The North Face Heckler Laptop Backpack

$94.95
155598

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 17 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 17 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

The North Face Heckler Laptop Backpack Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.7 out of 5

161 Reviews

Pros
  • Build quality: 6
  • Ease of use: 6
  • Great design: 6
  • Great value: 5

Cons
  • Cost: 7
  • Bad design: 1
  • design flaw: 1
  • heavy: 1
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
Carrying Capacity: 4.5 / 5
Weight: 3 / 5

161 Ratings & Reviews

Review from HND
September 25, 2009

Its the best of gifts I ever received... Thanks abhi... HND

great back pack
November 03, 2009

I recently received the Heckler backpack in moonlight ivory and it's great. I use it for school and carrying my laptop everyday. It fits a lot of items but still fits comfortably when I wear it. The side pockets are also nice for water bottles or travel mugs. I'm very happy with the backpack and the site as well.

very comfortable
August 14, 2007

this is a great backpack, it has a ton of room, and is extremely comfortable. it also looks nice, and is very durable. it has a lot of useful things on it and is great for everything from outside activities to going to class with a laptop

great love it
October 02, 2009

Great, I loved it.

good pack, bad images
August 13, 2009

Just got the bag in the mail today. It's quality, but the color I ordered (Moonlight Ivory) is nothing what it looks like on here. I don't know if they've changed it or what, but I think I'll be returning it. On the picture, Moonlight Ivory looks mostly white with deep brown and a pretty Tiffany blue. In reality, it's a dirty cream color with dark tan outlining and a teal accent. Not what I was hoping for at all.

excellent pack
August 19, 2007

I haven't had a chance to use this pack very much, but I just went camping with it and had plenty of room for just about every piece of clothing i needed. It is very comfortable and pretty stylish. I would recommend this pack to anyone.

its a great backpack
October 09, 2007

iv had my heckler backpack for about 3 weeks and so far its great, i never run out of room for my stuff anymore and i dont get back or shoulder aches its perfect for high school

Great Backpack
November 11, 2009

I bought this for my son he says it is the best backpack.Through the years he has had many brands and styles but this is by far the best. Great workmanship!!!

Well worth the money
August 13, 2009

I recently bought this backpack and so far I am very pleased with the product. It is intended for college use. I also got a 15.4" widescreen laptop and IT FITS perfectly. This was my biggest concern. It's very comfortable and can hold a lot of books. It's got seperate areas for a cell-phone, ipod, and laptop to name a few. I removed some of the straps and now it looks great. I've always wanted a North Face backpack because of their good reputation. The quality is superb! It will without a doubt be my backpack for school and vacation for many, many years to come. Customer service on altrec was excellent too.

Great backpack
January 11, 2008

I love the feel and versatility of this pack. I did a lot of research before buying this one, and so far am very very satisfied. I'll let you know when I try it under the rain!

SO PRETTY!
August 23, 2009

I love this bag (its a little big) still great!

Too big
August 22, 2008

I am a 5' 6" woman and I just ordered the Heckler backpack but I'm going to return it because it was too big to fit comfortably on me. If it would have just been a little smaller I would have definitely kept it because it had great space and pocket storage. Just a heads up--I ordered the color New Taupe and when I got it and looked at the color it appeared closer to an olive green than a taupe, however I liked the olive green color also.

saratoga green actually looks a lot different
September 19, 2009

I ordered the Saratoga Green color expecting it to look like the one in the image above, but once I got it in the mail it was a completely different color. I was expecting a light olive green, and its actually a dark hunter green. Not like the picture at all. Disappointing that the image doesn't match the product.

roomy and practicable
July 21, 2009

great roomy backpack! I was going to buy the TNF SURGE because of the separate laptop compartment, but the small front bag on the SURGE isn't any good, so this one is better, although the main compartment could need the mentioned separate section. But it's a useful and well thought out backpack that holds a lot of stuff, it's a bit pricey though and the mesh on the back from the SURGE is better.

Pretty Awesome
September 29, 2009

It's great. I'm currently in nursing school and need to fit a TON of stuff and the backpack does a good job of fitting it all - I can fit a 3 inch textbook, my laptop, a couple folders, a spiral notebook, a pair of shoes, and a change of clothes. If it were any bigger I'd topple over. It has great support and makes it feel like I'm carrying way less than I am. It looks fab and I love it.

Thanks
January 03, 2007

The backpack was a gift for my son. He really likes the size. It's perfect for all of his school things.

excelent
November 04, 2008

this pack withstood a three day hiking trip i took it on. i dont think it was designed for that but it performed great even when it was completely stuffed with my gear. i have had it for two years and it is still in great shape and it is perfect for class too, very comfortable. all around great bag.

Best Bag Ever!!
November 30, 2009

This is the best bag I have ever owned. Extremely roomy and still light. The shoulder straps are very comfortable.

Awesome bag!
September 03, 2008

The bag is strong and sturdy with many places to store items and is extremely comfortable to wear. I just wish that the computer pouch had more padding, but its definitely worth the money!

Worth the Money!
September 14, 2008

This was a great purchase. When shopping around for a backpack for college, I was unsure about how much space there would be for my laptop. The Heckler does the job perfectly. With it's extra room in the front pockets i can fit all my books and laptop with room to go. It is also quite comfy to drag around during the day. Great for school, a day pack, or a sports bag.

a good buy
July 31, 2009

very sturdy construction, well-padded and curved shoulder straps which are nice when the bag is loaded with heavy items, plenty of straps to adjust the size of the main storage compartment- let them out to fill up the bag, or cinch them down when there's only a few things in there, but you don't want them sloshing around

Great bag
May 24, 2009

Bought this bag when i went backpacking in Costa Rica. Also used it as my carry-on for the flights. Worked wonderfully for both in the jungle and urban settings. Now plan on using it for college. Recommend it for anyone adventurer or student!

Perfect Fit for Our 8th Grader!
September 12, 2009

Our daughter is quite sure she will own this forever, or at least until college, when she might want a new one! It is a great looking pack, a lot of room, everything fits inside! This is important because she needs to carry all her books and supplies everyday at school, they have no student lockers! It is all black and looks sharp, goes with everything (most important for a teen gal!). Comfortable back padded panel, makes it easier to wear with all that stuff being carted around, and the option of the waist belt rounds out the perfectness of this pack! Love it, love it, love it - you will not be disappointed!

Great Backpack
September 20, 2009

Well made with sturdy construction--a laptop backpack that promotes good organization through multiple zippered pockets and compartments.

Sweetcyn

Great Pack for School....
August 13, 2009

This is the second Heckler backpack by The North Face I have purchased in a year. I bought one for my oldest son who is in high school last year, and I was very impressed with the quality and amount it was able to hold. My younger son (middle school) asked that I buy him the same pack...in a different color, of course. I didn't hesitate for a minute. Would highly recommend this product....it will be around for years.

super
August 20, 2008

this bag is crazy good i love it love it love it.... i am a student myself and i can fit all my goodies all you kids out there GET IT

Not ideal for a laptop.
October 19, 2009

I bought this backpack for my 15.4" laptop. I have been using other North Face products but I was not impressed on this backpack. There was no fully separated compartment for laptop and I didn't see enough protection comparing to the ones I checked. The fabric was pretty thin and it may be very durable one but it seems to me too think to carry a laptop. I recommend to check the actual backpack before purchasing it. I just examined pictures and descriptions but that didn't provide me with the whole picture of the product.

Awesome
November 03, 2009

Really comfortable and has a lot of space to put your stuff. Best backpack EVER

I love it!
December 31, 2007

I got this backpack for my boyfriend for Christmas because he was getting a new laptop and wanted a backpack to carry it in. I chose this one because it looked as great as it was functional. He loved the backpack, but his 17 in laptop wouldn't fit. So in the end, I ended up keeping this backpack and I am very happy with it. I have a Macbook and it fits great with room to spare. The straps are padded which makes it really comfortable and the bag looks and feels extremely durable as well. I know this bag will last me for a long time. I plan on bringing it to Chicago with me when I go to college next year.

Very good
September 22, 2008

Very comfortable the best north face bag I bought so far.

great backpack
August 24, 2008

I love how much room there is in the backpack for everything I need. It's perfect for school, and I can tell it will last me a long time.

GREAT
September 16, 2009

this backpack is amazing. looks great.

Love this bag
November 09, 2009

Lots of space and durable!

Great Pack
January 10, 2008

This is a great bag, i use it at school and for day trips. It is nice because it has a slot for the laptop and lots of little pockets for your school stuff. Straps are nice a padded for support.

Great Bookbag
April 22, 2009

I am a high school student, and I use this bookbag every day. It is a great product. I wish it had a few more pockets to keep things in, but other than that it is great. My laptop fits perfectly inside the laptop pouch! :)

100% Satisfied
September 09, 2009

My daughter got this back pack for college and every where she goes, she's asked where she got it. Very roomy and durable!

This is a great bag!!!
December 05, 2009

I really like this backpack!! I use it for a high school backpack and it fits all the books I need in it!!! Furthermore, it is very durable and I love the laptop compartment!! However, I wish the side drink pockets were smaller or drawstring because my Propel bottles fall out all the time. Besides that I love this backpack!!!

My daughtr loves the backpack for high school.
September 26, 2007

My daughter loves the backpack. She is in high school and carries her books all day. The bag is roomy and the look is clean. She has the Cylinder Blue bag and likes that it is not not overly masculine or feminine.

Spacious, plenty of organization
September 06, 2008

Great for my school and work needs. Easy to access and very comfortable to carry. Fits my laptop three text books and a laptop. Overall a great buy, seems like it will last a couple years as well, thus getting rid of my excuse to buy a new one next year.

Nice backpack
April 04, 2008

This bag is quite stylish, has lots of room, and very comfortable.

I love my new backpack
September 14, 2007

It came just in time for school. The color and style was exactly what I ordered. Thanks!

Heckler laptop backpack
July 31, 2009

I really love this back pack. Its padded for my laptop and there is plenty of room for my accessories.

Nice Bag--Meets All My Needs
December 08, 2009

Light and roomy. Love the computer sleeve. Great for college.

Great Backpack
November 18, 2009

Very light weight for a large backpack. Laptop compartment seems well padded. Perfect for the college student. Well constructed.

Efficient and Comfortable
January 06, 2008

Great Bookbag. My husband and I both have this bag. We are in graduate school and therefore have lots of books + it carries our laptops. We also use it when we travel for packing - perfect for carry-on luggage (lots of pockets) and when we play outdoors! Very versatile, I fully recommend!

excellent
July 24, 2008

this backpack is perfect for college. it sometimes can feel a bit bulky but if you have a lot of stuff to carry around campus it's just the right size.

Great backpack!
September 13, 2009

If you need a good backpack for school look no further! It fits a notebook computer, a couple of heavy books, an umbrella, a lunch box and it doesn't even look stuffed. Very comfortable straps no matter how heavy your load is. Solid materials and a very good quality. Received it 4 days after I have ordered it.

Great Book bag
August 20, 2009

My daughter loves her new bag. Everybody wants to know where she got it from. It really holds a lot. We have sent you several new customers already.

Color was not what I expected
April 06, 2008

Returned bag because it didn't look like the picture. The blue is an ugly blue. Functionally, the bag looks like it will be fine. If the Color was only pretty, I would have not returned it.

Great roomy backpack
September 14, 2009

The backpack is nice a roomy, which is critical to hold my ridiculously big law casebooks. It's also really comfortable and has very functional pockets and straps and whatnot.

Great service, quick delivery, great communication order status
September 29, 2009

We will definitely do business with Altrec again. Site was easy to use and made the ordering a breeze. My daughter loves her new North Face backpack.

Amazing
April 23, 2008

Love this bag..its amazing bagpack ..perfect for students. You will enjoy it

Highly Satisfied
February 09, 2008

This backpack is made from high quality materials and I can tell that it is going to last awhile. I would highly reccommend this bag to any student who is willing to make an investment in a backpack that will last. Mine holds about three 1.5 inch notebooks at one time. It has several extra carrying spaces which makes it ideal for anyone who carries school supplies, a laptop, Ipods, etc...

Great backpack
September 17, 2007

looks great, laptop case is nice, comfortable, lots of space. only downside is there is one large pocket. the others are small. overall, great backpack!

not as large as i needed
October 30, 2007

The backpack was not as large as i expected for the money. My son had a jansport and i purchased this because i thought that it would be bigger - it was double the price and the same size.

Heckler Backpack
July 08, 2009

This is a pretty decent backpack. I purchased two for both my wife and myself for our trip to Europe in a month. It has lots of stowaway room and plenty of places to put your things. There is plenty of room to place your laptop if needed and the straps on the sides and bottom help to tighten up the loose space that is not being utilized. I do wish that they had built in a zipper pocket on the inside for the random things like money, keys etc. All in all, this is a good buy! The payment and shipping were smooth from Altrec as well. I ordered and received in less than a week on the standard shipping option.

Versatile Midsize Daypack
December 05, 2007

At first I was wary but the Heckler has proven to be an excellent alternative to my beloved Borealis or trusty Redwing. I continue to discover new uses for the padded device pocket and other specialty pockets. Just wish it had a Sternum Strap.

Just what I was looking for!
January 01, 2008

Big enough for all my textbooks on a given day plus my laptop!

AMAZING!
September 03, 2008

I got this backpack for college and it meets all of my expectations. It is large enough for my laptop and all of my books that I need to carry. And on the weekends is big enough for whatever I need to fit into it for trips. Very comfortable.

large.
November 04, 2009

This backpack was a little larger than I had wanted. I needed something to put my laptop in, and this seemed like it would be perfect, but when I put it on, I felt like I had a turtle shell on my back.

impressive...
December 12, 2006

i love my bag, but it is bigger than i was hoped it would be. it is very tall. but i is comfortable, and can hold alot.

My son really likes this backpack.
July 27, 2009

My son really likes this backpack. He thinks it will be large enough. School starts in a couple of weeks, so we will know then for sure. I liked that I could get on line help and ask questions. His best friend went and ordered the same backpack!

perfect!
December 16, 2009

Got this as a gift for someone else - so much room in it - even by college student standards - I have the Northface Aurora Borealis and although I've been happy with it - I'd love one of these for myself now! the straps on the bottom and sides make it look like it's not gigantic and make it more compact for when you're not using the space while it fits just about whatever you could want - textbooks, laptop and a change of clothes at LEAST. overall, I would definitely recommend this

Every penny well spent
August 18, 2009

The delivery was extremely fast. When it arrived you could see that it was going to be a great backpack. I took it on vacation with me and it was great because it had so many pockets on the inside and it was just extremely comfortable on my shoulders.

HECKLER IS WHAT YOU NEED!
September 18, 2008

I just bought this bag and let me tell you it's the best $80 I've spent. Enough room for everything! I carry my laptop, 3 rather large books and 3 inch binder- NO PROBlem. This bag has enough pockets for anything you through at it. A true must have on college campus this fall!

Great Gear
August 24, 2009

This backpack is very roomy. It fits a 15 inch screen laptop in the sleeve with no problem. North Face products are very durable and this backpack is no different.

Great Backpack!
May 27, 2009

This backpack is perfect for school, travel, or camping. It is very spacious and is very compartmentalized. Furthermore it is very sturdy and durable, yet comfortable. If you need a backpack of this size, this is the one for you.

it rocked!!!!!!
June 19, 2007

hey, if u want to look good in a backpack pick this one and trust me you will. also it has great space for storage and the ladies love it. its a great bag for college especially when it comes to a laptop.

rocks the high school world
June 09, 2008

Everyone in my high school carries this backpack, and they all love it. Especially with amount of text books and notebooks we have, this backpack gets the job done and in a stylish manner too.

quality back pack.
September 02, 2008

Very versatile, durable and it's great for the college student. Plenty of space for books with a laptop. Plus it looks good.

great day pack
April 23, 2008

light weight lots of room and extra pockets. the only thing missing is the chest strap.. I made one up. and now it works much better for my mountain biking day trips. it's more stable with the strap.

A very good backpack
August 25, 2009

My teenage daughter loves the look of this bag in red, as it's very fashionable, but I like it for its utility and durability. For what you get, it is slightly pricey about $15-20 more and that is why I rate it at 4-stars. I wish North Face would make this backpack about 2 inches more in depth.

Great Pack
September 18, 2007

Great pack, lots of space, the biggest of all day packs, lots of compartments for stuff.

My nephew loves it
July 15, 2009

This is a great graduation present to go along with the new college laptop. My nephew, a dignified high school graduate, just walked around the house with it on--empty. He seems to like it!

Great for school and light backpacking!
January 04, 2009

After talking to a gear expert I finally decided on the heckler. It's a great backpack because it expands when I need to shove all of my school books in....or shrinks up when I need something more compact for backpacking. Overall a great pack...

Love it!
October 31, 2009

I use this backpack for school and it's so comfortable considering that I carry a lot of stuff and am at school for up to 12 hours a day. It's super comfortable and can carry A LOT of stuff! The smaller pocket in the front also comes in handy!

Heckler backpack
July 22, 2007

For the short amount of time that I have had it, I have hiked with it, biked with it and used it for summer school. I enjoy it. It has it's many uses.

Great for college
October 31, 2008

My daughter's college friends recommended this backpack to her. It is ideal for carrying books and her laptop at the same time, and the design makes it easier on her back. The accessory pockets are nice for organizing smaller items.

Love it!
October 05, 2009

Great comfortable backpack for school and hiking. I love it!

Very Satisfied
August 30, 2008

The backpack is exactly as shown in the picture and looks like it is rugged and has the potential for many years of good use.

good quality and comfortable.
February 02, 2008

i love the backpack, its comfy and light on my back. im not sure what the inside pocket is for, a laptop maybe? but i don't really use that and it takes up some of the space inside the backpack. but its still great!

Page: 1, 2, 3
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
    Live Chat
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED