easy to carry
May 24, 2007

I bought the XL and it is big enough for all my travels. The backpack straps make carrying a full load a breeze, and the bag is tough enough to withstand the not-so-gentle care meted out by airport baggage handlers.

Huge bag and tough to boot!
March 14, 2005

I guess the name says it all...North Face are renowned for top quality and function. The bag is massive. To give some idea: I read one review that said a guy had managed to get his girlfiend inside. I did the same with my younger brother. He's 14 and 5'5", and there was still room to spare. If you're looking for a gear bag that will hold it all and last forever...this is the bag for you!

GREAT PRODUCT, VERY CONFORTABLE TO DRIVE
August 31, 2005

I RECOMMEND THE DUFFEL BAG OF TNF. THE MATERIAL IS VERY STRONG, AND THE CAPACITY ENOUGH TO TRANSPORT HEAVY EQUIPMENT IN THE MOUNTAIN. A PRODUCT FOR ALL LIFE. AND THE ALTREC´S DELIVERY SERVICE VERY QUICK AND EFFICIENT (LESS 1 WEEK TO ARGENTINA).

Durable is the Name
November 09, 2007

Best duffel I have seen. Holds up to airport handling. Says it all.

Great hard wearing bag
November 02, 2005

Great hard wearing bag. Practical size and tough enough to withstand airport porters.

Nice equipment
July 09, 2005

I just got back from a trip where I used the Northface Duffel and it worked spectacular. These bags are awesome. For clarification let me state a point: this bag is only water resistant NOT waterproof. I called Northface myself. In me being fussy, I would like to see the duffel waterproof but it is a really nice duffel. In addition, Altrec was running a sale on the XL Duffel’s recently as I paid only $107.97 (TOTAL) for my yellow duffel. That is a great price! What can I say……….happy, you BET!

Perfect
January 05, 2008

Just do yourself a favor and by one. No need to re-write what everyone else has said, they are all correct. Just BUY ONE.

Excellent Product
December 06, 2005

This base camp duffel bag is incredibly useful for travel and storage purposes as well. It is very comfortable to carry and sits snugly in my house filled to capacity when not being moved around. It is also great for camping.

Strong, durable & stylish
November 15, 2009

Love this bag - extremely strong, very thick outer PVC. Only reservation in the lack of internal compartments - there is 1 zippered pocket in the inside top & it could do with a couple of internal end pockets. Other than that it is fantastic. The white topo is very easy to identify at baggage claim.

Page: 1, 2, 3
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
    Live Chat
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED