The North Face Men's Apex Bionic Jacket

$148.95
86589

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 16 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 16 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

The North Face Men's Apex Bionic Jacket Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5

471 Reviews

Pros
  • Lasts forever: 97
  • Build quality: 80
  • Ease of use: 36
  • stylish: 3

Cons
  • Cost: 33
  • Bad design: 3
  • none: 2
  • a bit short legth wise: 1
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
Wind Protection: 5 / 5
Wind Protection: 4 / 5
Water Protection: 3.6 / 5
Fit: 3.1 / 5

471 Ratings & Reviews

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
chicagoboy
from Providence, RI
18-24 yrs

Stylish, but performance wise? ehhh...
October 22, 2011

I brought this out in 50 degree weather in Rhode Island with a long-sleeved t-shirt underneath, and found that a nice hoodie is warmer than this thing. I'm not sure how great this is at wind proofing but I definitely expected more warmth from it; it's rather thin. On the plus side, it looks absolutely AMAZING! extremely stylish, very manly, but it pretty much stops there.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Ease of use, Great value, Cons: Cost, Low performance
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
deadbeat
from Japan, Los Angeles
25-34 yrs

light and useful
April 30, 2011

This is the first of many more north face jackets I plan to purchase, its very comfortable, the fit is perfect for me (5"6) not to big not to small. Its warm enough for those chili windy days and kept me dry under light rain. A must buy for those looking for a light yet useful layer of warmth.

Pros: Build quality, Performance, Great value, Cons: a bit short legth wise
Comfort: 4 / 5
LuvNorthFaceSF
from San Francisco, CA

Nice Cold Weather Jacket 4 Light/Moderate Activity
January 03, 2011

I got this jacket, one for my dad and one for myself. I love it and as far as I know, my dad loves his as well. It's a nice lightweight jacket that has a bit more substance than a typical windbreaker, and for activities like jogging and walking in 40-50 degree (F) temperatures, it works great. Really stops the wind and prevents the cold from penetrating into your body. I tried wearing it in 20-30 degree weather, and the cold did get through a bit more, but with a good underlayer of fleece, it worked just fine. I am 5'10, 160lbs and got a medium size. The fit is fine, but I docked a point for comfort because there is a bit of awkward mobility on the back just underneath the shoulders...it's like a misplaced seam or something. Another minor complaint is that when you zip up all the way, the collar has the typical design to help cover up your chin, jaw and lips, but it is a bit more irritating than other coats I have. Unlike most outdoor jackets for heavier weather, there was just the right number of pockets and in the right locations. It's annoying when there are a gazillion pockets and you spend a ton of time trying to remember where you placed something. I am on an exercise program with a pedometer app on the iPhone, and a breast pocket is the best location for accuracy. This jacket delivers just that, and it's not too deep nor too shallow. The wrists have straps to tighten up to further block wind or cold intrusion up the sleeves, and are easily released when you are ready to remove the coat. Finally, I've walked in it in showers and snow flurries, and it was fine. I haven't walked in it in a downpour, but then again, I'd have an umbrella. Overall, I highly recommend this very durable and reasonably priced coat from NorthFace.

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
apex
from New England, USA
45-54 yrs

NF Apex
December 13, 2011

One of the best North Face products we own. Lives above and beyond expections!! Windblock is super fantastic, not one "down side" to this jacket. He wears it Just about daily!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
FitClothes: 4 / 5
WaterProtection: 2 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Ulthripe
from San Francisco, CA
25-34 yrs

Best Softshell Ever!
March 01, 2011

This lightweight jacket locks out wind and protects against light rain and snow. It's versatility has allowed me to use it as a windbreaker for camping, a light ski jacket, and even a casual jacket to work. I especially like the cut of this garment and the rigidity of the fabric. I have an average build (41L) and the medium fit a bit large but perfect for including a fleece or hoodie underneath.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
DanShop
from Washington

AMAZING JACKET
April 05, 2011

This jacket is amazing, it protects you from the windchill. it is lightweight, easy to remove dust, dirt, etc. This is my third item from TNF, i also like a lot the windwall jacket. I would recommend TNF products to all of you. I used this jacket during last winter in NY, and had no problems at all, it wasn´t necesary to use another jacket of fleece. It is quite expensive but it worth it!!!.

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Edge7
from Chicago
45-54 yrs

This is an awesome jacket!
January 03, 2012

Durable, stylish and warm. This is the 3rd North face jacket I have purchased and is now my favorite. It is deceptively warm for not having a lining. It is very durable and great for outdoor hiking and activites. A great wind blocking jacket too. Perfect amount of pockets. Highly recommend!

Pros: Build quality, Performance, stylish
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Chasiubao

Great Jacket
December 27, 2011

I brought this jacket because I needed a jacket for the fall and early winter down here in the South. This jacket fit the bill perfectly. The jacket is surprisingly warm enough to wear during the later winter months as well. The jacket is made of high quality material. However this jacket runs small so order up in size. Do not hesitate to contact the fine folks at Altrec to help with this purchase.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
StephStef
from Highland Park, NJ
25-34 yrs

Good Stuff
August 12, 2011

I bought this jacket for my husband - for his birthday. he absolutely loves it.. great quality, and looks really good on him. I think i might buy myself one like it...hopefully they have something similar for ladies :)

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 3 / 5
tnpapa
25-34 yrs

December 26, 2011

Very good coat! Always a good product when it says North Face on it. Altrec has one of the best prices and tells you if they have the product in stock!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Ease of use, Cons: Cost
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Durango75
from Chicago, IL
35-44 yrs

Great purchase!
May 12, 2011

The North Face Men’s Apex Bionic Jacket was a great purchase; its soft shell layers perfectly for cold days or stands on its own to keep the chill off on mild days. The fit is true and can be worn easily with or without layers underneath. I’m always willing to pay a little more for North Face as they’re one of the best quality jackets out there.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
catcit
from Wisconsin
18-24 yrs

Great jacket
April 18, 2011

This is easily the best jacket I have ever purchased. It fits great (snug but not tight) and is incredibly warm despite how thin it is. The strong shell causes water to fall right off and wind to stop completely. The big pockets are a plus although I would have preferred to have an inside pocket instead of a chest one. Overall this is a great jacket which despite being stylish doesn't skimp on the quality.

Pros: Great design
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
Eddd
from NW GA
45-54 yrs

Great soft shell !
May 07, 2011

This is my second one of these and they are my favorite soft shell's. I had the black, and got the New Taupe this time. What I like most is the great fit, light weight, and wind blocking ability. I'm 6'0, 195 lbs, and the XL fits me great. I have room for a fleece underneath. My other XL soft shell's from other manufactors are cut just a bit smaller. Love the fit of this one.

Pros: Great design, Performance, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
DEvs
from Michigan
18-24 yrs

December 29, 2011

This is quite the interesting Jacket. Im 6'3" 160lbs, so im sort of a tall, slender, lean build. For me the large fits true to size, an athletic fit right around the waist line, a tad lower most times. Sometimes it likes riding up, the front will ride up and the back collar will be sitting back and not touching my neck. If i straighten it down or walk with my hands in my pockets, all is well though. If you're picky you wont be particularly enthused about the collar not staying down, but its soft so its not that big of a deal. The insides of the jacket are akin to an Under Armour hoodie, extremely soft micro fleece i guess is the best way to describe it. The outside is where i can draw one of my only criticisms. It takes a minute to "break in" and get used to the semi-stiff wind/water resistant fabric, and the swooshing sound of it rubbing together if you're a fleece/hoddie wearer. In the first times wearing it it might bind up in spots a little and get a tad uncomfortable. I like the chest pocket, great for storing anything small you need to get to quickly, zippers work well. Although its lightweight, the jacket seems to be able to hold its own in a variety of climates, cold and snowy, to cool spring days. Unfortunately it takes me a while to buy North Face's products because im cheap, but they seem to come through and put out excellent products.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Ease of use, Cons: Cost
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
tigerzep

June 23, 2011

I use for day-to-day use at school in the foothills of the appalachians, good for rain and mild temperatures. Have also worn in manhattan in the fall/winter, was sufficiently warm for a normal day, would probably need another layer or two for dead of winter if staying outside for an extended period of time. Great jacket, worth the price and more.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Stormlover

Awesome Jacket
October 20, 2011

I love this jacket, it's warm and comfortable. I wear it all the time when the weather here in Massachusetts starts getting cold. I have worn it with only a t-shirt under it late fall and is still warm and comfortable, I have also worn this jacket with a wool sweater underneath and was warm on the inside and dry on the outside in the middle of the winter here in Massachusetts.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Spozzie
from Winston-Salem, NC
35-44 yrs

Nice!!
January 22, 2011

A very very nice lightweight yet warm and windproof jacket, I was looking for something that would keep me warm and dry while out walking and found it in this jacket. It manages to be windproof and warm but has a good weight to it that does not hinder exercise. Nicely fitted so that it conforms to the body and has no pocket flaps or cuffs to catch on anything while your arms are moving. From a fashion view its a very flattering cut and design and the Taupe Green I purchased is a great color that goes with anything. A fantastic combination of function and style and I have no hesitation is in recommending this jacket

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
Jballer
from Midwest
18-24 yrs

Great Buy
January 14, 2012

Offers great protection against rain and wind. The adjustable draw-strings at the bottom really help assure a good looking fit for all body weights and a comfortable wear all around. I felt like the sizes were fairly accurate and that overall it was a great buy!

Pros: Great design, Build quality
WindProtection: 4 / 5
DanShop
from Washington
25-34 yrs

AMAZING JACKET
April 05, 2011

This jacket is amazing, it protects you from the windchill. it is lightweight, easy to remove dust, dirt, etc. This is my third item from TNF, i also like a lot the windwall jacket. I would recommend TNF products to all of you. I used this jacket during last winter in NY, and had no problems at all, it wasn´t necesary to use another jacket of fleece. It is quite expensive but it worth it!!!.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value, Cons: Cost
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
RO34BOW
from I am actually a student ...& have a car service .
35-44 yrs

the apex bionic is very light & practical.
July 01, 2011

I work mostly outdoor, it is wonderful to find a jacket that fits me so good.I have ordered a second one for my brother!at this time my money is a bit low but ,I would like to order another one for myself in the next few months.I am 6'2" and weight 183 lbs, my arms are lenght are, 35 36" but the sleeves were still to long for me,but otherwise its a great product,I am going to exchange it for a size large.

Pros: Build quality, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 1 / 5
BP614
from North Florida
25-34 yrs

Great versatile jacket
February 13, 2011

This was my first northface purchase and it certainly will not be the last. It's not as warm as I would like but overall it does the job. I would definitely recommend.

Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
gregtwr

Versatile layer
March 05, 2011

This is a great, versatile jacket to own. I took it skiing in Tahoe last weekend, where conditions varied dramatically from saturday to sunday. I used it with multiple layers underneath in single-digit cold, and it helped block a biting wind chill. It also functions well under a heavy jacket. On Sunday the temperatures rose and I was out with just a base layer and the Apex. Both days the jacket was comfortable and flexible for outdoor activity, and kept me dry when I took more than a couple tumbles in the powder. Highly recommend. One negative is that the zipper on the chest pocket would inch down when I had my lift ticket attached.

Pros: Build quality, Performance, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 1 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
freeflyer1976

Bionic Wear
March 05, 2011

This is a great looking jacket and works well in different environments. The color variety is phenomenal. But I'm a big guy and The North Face does not make a 3xl in this jacket even though i typically take a 2xl. Either way, I would recommend this jacket to anyone..

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Ease of use, Cons: size
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 5 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
Pixie
from Bay City MI
35-44 yrs

Awesome Jacket!!
May 30, 2011

I bought this jacket for my husband and he loved it so much that I went and bought one of the ladies version for myself! Very warm, totally windproof and rainproof, good quality and great fit! You can't find a better quality jacket on the market for the price! Thank you Altrec!! We'll be back!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever
BP614
from North Florida

Great versatile jacket
February 13, 2011

This was my first northface purchase and it certainly will not be the last. It's not as warm as I would like but overall it does the job. I would definitely recommend.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Ease of use, Cons: Cost
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
NorthT
from ND
35-44 yrs

Great Jacket
September 12, 2011

Great Jacket for Fall or Spring. Love it so much, I bought it in a few different colors. Size fits perfect. Excellent quality jacket. I've never had any issues with any of my North Face jackets.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
nobusan75
top25Contributor

from California
25-34 yrs

Great TNF Jacket
February 25, 2011

I really like the north face products, mainly their jackets. I always bought their fleece, and this last winter I really thought it was time that I buy my first Softshell jacket from the north face. This was the best jacket for me in my price range, I didn't want to spend to much money on one but this one had the best design and features I was looking for. I love the fleece lining, it's a very soft fleece, really adds to the softness on the inside of the jacket along with keeping you very warm. You don't need to wear a lot under this jacket to keep you warm. A long sleeve shirt would do great. I also love a chest pocket on jackets, I like to use it to keep train tickets in there or other important things I don't want falling out in my pants pockets. It also gives me a sense of security knowing it is in a safe place in my jacket. I like the yellow colored zip pulls, I got the asphalt grey. As for something I may disklike about this jacket, I would have liked some inside pockets. Some TNF fleece jackets have inside pockets which are nice. I love the accent of the black, grey and the yellow zip cords. It's much nicer than boring black or a solid colored jacket. I am about 6' and the medium fit me very well. Personally I would prefer it to be a little longer, for me it feels a bit short but im more used to fleece jackets which seem to be a little longer. I've gotten plenty of use out of this jacket this month especially, we've had a lot of rain and I have stayed dry and very warm thank's to TNF apex bionic jacket. I am taking very good care of this jacket and it has taken great care of me in some very rainy cold weather.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
4ANTHONY
from ohio
25-34 yrs

Great lightweight jacket, blocks wind
March 05, 2011

This jacket is lightweight windproof material which is a little stretchy so it moves with you. Bought this for my boyfriend who had a similar jacket from another manufacturer but needed replacement. He chose the black and absolutely loves it! You will need to layer if extreme cold otherwise wear just the jacket above 35 degrees.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
SkiManiac

Great Buy!
January 15, 2011

This jacket was a great buy! It's true to size and keeps you very warm. It also looks great!

Pros: Build quality
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
PeteTripleH
from Kansas City, MO
18-24 yrs

February 02, 2011

Great fit, a little snug but that's the way I like it. I'm a small guy five eight 140 and a small fits perfectly. Great wind protection, good water protection, the pockets are perfectly placed for a cell phone and some gum.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
altrec2

February 08, 2011

I love the fit, color of my new North Face Apex Bionic, I would recommend this product to anyone. I used the measurings provided by your website and the fit is perfect.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance
Jballer
from Midwest

Great Buy
January 14, 2012

Offers great protection against rain and wind. The adjustable draw-strings at the bottom really help assure a good looking fit for all body weights and a comfortable wear all around. I felt like the sizes were fairly accurate and that overall it was a great buy!

Pros: Performance
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Lokiboy77
from The Coast of Maine
35-44 yrs

Love this Jacket
August 07, 2011

I love this jacket. It is great to use as a spring/fall jacket in New England as well as a base layer for the winter. Very warm, comfy & it looks great too. I even wear this jacket while working. Would highly recommend this jacket!!!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
DOH3
top250Contributor

from Slidell, LA
25-34 yrs

Perfect Fit
April 18, 2011

I would recommend this awesome soft-shell. I was looking for something that was very warm and light weight with a fitted feel. This jacket is all that. It stays snug to the body, yet I am still able to layer underneath. I am 5’9” and 190 and the large fits perfect. It is a subtle sporty yet sophisticated style that I feel comfortable wearing to the office or outdoors. Great Job The North Face and great price from Altrec.com!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 5 / 5
snichols28
from Fort Collins, CO
25-34 yrs

Great product
February 20, 2011

Great jacket however the fit is a little disappointing. The body of the jacket is very wide. A size medium fits my body well but the sleeves are too short. A large fits too large but the sleeves are perfect. I'm 6'1" 185lbs. I can't win. Had to return it.

Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
Marie131313

December 07, 2011

The product is exactly what I had in mind when I bought it. My boyfriend says it fits great and it very comfortable. The jacket is nice because it keeps you warm without being too bulky.

Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 3 / 5
Kaddy3

I love it!
March 21, 2011

I bought this for my husband and he loves it. I think it is very versatile and suitable for many differant types of weather. North Face usually makes a great product so I am not surprised with the great quality!

Pros: Lasts forever

from Wisconsin
55-64 yrs

Great looking Jacket
June 27, 2011

Bought this jacket for my husand for Fathers Day. I got the new color green taupe. Very stylish for a 50 something dad and husband. Makes me want a womens Northface jacket too.

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Saigon
from Michigan

Best Bang for the buck
September 24, 2011

Excellent jacket, I only have it for a few weeks. It's definitely wind proof and waterproof. Thin and yet wind proof, that's why I choose NorthFace. I particular didn't like the feel of the outer layer at first, but grown to more accustom to it (I guess polyester is the only way to water proof things on the outside). Inner layer is soft with fleece and mesh. Liked the outer chest pocket, but there is no inner pocket anywhere. As always there are velco straps at the wrist and string pulleys at the bottom to tighten the jacket to keep the wind out...but none for the neck area.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
14fun
from Fort Collins, CO
45-54 yrs

Super Wind Proof Jacket
June 02, 2011

THis jacket is super wind proof and excellent for motorcycle rides in the morning when it is still cool. The fit is excellent and the color is great. The front chest pocket is just what I wanted- I could not have designed this jacket any better myself. The construction is superior quality North Face and I would recomment this jacket to everyone.

FitClothes: 4 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Joseph131318
from Michigan
25-34 yrs

Bionic Jacket perfect
December 19, 2011

I love this jacket and it fit me perfectly. I wear M with 160lbs 5'7" musclular build. I am planning to order more and one for my girlfriends and my dad.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
viking40
from Galesburg, IL
25-34 yrs

Great Jacket
September 21, 2011

I have owned my apex bionic jacket for 2 years & have been impressed with it over & over again. It is very windproof & water resistant as long as you keep it clean & keep the DWR intact. I work outside & am an avid outdoorsman & wear this jacket about everyday in the spring & fall. It works great as an outer layer on those cool, breezy days. It completely blocks any wind & works well against light sprinkles & light snow. When the rain comes down a little harder, it works great as a layer under my hardshell. With it being so windproof, there is a trade-off of not breathing very well, so I don't wear it when the temps are >60 degrees F and I know I'm going to be active. I am 6', 210 lbs (athletic build) & purchased an XL- fits great with room underneath for layering on cold days. The only negative I can find is- I carry a medical bag at work & a backpack on hikes & the shoulders seemed to show signs of wear fairly quickly where the straps rub. I've owned other softshells that are more durable, but none that look as good. Overall, this jacket fits great, looks very stylish, & is very functional.

Pros: Great design, Performance, Ease of use, comfortable, Cons: Wears quickly
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
BrenP
55-64 yrs

Great light-weight Jacket!
August 23, 2011

As always, Northface stands up to it's reputation! Great jacket and fit....easy to wear. Altrec has the best prices on the net. Will be a repeat customer!

Pros: Great design, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
Shermski
from Cleveland, OH

Best Product Ever
September 26, 2011

This jacket was the best purchase. I originally purchased it in 2008 and its still going strong with no wear or tear. I'm going to purchase another one only because I've "filled" out since I purchased it!

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
formyhusband
25-34 yrs

Very nice Jacket
January 20, 2011

Love how this jacket looks on. It's keeps my husband warmer than he thought it would. He said it doesn't keep out really high winds, but works great for an adverage wind. He wears this in the winter and we live in the north.

Pros: Great design
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 5 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
happymommyof6

Great Jacket!
January 22, 2011

I bought this jacket as a birthday gift for my son who grew up in San Antonio, but is going to college in a cold and snowy climate. The only warm coat that he had was his ski coat, and he found it too bulky to wear to class. He had borrowed a friend's Apex Bionic and really liked it, so this seemed a safe choice. He LOVES this jacket. He says that he wears it everywhere, and I believe it! Every time that we've Skyped in the past few weeks, he is wearing this jacket, even in his dorm room :) He says that he loves the light weight, comfortable movement that is still quite warm. Also that it is very windproof and waterproof. Must be pretty "cool" looking, too :) Great jacket :)

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Ease of use, lightweight but warm
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Ericl1
35-44 yrs

Great Jacket
January 13, 2012

I ordered this jacket for Christmas. I wore it from Michigan to South Carolina to Key West FL and back to Michigan and I didn't have to even take it off, well Key West I did. I was warm when I needed to be and cool when necessary. This is a very comfortable jacket and it keeps the warmth in and keeps me dry in the rain. GREAT COAT!!!

Pros: Build quality, Performance, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
Frankever
from Tulsa-Oklahoma

The North Face's greatest achievment.
September 15, 2011

It really stand up to quality,great price based in quality,it fits true to size (Im medium 5'8'' 170 lbs),stretches enough when you needed ,I took to an inclement winter in Germany to a mild weather in Cape Town and always performed well as it was supposed to be,never unprotected in cold weather or to hot in mild weather,I folded it in my back pack and never lost its athletic shape,it was like the jacket has memory to go back to its original shape without being deformed,,here is a happy camper,,,,A++++ to the North Face peeps.

Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Ulsterman
from Northern Illinois
55-64 yrs

Apex Bionic Jacket
December 28, 2011

1. Very water resistant. 2. Very VERY wind resistant. I'd say windproof if it was not for the sleeves and waist. Some breeze gets through these openings. However, chest,back, and arms cozy. 3. Outer fabric resists snags VERY well. 4. Great for 30 degree, breezy days in Northern Illinois.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Great value, Cons: pocket zippers balky, no inside pocket
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
emmyandwade
from Amarillo, TX
25-34 yrs

Apex Northface
January 01, 2012

My husband has wanted one of these jackets forever! I ordered him one for Christmas and he was so excited! He typically wears a large in most shirts and jackets, but the large was a little tight. I'm exchanging it for an extra large and it will be perfect! You just cant go wrong with North Face

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
Kawasaki
from Minneapolis, MN

Sleek & Slim
March 10, 2011

I really like the look of the jacket, big-deep pockets, keeps you warm but not like a down coat where you can't wear it if it gets warm. Usable in multiple seasons. Professional enough to wear over a suit.

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
skier30
from Minneapolis
25-34 yrs

Great windproof jacket
October 23, 2011

I bought this jacket for my boyfriend to wear in the fall and spring (lives in MN) and while traveling in Europe in late fall. I like that it is windproof and repels water and so is great for drizzly, windy weather in fall or spring. It is lightly lined with soft material and has warm, lightly-lined pockets. My boyfriend is about 6'2" and slim and the large fit him well; it had some room but fit right at the hips and in the arms. This jacket is also great for winter activities like cross-country skiing on cold days if layered with long underwear and a light fleece.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
tech
25-34 yrs

Great product!
May 09, 2011

Received this northface jacket today. Arrived just a few days after placing the order. Lightweight and great windbreaker. Very flexable fabric so it is super comfortable to wear. I would highly recomend this jacket to an active outdoor person.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
newEngGuy
from Boston
25-34 yrs

very good jacket for Fall and spring
January 21, 2011

It is light weight and very good Fall/Spring jacket. Fabric is high quality and durable. With good fleece inside, you can easily walk in 27-30F weather. I bought this jacket mainly because of 100% wind proof fabric. It works really well. It provides good protection while biking. Only disadvantages I found are: - Its 'M' size is little bigger than other north face jacket. May be this is intentional to allow one layer to fleece inside. But good fleece is must in colder weather. _ since Jacket is breathable, you can not walk in windy or cold weather with pockets open. So pockets are not useful to protect your hands from wind and cold. You need to carry gloves separately. I will definitely recommend this jacket.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Ease of use, Cons: Cost
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
synv
from Israel
25-34 yrs

The best jacket
May 04, 2011

It is light, comfortable, and quality. Suits both for every day use and for occasions. Has use full pockets. Well known company and service, The colors don`t fade

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
mrlynvic
from Springfield, MO
55-64 yrs

Guys love this jacket
August 20, 2011

I have purchased a two of these, one for my son and one for a friend's son. Someone at my son's work saw his and asked where I got it. I have also purchased this jacket in the women's version -- same story. It is not boxy which is why my daughter loves hers. You can't go wrong with this one -- it's extremely warm, so definitely best for colder weather.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
Hearts14

Great purchase
December 26, 2011

I bought. This coat for my husband for chistmas and he loves it it's very comfortable & it looks very sharp on him.I am planning on ordering one for our son.very please with this purchased.

catcit
from Wisconsin

Great jacket
April 18, 2011

This is easily the best jacket I have ever purchased. It fits great (snug but not tight) and is incredibly warm despite how thin it is. The strong shell causes water to fall right off and wind to stop completely. The big pockets are a plus although I would have preferred to have an inside pocket instead of a chest one. Overall this is a great jacket which despite being stylish doesn't skimp on the quality.

Pros: Build quality, Lasts forever, stylish
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
FLBOB
from Denver, Colorado
25-34 yrs

Great Buy!!!
January 03, 2011

Needed a thinner jacket for Colorado activities. Not only is it warm, but comfortable and durable. Great jacket!!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 3 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
runinthesun
from Minneapolis, MN
45-54 yrs

Winter Jacket
January 18, 2011

Great overall jacket. It's a little less warm than I expected, (I thought it would be as warm as a midweight fleece.) However the waterproof and windproof degrees are better than expected. I hadn't bought any North Face in awhile so maybe it's my size that's changed rather than the company's.

Pros: Build quality, Performance, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
seastar
from Seattle,WA
25-34 yrs

Great Jacket
October 04, 2011

I purchased this jacked for my husband as a birthday gift. I was very happy with the quality of jacket and also that it had warm insulation. He really loves the jacket and looks great in it!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
peakbagger

Men's Apex Bionic Jacket
February 25, 2011

Everything they promised and more. Great fit and style for either causal or hiking wear. Been out hiking several times in the 40's and it was very comfortable Will have to see how it wears over time.

Pros: Build quality, Performance, Cons: none so far
Pixie
from Bay City MI

Awesome Jacket!!
May 30, 2011

I bought this jacket for my husband and he loved it so much that I went and bought one of the ladies version for myself! Very warm, totally windproof and rainproof, good quality and great fit! You can't find a better quality jacket on the market for the price! Thank you Altrec!! We'll be back!

Pros: Performance, Ease of use, Great value
altrec2

February 08, 2011

I love the fit, color of my new North Face Apex Bionic, I would recommend this product to anyone. I used the measurings provided by your website and the fit is perfect.

Pros: Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
rmpcoat

Best jacket ever
January 19, 2011

The jacket is lightweight and windproof. I had heard this from others that own one but was not sure whether to believe them. Having worn the coat in very cold and windy weather for the last few days, I am now a believer in NorthFace jackets. It is great. I love the color combinations and that the jacket is good for both casual and business casual attire. I will likely buy another similar jacket.

Pros: Great design, Performance
snichols28
from Fort Collins, CO

Great product
February 20, 2011

Great jacket however the fit is a little disappointing. The body of the jacket is very wide. A size medium fits my body well but the sleeves are too short. A large fits too large but the sleeves are perfect. I'm 6'1" 185lbs. I can't win. Had to return it.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
Fenway
from Kingston , my
35-44 yrs

Perfect for NY winters
December 16, 2011

This jacket was a gift for boyfriend . He loves the color " fig green". Says its warm but not too hot . Repels water - his north face Denali did not .

Pros: Ease of use
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
LuvNorthFaceSF
from San Francisco, CA
35-44 yrs

Nice Cold Weather Jacket 4 Light/Moderate Activity
January 03, 2011

I got this jacket, one for my dad and one for myself. I love it and as far as I know, my dad loves his as well. It's a nice lightweight jacket that has a bit more substance than a typical windbreaker, and for activities like jogging and walking in 40-50 degree (F) temperatures, it works great. Really stops the wind and prevents the cold from penetrating into your body. I tried wearing it in 20-30 degree weather, and the cold did get through a bit more, but with a good underlayer of fleece, it worked just fine. I am 5'10, 160lbs and got a medium size. The fit is fine, but I docked a point for comfort because there is a bit of awkward mobility on the back just underneath the shoulders...it's like a misplaced seam or something. Another minor complaint is that when you zip up all the way, the collar has the typical design to help cover up your chin, jaw and lips, but it is a bit more irritating than other coats I have. Unlike most outdoor jackets for heavier weather, there was just the right number of pockets and in the right locations. It's annoying when there are a gazillion pockets and you spend a ton of time trying to remember where you placed something. I am on an exercise program with a pedometer app on the iPhone, and a breast pocket is the best location for accuracy. This jacket delivers just that, and it's not too deep nor too shallow. The wrists have straps to tighten up to further block wind or cold intrusion up the sleeves, and are easily released when you are ready to remove the coat. Finally, I've walked in it in showers and snow flurries, and it was fine. I haven't walked in it in a downpour, but then again, I'd have an umbrella. Overall, I highly recommend this very durable and reasonably priced coat from NorthFace.

Pros: Build quality, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
outdoors23

favorite jacket
February 15, 2011

i bought my brother this jacket and he loves it! i have a friend that also has it and he said it's his favorite jacket. and they are both from the north--NY and WI

WindProtection: 4 / 5
Frankever
from Tulsa-Oklahoma
35-44 yrs

The North Face's greatest achievment.
September 15, 2011

It really stand up to quality,great price based in quality,it fits true to size (Im medium 5'8'' 170 lbs),stretches enough when you needed ,I took to an inclement winter in Germany to a mild weather in Cape Town and always performed well as it was supposed to be,never unprotected in cold weather or to hot in mild weather,I folded it in my back pack and never lost its athletic shape,it was like the jacket has memory to go back to its original shape without being deformed,,here is a happy camper,,,,A++++ to the North Face peeps.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Shermski
from Cleveland, OH
18-24 yrs

Best Product Ever
September 26, 2011

This jacket was the best purchase. I originally purchased it in 2008 and its still going strong with no wear or tear. I'm going to purchase another one only because I've "filled" out since I purchased it!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
Momofsons
45-54 yrs

Bionic Jacket
November 28, 2011

I bought this jacket for my 13 year old son. He absolutely loves the way it looks and fits. It is a great jacket for the winter in the south. It is also rain repellant which is a great plus.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
ttchacha
from windsor Ontario
55-64 yrs

very good product
March 20, 2011

my wife got an Apex bionic jacket and she liked it so much that she made me me buy one. Lots of pockets for stuff when you travel, it's a very light jacket but warm and very good `quality. the green-blue color is perfect .

Pros: Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
jrburkh
from New Orleans, LA
25-34 yrs

Almost perfect "light"-weight jacket
February 22, 2011

I am about 6'2", 160 lbs - yes, I'm a stick-man - and bought this jacket for New Orleans "winters". I bought the New Taupe Green jacket in a size S due to my slight frame, but the jacket fits me relatively loose in the body. I would probably say, however, that the jacket's sizing is about what you would expect. There is enough sleeve length that the jacket "fits". There are elastic pulls at the waist to cinch of the bottom of the jacket, and velcro straps on the wrists. I don't really know what to say about the color of the jacket, except that *I* like it. If I think of anything to compare it to I will come back to it. Perhaps "mossy"? It's a darker green color that, as you can see from the item pictures, is very "flat" (give me a break, I never said I excelled at creative writing). The one "complaint" I have is the same as others I have seen on these reviews: the neck size, which is rather high and open. However, although I haven't checked it out yet myself (and hope to never have to), the neck size would probably be just about right with a scarf. All in all, I have a hard time finding a legitimate complaint about this jacket. It fits well enough, and I would probably have no complaints if I were to take it for a test spin back in the home country of the Great White North with a sweater, scarf, and gloves. The jacket is very warm, especially for it's light weight, and is a great breaker of the winds and precip. A+++ would wear again.

Pros: Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 3 / 5
SFdad
from SF Bay Area, CA

Perfect for mild fall/spring days
January 16, 2011

This is good jacket for SF Bay area. Fits well and excellent quality. Can be used with warm inside layer for colder days.

Pros: Great design, Build quality
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
AGCHL

Excellent service and product
May 21, 2011

I received a great service from Altrec and The North Face, the product is great and buying through Altrec was really easy... I would definitely buy more products from this website.

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
FitClothes: 4 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
Bradey
35-44 yrs

Basic and reliable
May 09, 2011

Good basic jacket for most days. I wear a TKA 100 fleece about every day in the fall and winter and the lose arm cut and stretch fabric of this jacket allows for easy movement when worn together. A top seller for a good reason. Very good value.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Great value
Comfort: 3 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Gretchtables

Decent Jacket
January 13, 2011

I just bought the Apex Bionic and am pretty pleased with it. It has long sleeves which are perfect for me at 6'6. I was worried it would not do well in the wind and cold but the jacket has kept me warm in temps below 30. My only complaint is that the jacket fits small. You cannot have more than one real layer underneath it or you will need to bump up a size. The fleece lining catches on everything. That's my only complaint, and a minor one at that.

Pros: Great design, Performance, Cons: fits small
Comfort: 4 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 2 / 5
WindProtection: 3 / 5

from San Francisco, CA
35-44 yrs

Whats not to like?
March 07, 2011

Great jacket, which looks good and does everything it's supposed to. I did find that the fit ran a little smaller than I had anticipated. Highly recommended this jacket to anyone.

Pros: Great design
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Kawasaki
from Minneapolis, MN
25-34 yrs

Sleek & Slim
March 10, 2011

I really like the look of the jacket, big-deep pockets, keeps you warm but not like a down coat where you can't wear it if it gets warm. Usable in multiple seasons. Professional enough to wear over a suit.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, sexy, Cons: Cost
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
strap
from Toledo
35-44 yrs

Men's Apex Bionic Jacket
October 16, 2011

Superb coat I highly recommend! This is my second jacket and I was just at a football game that was very cold and it kept me warm. You cant go wrong with Northface products this coat is a 5 over all

Pros: Great design, Lasts forever, Performance, Great value
14fun
from Fort Collins, CO

Super Wind Proof Jacket
June 02, 2011

THis jacket is super wind proof and excellent for motorcycle rides in the morning when it is still cool. The fit is excellent and the color is great. The front chest pocket is just what I wanted- I could not have designed this jacket any better myself. The construction is superior quality North Face and I would recomment this jacket to everyone.

Pros: Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
Bthomp

January 14, 2011

Love this jacket. Was afraid it wouldn't live up to hype in other reviews, but perfect for my Northeast Florida winters on Atlantic coast where you get a fair amount of wind and pretty chilly nights. Looks real sharp, too. Extremely warm in the 40 degree days we've been having. Pretty amazed at how well it works as a windbreaker. Only complaint is that it fits a little snug through the arm pits. Would like a little more room in the medium, but getting used to it and fits with light sweater underneath (I'm about 160 and regular build). Otherwise, this is now my go-to jacket. Wife wants one now, and I have to convince her to get a different color than my black.

Pros: Great design, Performance
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
gooditem

another item
November 11, 2011

I bought this and new what i was getting, it seems so far so good. Been impressed with Altrec and their service so far. Boughts some boots awhile back and got them in time and they were helpful.

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 4 / 5
elleshop
from West Coast
25-34 yrs

Great jacket for long arms
November 22, 2011

Purchased for my f-i-l and he LOVED it! He is 6'1", and has a lean build but has really long arms. This jacket fit perfectly for him. (I purchased a large.) It is truly windproof and water repellent. It was the perfect gift!

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
Bud23
from Olympia,WA
35-44 yrs

Best lightweight jacket
April 14, 2011

The apex bionic is a great jacket. I am 6'4 and about 190 lbs and it fits perfect. The sleeves are just the right length. The inside of the jacket material is soft and cushy. Even with the wind blowing hard you cant feel it through the jacket. I like the drawstrings on the waist, when i used them it doesn't detract from the jacket like some do by bunching the jacket up. I wore it out in a light rain and the water beads without any hint of wetness. I have owned patagonia and mountain hardware and this apex bionic is better in my opinion. I am not crazy about the logo but it's not that big of a deal.

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 2 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Cornelius20
from San Francisco, CA
35-44 yrs

Men's Apex Bionic Jacket
February 17, 2011

I've had three North Face soft shell jackets with fleece linings over the past decade, all have proven to be durable, comfortable, water and wind resistant. In other words, the Bionic, like the Apex, is a perfect jacket for San Francisco weather (where I've lived for more than a decade). It's light enough to carry comfortably over your arm or in your backpack, and wind/water resistant enough to function as an all-purpose jacket for most of the year with the exception of the coldest winter months (yes, we have winters in San Francisco) and the wettest months (when a GoreTex or similar rain jacket is the better choice).

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
mdardn138

Execels at windproof
January 12, 2011

The jacket is windproof (just faced the "brutal" winter storm that slammed ATL) and held back 20+mph gusts. The fit is good, allowing a 200 weight fleece underneath without being too tight. The only complaint is lack of breathability compunded by the lack of venting/pit zips, but still a great jacket (particularly if you get it on sale).

Pros: Build quality, Performance, Cons: limited breathability
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5

from San Diego, Ca
18-24 yrs

Excellent selection
January 13, 2011

I first saw this jacket five years ago and never got around to getting it, but since living in SoCal where you need a jacket to combat cold wind in the late afternoon hours and evening considering we're right on the bay I thought about giving it a try. It works perfectly, even in San Francisco with the windy/rainy weather! I love well made durable products that fit well and look as well as they perform, this didn't let me down!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
tigerzep

June 23, 2011

I use for day-to-day use at school in the foothills of the appalachians, good for rain and mild temperatures. Have also worn in manhattan in the fall/winter, was sufficiently warm for a normal day, would probably need another layer or two for dead of winter if staying outside for an extended period of time. Great jacket, worth the price and more.

Pros: Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 2 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
porterwagen
from Salisbury, MD
25-34 yrs

Perfect "Go-To" Jacket
September 20, 2011

I have owned northface fleeces for years and years. This is my first soft shell type of northface jacket, and I must say that it rocks. It has no-nonsense styling. Medium fits perfect for me, 5'11" 145lbs. It has room for a base layer, but does not feel too big. The zippers and velcro are of the highest quality. This is one of my favorite jackets... ever.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
ameggs

January 02, 2011

got it in the taupe green & it is a great looking color - goes with everything

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
Vinnyvqz
from Costa Rica
35-44 yrs

Very good outdoors jacket
August 23, 2011

I spend a lot of time in the outdoors because of my job as a tour guide this jacket is perfect for me, good fit very versatile for rain bad weather and very light. Great purchase!!!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Ease of use, Great value, Cons: Cost
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
NoriRS
from Boston
35-44 yrs

Looks Cool, does its job
January 16, 2011

This Jacket looks very cool and fits perfectly. I use a fleece jacket underneath and I can walk around in 21 degrees weather for the entire day.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Great value
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
    Live Chat
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED