The North Face Borealis Laptop Backpack

$88.95
155596

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 17 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 17 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

The North Face Borealis Laptop Backpack Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.7 out of 5

114 Reviews

Pros
  • Build quality: 8
  • Great design: 7
  • Ease of use: 6
  • Great value: 6

Cons
  • Cost: 7
  • carrying capacity is smaller than i expected.: 1
  • laptop doesn't fit: 1
  • only one small book pocket: 1
Quality: 4.9 / 5
Durability: 4.9 / 5
Carrying Capacity: 3.8 / 5
Weight: 2.6 / 5

114 Ratings & Reviews

Lacking in size for high school students
August 20, 2008

This is a well constructed backpack. The material, etc. is of high quality but the size of the back is not sufficient for high school students to carry their textbooks and binders in. If you are looking for a backpack that is small and will hold just a couple of books, I would recommend the borealis. My son took his to school only one day and then changed back to last year's Under Armour backpack because it is much larger.

Great for High School and Carry On
February 25, 2009

My 9th grade son needed a new backpack this year and this was his pick! There is plenty of room for books and binders and all the other HS essentials. It's also great for travel. He can carry his laptop, iPod, movies and other stuff very comfortably. The shoulder straps are wide, padded and fit great! His backpack is so cool it actually caused a little backpack envy! My other 9th grade son (they're twins)picked one out in a different color and then my 2nd grade daughter had to have one too! They all love their backpacks and I am so glad they get the job done well and are easy on their backs! Get one...you won't be sorry!

Great Versatile Bag for the City
March 29, 2009

I’ve been using this as my work backpack for a while. I don’t always bring my laptop, but it’s nice to have the padded laptop container if I need it. The laptop pocket also serves as a holder a camelbak, which I plan to use when I’m biking more in the warmer weather. The pocket can also collapse out of the way to accommodate large loads, like groceries (with a bouquet of flowers secured in the mesh outside pocket), or even my ukulele case (albeit with the head sticking out a wee bit). I’m just under five feet tall, and this pack is very comfortable to wear.

Borealis Laptop Backpack
October 29, 2008

I love my Borealis Backpack! It's perfect for school, since it fits my laptop perfectly and it's also perfect as a carry-on when traveling, and it's ideal for backpacking! I couldn't have made a better choice!

great stuff
September 04, 2009

It's very good, everything fits well in it, lots of pockets and space.

Very good choice
September 01, 2008

This backpack is great for college use. The only complaint I would have about it is a slight one. The straps hanging from the pack (used to buckle on waist) are long and sometimes inconvenient. My laptop fits very nicely in the pouch, and my laptop is in a case. The color is great too. The shoulder padding makes the backpack very comfortable and easy to carry many books in.

Perfection
January 09, 2009

Just absolutely lovin' this backpack. Perfect for my inconvenient, bulky laptop. It's really comfortable to carry around.

Great Experience
September 23, 2009

This was a great easy and effortless purchase. We are thrilled that we found your site. Thanks!

Perfect for school
September 17, 2009

I am a grad student and this backpack works great for me. It has enough room for all my stuff without being bulky.

Great Value
May 18, 2009

Great value! I love that the laptop sleeve is there, but can stretch to fit other items, making it both a laptop bag and a great day pack. Compared with other bags at over 100, I find this one just as comfortable.

Love it!
August 07, 2009

I love this pack. It works great as a school bag for high school and college students - it has pockets for a laptop, pens, etc. while still having space for a few books and a water bottle. Plus the cords on front can hold shoes or clothes. Its pretty durable too. Water resistant and easy to carry. Good buy!

Excellent pack for moderate load
February 26, 2009

This is a really nice looking all-purpose pack. It easily fits a few textbooks and a small-to-medium sized laptop with lots of electronics compatibility. It also fits a days swimming gear for an adult and a toddler. We have only used about half its features, but it's a keeper. Most laptop's fit well, though HP's dv9000 era 17 inch laptops only fit with a shoe horn... However, this is a well made bag that my wife and I (she's 5' 2") share, so it fits a variety of frames. I also like TNF's warranty.

I should have bought one years ago
December 20, 2008

Keeps my 15" Macbook Pro secure, and has plenty of other room to stow other items, like an umbrella in the waterbottle pocket. I'm very impress by the quality, and the details put into North Face products.

5
September 20, 2009

This service was awesome! I ordered the Borealis backpack, It came exactly when it was supposed to come!

Great options to choose from
August 22, 2009

Bought 3 of these for our daughters, they love them. Having the multiple color options made buying easy as the local stores didn't have as many to choose from.

hip-belt can't be tucked away
November 22, 2008

The hipbelt can not be tucked away. Although they said that the hip belt can be tucked away, it can't. Unlike the 2007 version, where it can be tucked into the inner flap. This one can't be tucked away, which is a major deal-breaker for me.

great student backpack
May 22, 2009

I bought this backpack for my daughter's high school graduation. She loves it. It holds her laptop plus tons of other must haves for a day at school, going to the gym, it even makes a great carry-on piece for traveling. The Borealis is very well-made, easy to carry, and lightweight considering how sturdy it is.

The perfect school/tramping/travel bag!
June 14, 2008

I've just recently upgraded to this pack and so far it has met all of my expectations. Currently a student with a penchant for the outdoors, I needed something that could handle both a laptop and heavy notebooks but also double as a daybag for hiking, cycling, traveling etc. Shoulder straps are super comfy and the back is adequately padded so you don't feel the bag contents digging in. It's a compact bag yet deceivingly roomy with a great middle pocket that has multiple pockets for pens, calculator, etc and a key hook. It's perfect for the cycling commuter with the quick-drying mesh on the back which means less sweat marks (eww I know). The side pockets fit a regular sized Nalgene bottle perfectly and both have drawstrings to keep contents secure when you're on the move. I'm very pleased with this buy!

Perfect for school/laptop!
August 19, 2008

I purchased this backpack for my boyfriend who is just starting law school. He absolutely loves it! His laptop fits perfectly, and it has plenty of pockets to keep everything organized. He says it is super comfy on his shoulders, and that the weight is distrubted very evenly. I love the fact that it is a cute design, but yet fully functional. I'm planning on stealing it from him when he gets done with school.

great purchase!
July 03, 2009

The backpack has 3 zipper compartments, with the largest also having a separate section for the laptop. Bungee cords in the front let me carry my yoga mat around with me. Very happy with the purchase!

good for books
October 12, 2008

I don't think this bag offers as much laptop protection as iI would have liked on the bottom of the bag. It wards off water pretty well, but don't think it would survive a downpour. I would suggest a small laptop bag instead, so that you can put it under your jacket during downpours.

Great for college student & laptop
September 12, 2008

I purchased this backpack for my daughter who is a college freshman & she loves it! It is very comfortable & is large enough to hold her 15.4 Widescreen Laptop. I plan to purchase another North Face backpack for my other daughter who is in 7th grade.

Good quality, large, easy on back & shoulders
August 31, 2008

I purchased this backpack for my daughter and she says it feels more comfortable on her back. The side straps help to keep the weight from pulling her shoulders back. It does seem heavier when she picks it up, but once it is on her back it seems lighter. The size is good and the fabric seems stronger than others she's used.

Great Deal
August 13, 2009

Got this for my daughter in high school. She loves it and it holds everything she needs. It looks like it will hold up well!

perfect backpack
June 09, 2009

the best backpack at a reasonable price! so many compartments that it took me a while to discover them all. very well made-- they thought of everything when constructing this pack.

very satisfied
August 16, 2009

Bought this for my 14-yr old daughter. It has an attractive appearance and is quite roomy. Easily accommodates all of her many books, supplies, sweater, etc. She really loves it - and that means a lot since she is very "picky" about her school gear! She did mention that the number of straps could be less - however overall the bag has high functionality and is an excellent value.

Great school backpack
December 29, 2008

I'm able to carry my computer and a few books I need for class. I like it for college but it wouldn't work well if I had to carry all my books like in high school. Also, the hip belt can't be tucked away but it can be clipped behind instead of in front and its out of the way. It's comfortable to carry because of the wide shoulder straps.

A good day pack
January 04, 2009

This pack is extremely comfortable. It also has several convenient pockets to hold all of my daily gear. I use this backpack to carry my laptop and lunch to and from work. I also use it when I am traveling for work. It is good as a day pack but if you want to carry a lot of book or binders consider upgrading to the next size.

perfect size
March 30, 2009

This backpack is the perfect size, fits everything, and is very durable. Great for carrying a laptop.

Great for Students!!
December 25, 2008

This backpack has everything a student needs. A place to put your books whether they are large or small, there is an opening for your laptop, and there is a large pouch in the front perfect for chargers, pencils, calulators, and other gadgets you may need for your backpack. I would definetely recommend this backpack to anyone!

Great backpack for all needs
September 24, 2009

I bought this backpack for school and it's been perfect. The inside laptop pocket holds my 15-inch laptop securely and there is plenty of space for my books as well. The straps are padded and comfortable, and I like the style. Great all around backpack, perfect for anything from schoolbooks to camping gear!

Excellent value
June 01, 2009

This backpack is the ideal size and has many different uses! I am a teacher and I use it to bring my books, papers, lunch and many other items back and forth to school. I love the room and the many compartments! It is also a very comfortable backpack to wear!

Great backpack
July 05, 2009

The Borealis is a great backpack for students. It is very lightweight and durable. The Borealis is designed with different compartments and ample storage, making it easily accessible and highly sufficient for students.

borealis 2008 is excellent for college!
November 23, 2008

Great style for a reasonable price. Holds mainly a few books and a laptop. It's perfect for a daybag going to class or just walking downtown or hiking. The strap is really comfortable and i couldn't be more happy that I bought this.

Great pack!
March 21, 2009

Great pack, looks good, has tons of features and is very durable. Thick material which doesn't seem to show wear very easily and very sturdy zippers. Straps are very comfortable and highly padded. Also has a nice mesh lining on the backpad which helps improve air circulation.

Page: 1, 2
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
    Live Chat
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED