The North Face Men's Apex Bionic Jacket

200773

Coming Soon
We'll tell you when it's in:



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship - details 
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

The North Face Men's Apex Bionic Jacket Reviews Page 3

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5

471 Reviews

Pros
  • Lasts forever: 97
  • Build quality: 80
  • Ease of use: 36
  • stylish: 3

Cons
  • Cost: 33
  • Bad design: 3
  • none: 2
  • a bit short legth wise: 1
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
Wind Protection: 5 / 5
Wind Protection: 4 / 5
Water Protection: 3.6 / 5
Fit: 3.1 / 5

471 Ratings & Reviews

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Bridgitte30
from Midwest
35-44 yrs

Men's Apex Bionic Great Softshell
November 12, 2010

My husband has this jacket in red and asphalt, a black Nuptse jacket, and a grey Denali. He loves the red one so much, I just ordered him a navy one for Christmas. Great deal on it, too. He likes that it is light and still keeps cold out, rain beads, and wind out. He has had his red jacket for about 8 years and it looks nearly new. This jacket has a heavy duty zipper as well. We moved from a warm climate to a cold one and these jackets have done him well.

Pros: Lasts forever, Cons: can be costly
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
7O7Driver
from Tacoma, WA
35-44 yrs

Versatile and lightweight!
December 05, 2010

I travel a lot and needed a versatile lightweight jacket to meet a variety of different weather conditions. Apex fit the bill perfectly. I've worn it in freezing rain and strong winds and it has kept me both warm and dry. Layer over a thermal and you can remain comfortable in temperatures down to freezing. Comfortable athletic cut makes it ideal for walking around and casual wear. Bought one for my 15 year old son who did not think he'd like it. Now, it's the only jacket he wears and wants a second one in his school's color. Outstanding purchase, very pleased!

Pros: Build quality, Performance
Comfort: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
mingo
from texas
35-44 yrs

great jacket
November 24, 2010

i got this jacket at a great price so for me this is an exellent value. the product is of high quality durable and look good.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Ease of use, Great value, Cons: sleeves a little long
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Wishockey
from AL
35-44 yrs

Great purchase!
November 22, 2010

Love the jacket. This is my second apex, one white/grey and now the blue. I would have to agree with others that the sizing seems to run on the smaller side. I would only wear a thin shirt or light knit under the jacket and be comfortable. Great durability, blocks wind, and sheds water! Excellent price!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
tycheong
Under 18 yrs

Excellent softshell. Is it worth the price?
November 18, 2010

Being a high school student and unable to work much, price is extremely important for me. I was looking at buying a new softshell and when I saw this on sale (for $80) I immediately bought it. Being from TNF it has the quality and functionality one can expect, but I'm not sure if I would buy it at full price ($130). The Apex Bionic has a clean and professional look to it allowing it to be worn to a variety of environments (casual, work, etc.), but TNF does a great job of putting technical aspects into it. I am 5'10" and weigh 170 pounds with an athletic build and the medium fits perfectly. It is comfortable because of the really soft fleece liner and the slightly roomy fit allowing one to layer under it. It is in fact 100% wind proof and while not water proof, I was standing in pouring rain for 30 minutes and I was completely dry underneath. It's marketed as being breathable, and it is, but not to the extent of what I expected. Has velcro cuffs and waist cinch cords to make for a tighter fit to keep wind out. The jacket keeps me warn at 40 degrees F with just a t-shirt under. I've worn the Apex Bionic in Chicago and New York in the fall and winter, as well as during skiing and in the sunny California springs and it performs great Very durable too. . Overall it's a great softshell from a great company, but it's up to you if you want to spend $130 on it. It's worth every penny of ths $80 I spent on it though!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Great value, comfort, Cons: Cost
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
Ztac
from Seattle, Wa

December 29, 2010

Looks great and is high quality but the collar is too high on the neck and the jacket is an inch or so too short, but other than that it is excellente!

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
southdakota1
from South Dakota
35-44 yrs

North Face Apex Jacket
November 12, 2010

Great jacket, 2nd one I've owned. Provides great wind protection which is a must on the high plains. Can be used for upland game hunting as well as for hiking. Combined wind and water proof shell gives you a lot of versitility for the active person.

Pros: Great design, Performance
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
TheHeartland
from Kansas City Metropolitan Area
45-54 yrs

North Face Apex Bionic Jacket
November 23, 2010

I ordered a medium jacket for my high school aged son. He is 5'-10" and 135 lbs. with an athletic build (narrow at the waist). The jacket fits him well with room to layer underneath. There is enough room in the jacket for him if he grow but does not look too large at this time. It is light weight enough that he can fold/roll up and carry in his backpack. He enjoys the water repellant finish and wind resistance for those light rain and sometimes windy midwest commutes to and from school. The zipper on my son's jacket sticks a bit at the bottom (minor stitch error). I purchased this same jacket for myself about 3 years ago and it has held up very well after multiple washings. I also use it for spring skiing in the mountains. Overall, I would recommend this jacket for rain and wind resistance.

Pros: Great design, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 3 / 5
rosebud

November 17, 2010

This jacket was a great present. I would definitely recommend buying it. Men love the color, and the texture of the jacket is great!

Pros: Great design
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
KYAggie
25-34 yrs

Great layer, even in this weather
December 06, 2010

Nice on its own, even better with a layer or two under it. Wind-proof and water repellant so it works well in a light fall rain. I'd definitely buy it again.

Pros: Build quality, Performance
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 4 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
finalfront
from cape cod
45-54 yrs

November 15, 2010

excellent jacket - good alone or under winter ski jacket. lightweight, cool style, very popular. would buy again... great value at Altrec

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
YetiSpaghetti
from Minneapolis, MN

Good for 35-50 Degrees F
November 29, 2010

Blocks out the wind and is warmer than it looks. Good construction and details. This is a great late fall or early spring jacket. Two cons: - The sleeve length is a bit long for a size small. I usually wear a 32" sleeve length and the sleeves here would be more appropriate on a 34"-36" Not too bad--it just bunches up a bit. - I also wish the collar fit a bit more snug around the neck. When I zip it up, there's still a pretty big gap.

Pros: Build quality, Performance
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 2 / 5
WindProtection: 2 / 5
mtnman
18-24 yrs

December 17, 2010

Great for the outdoors man in all kinds of weather and activities. keeps real warm as a base layer, fits good for the most part, but a little loose around the waist though i'm only 180 at 6'1''. I love this jacket for hunting and skiing, thin enough to move around but still keeps warm even when wet. Dries quickly ideal for backpacking or hunting when it is critical. Great material, great design, awesome jacket.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Cons: Cost
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 3 / 5
nutcracker10
from New York
35-44 yrs

Great purchase
December 13, 2010

I bought this for my son he has been wanting this forever and he loves it !!

Pros: Great design, Build quality
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
mugs

November 10, 2010

I love this jacket!! I wear it all throughout the winter...great for layering under, warm and cozy.

Pros: Build quality, Lasts forever
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
sherbear
from Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Like the color
November 26, 2010

Had a little trouble with the zipper sticking, but liked it alot. Color is great and unique.

Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
Lashopper

December 19, 2010

Very nice jacket. It keeps you very warm. I will definately buy more products from here again!

Pros: Build quality, Performance, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
LoveTheNorthFace
25-34 yrs

Great Jacket
December 05, 2010

This jacket is warm, comfortable and made of extremely durable fabric. It is a little dressier than the Denali fleece, which makes it quite versatile. My husband is about 6'2" and has a hard time finding coats that fit, unless they come in tall sizes. However, this jacket fit him perfectly. Long arms and long in the waist. I would definitely recommend this jacket!!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 2 / 5
WindProtection: 3 / 5
thebabe
from Santa Barbara,California

Great jacket
December 05, 2010

Bought this as a gift for my student son who walks to campus in the cold n rain. He likes it a lot and was quite satisfied with the fit. It does offer some wind protection but only repels water to a certain extent. Obviously it would not withstand a deluge or downpour. Easy wearing and comfort were the main pros with this jacket!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Ease of use, Cons: not waterproof
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
LMin

Great Purchase!!
December 07, 2010

Top quality jacket. Great fit. They last for years and years. Would recommend it to everyone!!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 4 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 3 / 5
tamiv
from North Carolina
18-24 yrs

Great for midatlantic region
November 16, 2010

Apex Bionic is a form-fitting and flattering jacket, and very versatile in climates that run from cool to cold within hours. As for the fit, the sleeves do run a bit long. It is a great fabric, and looks stylish not sloppy. It has been crumpled up in a backpack all day, and still looks great when we pull it out!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5

from Norman, OK
25-34 yrs

Just in time for real weather
November 17, 2010

My Apex Bionic arrived on a blustery, rainy, late autumn day in Oklahoma - it takes a while to turn to winter - and I couldn't have chosen better timing. This jacket is great at deflecting bitter wind, resisting rain, and keeping you warm. The size small is perfect for my silhouette, and I'm 5'7" and 160 lbs; it's not overly roomy, but will easily fit another thin layer. The interior of brushed fleece (and the suede collar) is very comfortable, and the jacket is stylish overall. New Taupe Green is dark and subdued but still green, and the Napoleon pocket is a fantastic feature allowing me to stow a cardholder, small notebook, or keys. I'll be using the Apex very often in upcoming months and look forward to wearing it for years to come, as it seems very durable. This is a great value.

Pros: Great design
Quality: 5 / 5
sherbear
from Cedar Rapids, Iowa
25-34 yrs

Like the color
November 26, 2010

Had a little trouble with the zipper sticking, but liked it alot. Color is great and unique.

Pros: Great design, Lasts forever, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 4 / 5
WaterProtection: 5 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
hipnotyze

Great Jacket!
November 10, 2010

This is a great fall/spring softshell, especially on those cool, windy days. It keeps the heat in and the wind out. Definitely recommend this jacket!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Ease of use, Great value, looks great!
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
cooltoad
from pennsylvania
25-34 yrs

apex mens bionic jacket
November 16, 2010

I just got this jacket last week. I was excited to order this as I was in need for something that is water proof and wind proof along with some warmth. This jacket is one solution to many issues. Plus its so light weight and skinny that I dont feel bulky. The jackets fits well and I have already got couple of comments on it. I would highly recommend this product. I had my wife get one of these too.

Pros: Build quality, Performance, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5

35-44 yrs

Great Product, Great Value
November 14, 2010

Just bought this jacket last week on sale. Very warm & lightweight jacket and looks pretty good to boot. Great Deal on sale & would recommend. Throw my shell on over this and I am ready for the rugged Maine winter. Thanks North Face.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Jespinoza
from Stephenville, Texas
18-24 yrs

Apex bionic was a great overall pick
November 10, 2010

Hands down the best jacket I have ever worn or own. I am a very busy person and this jacket has been able to withstand the rough falls off of bulls nd block the cold wind and rain. I reccomend the apex bionic jacket to anyone who is a hard busy worker or to anyone who simply likes being comfy and warm.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 3 / 5
Patagone

Strange Fit
November 30, 2010

This jacket was incredibly nice, and the material felt like it could hold up to most windy/rainy conditions thrown at it. However the fit was extremely strange. It was too short, and unfortunately the fit just didn't work. Overall loved the material and quality, just not the fit.

Pros: Build quality, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
Alexander
from Chilly San Francisco, CA
18-24 yrs

Simply amazing. All you can ask for!
December 16, 2010

This jacket is phenomenal. I fell in love with it the moment I put it on. This jacket fit perfectly. Not too loose and not too snug, with a little bit of moving room. This jacket IS windproof. No matter how windy it is, I don't feel A THING. I often wear a hoodie underneath, which seals the deal. The inside is fleece and is very warm and comfortable. As for water resistance, rain just slips right off the jacket, leaving it perfectly dry. If you stand in the rain for an extended period the time, the jacket will actually stop repelling water and get wet, HOWEVER, absolutely no water soaks through to the inside. This jacket is PERFECT for the windy, rainy, foggy conditions. Living in San Francisco: COLD, WINDY, FOGGY, RAINY. Very well built and very durable, super high quality. I wear it almost every day. It's a nice looking jacket and can be worn with more dress attire, too. The only disappointment with this jacket is the price! However I understand because it is a very high quality jacket. It is probably one of the best 130$ I've ever spent.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
keepingitwarm
from St Louis
35-44 yrs

November 15, 2010

The jacker came as decided and the vendor was spot on. Would order from them again without hesitation

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5

from Florida
45-54 yrs

Happy w/ Purchase
December 17, 2010

I needed something for cold weather to layer for a Short trip to Mi. from Fl. not too bulky so I could use this again in Florida, I also checked sizing at a competitors store for they did not carry the color I wanted, I am 5'9 1/2 170 and chose a large, medium was too snug and w/ not allow much in layering For the short time I had item I was Pleased w/ this purchase

Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 4 / 5
NJShopper
from New Jersey
25-34 yrs

November 13, 2010

Great looking jacket. Quality is great. A little stiff at first. Sleeves are long but I need that for my long arms. I own a Medium NF Pumori so I ordered this in medium. I'm 5'10", 150 lb and the medium was loose in the torso. Tried on a small at local store and fit was great but the front was way too short. A couple inches longer in the front and this would be the perfect jacket - windproof, water resistant and not too bulky.

Pros: Build quality, Cons: Bad design
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 2 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
sfascu
from San Jose, CA
35-44 yrs

Apex Bionic Softshell
November 19, 2010

This is my 3rd Bionic Softshell. However, I prefer the material of the one I bought 4 years ago, softer shell and more comfortable.

Pros: Great design, Performance, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Eggman59
top1000Contributor

Great Jacket
November 11, 2010

Great fit, feel, and style. Got caught in some rain first time I wore it and it repelled it very nicely. Warm even in wind conditions. Only gave it 4-stars on durability simply because I have not had it very long so hard to judge but jacket appears to be very well put together. Will try it out on my first ski trip to Big Sky in January to see hoe well it works under one of my North face shells.

Pros: Build quality, Performance, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
clyde

Northface Apex
December 10, 2010

Great jacket that is comfortable and durable. I would recommend this jacket to anyone needing a light-weight jacket

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
ashj
from Bryan, Texas
18-24 yrs

BULLET PROOF!!!
December 07, 2010

this jacket is bullet proof! I got it for my husband and he got caught out in a storm this week and walked in the house, shed the jacket and he was dry as a bone. Love this jacket, and I'm going to get me 1 soon!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 2 / 5
WindProtection: 3 / 5
megs144

Great Purchase!
November 16, 2010

I bought this jacket for my boyfriend, and he loves it! I have always bought Northface products, and this one is just as great as the other products I have bought in the past. It fits great and altrec.com is a great place to purchase from.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 4 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
silver2

Great Jacket
December 28, 2010

I purchased this jacket for myself last year and absolutely love it. I can wear it at any time of the year. It works for a light spring jacket or it works for a winter jacket when layered with another jacket. It is very durable and recommend it to all of my friends. I ended up buying one for my boyfriend!

Pros: Great design

from Norman, OK

Just in time for real weather
November 17, 2010

My Apex Bionic arrived on a blustery, rainy, late autumn day in Oklahoma - it takes a while to turn to winter - and I couldn't have chosen better timing. This jacket is great at deflecting bitter wind, resisting rain, and keeping you warm. The size small is perfect for my silhouette, and I'm 5'7" and 160 lbs; it's not overly roomy, but will easily fit another thin layer. The interior of brushed fleece (and the suede collar) is very comfortable, and the jacket is stylish overall. New Taupe Green is dark and subdued but still green, and the Napoleon pocket is a fantastic feature allowing me to stow a cardholder, small notebook, or keys. I'll be using the Apex very often in upcoming months and look forward to wearing it for years to come, as it seems very durable. This is a great value.

Pros: Build quality, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5

fantastic jacket
November 16, 2010

i have many jackets, including other north face jackets, but this is the one i grab most often. it looks great and will keep me comfortable in a wide range of temperatures/climates. wind does not penetrate at all and its waterproof enough for a light drizzle. should be in every guys closet. im 6 feet tall and 175 with a thin build and the m fits perfectly.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 5 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
facingnorth
top500Contributor

from Chantilly, Virginia
45-54 yrs

excellent all around
December 27, 2010

this jacket is bulletproof, let's see where to start? completely wind proof, waterproof, good warmer, extremely durable, excellet fit, awesome style, other jackets that I still own simply don't compare to this jacket, not my first northface, surely not the last one.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 3 / 5
RacheleB

Great Purchase
November 30, 2010

I bought this for my husband for Christmas and he absolutely loves it! He has 2 of these and they last for a really long time!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Gooser
from Chicago, il
25-34 yrs

Apex bionic
November 23, 2010

Great jacket! I live in Chicago, this jacket is perfect for the fall. Stops wind and rain. And keeps me warm well into December.

Pros: Lasts forever
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
SK82WORK
from Northern California,
45-54 yrs

Love my TNF APEX Bionic
November 10, 2010

I can't say enough about this jacket, I picked it up for 40% off! Now, I normally wear a small, but decided on a Med, based on all the reviews here. Guess what, It fits perfect! I can still wear a sweater underneath it for those cold days and a t-shirt on the mild days. It's so adaptable, I also like all the pockets, especially the chest pocket, great place to keep my cell phone! I also like the velcro on the cuffs, I'm only 5' 7" & 150lbs. The fit on the shoulder and chest are great, but the arms are bit too long, think its made for someone 6' tall, however with the velcro cuffs the jacket the fits great all over! Will buy NF again!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
RUGoing2EatThat
from Washington DC
35-44 yrs

Apex Bionic Review
December 04, 2010

I purchased this jacket in October 2010 upon the recommendations from two friends. I have always had good fortune with my other North Face products so I began my hunt for the best internet deal. Needless to say, I discovered Altrec and made the purchase. To give you some background, I am 6'2" and weigh approximately 220 so I ordered an XL. I was concerned with sizing because I read some other reviews on other websites that questioned the sizing of the jacket. Needless to say, the jacket was a good fit for my frame. The only problem I have with the jacket is the cut. When I lift my hands above my shoulders, the jacket has a tendency to ride up. I prefer a looser fit so I can have a better range of motion but I can live with this small issue. I would compare the cut to a jean jacket if that helps in comparison. The jacket does live up to its wind-stopping ability. We just had a storm blow through the DC area that brought 20 to 30 mph winds and the jacket held up fine. I did not feel the cold wind on my torso. It also repelled light rain and drizzle though please keep in mind that this jacket is not advertised as a rain jacket. All in all, I am very satisfied with this jacket and I am sure that I will get many years of great use from it.

Pros: Build quality, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
CPCO
from Colorado
25-34 yrs

Excellent jacket
December 02, 2010

I have been eyeballing this jacket for a while and I am glad that I finally got it. Build quality appears to be good. Its very comfortable and most importantly keeps me warm. Its light and fairly thin, yet does its job of keeping me warm very well.

Pros: Great design, Build quality
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
BoroBalla

Great Purchase
November 12, 2010

Very satisfied with my purchase. I was looking for a quality soft shell for those cool days where rain might come at any time. This fits the bill perfectly. It is comfortable, lightweight, and the soft shell easily keeps you dry when it rains or snows. Despite the light weight, it also does well in temperatures all the way down to the 30's. I am 6'3", 220 pounds and the large fits perfectly.

Pros: Great design, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 2 / 5
YESMAN
from CS, TX

this jacket is perfection
December 04, 2010

My wife bouth this jacket for me last month and I wear it non stop. It fits me perfectly and is perfect for layering. I'm hoping to get another soon

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
coloradomountainhigh
Over 65 yrs

December 17, 2010

Purchased this coat for my son who been eyeing this for some time. Great coat and great quality.

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
Skiinggirl123
from South Carolina

Great Windproof Jacket
December 02, 2010

I bought this jacket for my dad for Christmas and ended up giving it to him early this year. He had mentioned that he wanted a great windproof jacket for chilly but not too cold nights. My brother and I both own a North Face Apex and absolutely love it, so dad is now part of the club! I wouldn't recommend this jacket for anything below maybe 35 degrees, but this is perfect for fall!

Pros: Build quality, Lasts forever, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
csi64
from Washington, D.C.
45-54 yrs

Great buy!!!
November 10, 2010

50% off and fits great. If I had my druthers I would like to have an inside pocket.

Pros: Build quality
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
jp69
from CT

Nice Jacket
December 04, 2010

Great fitting jacket. I wear all the time. Rain or cold perfect all around everyday jacket.

rosebud

November 17, 2010

This jacket was a great present. I would definitely recommend buying it. Men love the color, and the texture of the jacket is great!

Pros: Lasts forever, Great value, Cons: Cost
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Adventureous
from Chicago, IL
18-24 yrs

Great Purchase
November 12, 2010

I purchased this jacket as a replacement to an ordinary fleece jacket that I have had for years, and found this North Face Apex Bionic jacket to be a great purchase. I love my old fleece jacket, but was not getting the warmth I needed, so I was looking for a replacement that withstood many qualities and had great features. With this jacket, I found the fleece like warmth to be spectacularly warm, even warmer than my ordinary fleece jacket, and the outer layer, turned out to be as wind resistant as my windbreaker. I love how it is warm, wind resistant and that it practically fits snug to my body keeping me warm on a windy fall day. The features on this jacket are good too. I love how it has multiple pockets for things like my iPod, cell phone, and a map or two, if I ever do some touring. I feel that the pockets are great to keep the contents you are carrying dry, if it is a bit wet, and safe as they zip real nicely too. Overall I feel that this jacket was exactly the replacement I was looking for and I will be wearing it for years to come.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
Maluballer23
25-34 yrs

Quality
December 04, 2010

This is a quality jacket that fits well and offers a good amount of cold protection. The outside is durable and the inside is comfortable. I would recommend the purchase of this jacket.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Cons: Cost
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5

55-64 yrs

Can't go wrong
December 05, 2010

I purchased this jacket for my son who has never owned a soft-shell jacket. He said it is the warmest jacket he has ever had and super-comfortable. The jacket is fitted -- great for those who do not like a boxy look -- and great for layering. There is no bulk to the jacket, making it very easy to pack or carry. I got the jacket on sale at Altrec, making it a real bargain for a North Face item.

Pros: Great design, Build quality
WindProtection: 3 / 5
jp69
from CT
35-44 yrs

Nice Jacket
December 04, 2010

Great fitting jacket. I wear all the time. Rain or cold perfect all around everyday jacket.

FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 3 / 5
GoPITT
from Philly, PA
35-44 yrs

November 24, 2010

Nice looking soft shell. I am somewhat sandwiched between a medium and a large - I purchased the large and am happy I did. It is not too bulky with just a t-shirt, but also fits well over a bulky hoody. Nice alternative to my hard shell. Very happy with my purchase.

Pros: Great design, Build quality
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
Roshin
from Ames, IA
25-34 yrs

Nice Jackct
November 18, 2010

Suitable for fall in Midwest and stylish. No need to be worried in light rain. Even good during weekend.

Pros: Great design, Performance, Ease of use
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
pcrage2
from fort wayne, in
35-44 yrs

great jacket!
December 06, 2010

by far, my most used jacket. any time a jacket is needed and the temp is over about 30-degrees, this jacket is perfect. water resistant, and excellent protection against the wind!

Pros: Build quality, Performance, Cons: Cost
FitClothes: 3 / 5
shopping4family
from Guthrie, OK
35-44 yrs

Great Purchase
December 06, 2010

I bought this jacket for my husband for Christmas. He absolutely loves it. He lilked it so much I bought myself one also.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance
YESMAN
from CS, TX
18-24 yrs

this jacket is perfection
December 04, 2010

My wife bouth this jacket for me last month and I wear it non stop. It fits me perfectly and is perfect for layering. I'm hoping to get another soon

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
h20girl
from Maine
45-54 yrs

Mens Apex Bionic Jacket
December 05, 2010

This is such an awesome jacket. I have four of them in the women's version (all bought from Altrec) and went to the men's version because I wanted red. A 'Pink' color was only available and pink is not me! The men's medium fits very similar to my women's XL. I have had my other apex's for almost 3 years and have seen minimal wear and tear. I know this 'new' one will last just as long. I live in Maine and this is the perfect early fall, winter layer and early spring jacket. i wear it in the summer too with just a t-shirt and am comfortable enough. Like I said, this is one AWESOME Jacket, I highly recommend it!!! I will buy this jacket till I am 90.

Pros: Great design, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value, Cons: Cost

Can't go wrong
December 05, 2010

I purchased this jacket for my son who has never owned a soft-shell jacket. He said it is the warmest jacket he has ever had and super-comfortable. The jacket is fitted -- great for those who do not like a boxy look -- and great for layering. There is no bulk to the jacket, making it very easy to pack or carry. I got the jacket on sale at Altrec, making it a real bargain for a North Face item.

Pros: Performance, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Luv2save
45-54 yrs

December 05, 2010

I have bought these for my two sons and husband. The covered zipper at the top is nice as all have short necks and get scratched by zippers or scratchy fabric. They all seem to wear all year even in the winter. Pricey, but they tire of the color before the jacket wears out. We do have some stains that will not come out but overall they all seem happy with them.

Pros: Ease of use, Cons: Cost
Patagone

Strange Fit
November 30, 2010

This jacket was incredibly nice, and the material felt like it could hold up to most windy/rainy conditions thrown at it. However the fit was extremely strange. It was too short, and unfortunately the fit just didn't work. Overall loved the material and quality, just not the fit.

Cons: Bad design
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WindProtection: 3 / 5
Proudmom

Great jacket!
December 30, 2010

While browsing Altrec for a new jacket for my son for Christmas I spotted this one made by Northface. I remembered that his sister has one that seemed to be basically the same jacket ( in women's style of course) and I realized that she has been wearing the jacket for a couple of years now (not a small thing considering she's owned many coats and jackets the last couple years that I've seen on her a few times and then never again). So I realized this jacket seems to be her goto jacket - meaning it would surely please her brother to have one. Well, that is exactly how it turned out at Christmas when he opened the box. It was indeed pretty much the same as his sister's (but in men's style) - and she couldn't rave enough to him about the "amazing" wind protection it gives and how she has even used it for snowboarding with a sweater under it because the fabric is so flexible and giving - as well as the cut of it. My son loved the jacket - said he'd never felt anything like that fabric and he said it felt great to wear. I gave it a good rating in durability since I know my daughter's has held up very well for a couple of years now. Finally, he is about 5'8" and lanky and the medium fit him perfectly -- no "ape arms" (too long) like on some jackets!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use
silver2

Great Jacket
December 28, 2010

I purchased this jacket for myself last year and absolutely love it. I can wear it at any time of the year. It works for a light spring jacket or it works for a winter jacket when layered with another jacket. It is very durable and recommend it to all of my friends. I ended up buying one for my boyfriend!

Pros: Build quality, Lasts forever, Ease of use, Great value

from Florida

Happy w/ Purchase
December 17, 2010

I needed something for cold weather to layer for a Short trip to Mi. from Fl. not too bulky so I could use this again in Florida, I also checked sizing at a competitors store for they did not carry the color I wanted, I am 5'9 1/2 170 and chose a large, medium was too snug and w/ not allow much in layering For the short time I had item I was Pleased w/ this purchase

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Will24
45-54 yrs

North Face Apex
November 13, 2010

Great Jacket you will love it the fit and quality is superior the fit is spot on thanks so much!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 2 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
eBell93
from Stamford, CT
18-24 yrs

great buy
December 11, 2010

this is a truly great jacket, would recommend it to anyone. apexs are great jackets. look good and fit well. they have a draw string around the hem and velcro cuffs to keep the weather out. is great in the cold, you can easily put a hoodie under it.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
clyde
45-54 yrs

Northface Apex
December 10, 2010

Great jacket that is comfortable and durable. I would recommend this jacket to anyone needing a light-weight jacket

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Cons: Cost
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Buyingforothers
from Vermont
55-64 yrs

December 15, 2010

I purchased this coat as a gift for my son after having purchased the women's version for my daughter who loved hers. Both found the Apex coats to be very durable and wind and water resistant. A great lightweight coat for cool and harsh weather. They made great gifts and both have been very happy with these coats.

Pros: Build quality, Performance
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
rv6flyer
from Newnan, GA
35-44 yrs

Great jacket!
November 10, 2010

So happy with this jacket. The fit is perfect, the sleeves are long enough (even though I'm 6'2" and have long arms). Perfect jacket for Georgia.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
Shopper55875
from greenville, nc
18-24 yrs

Great Jacket
December 15, 2010

I bought this jacket for my boyfirned, he loves it. BUt the arms run a little long.

Pros: Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Corona12oz
from Houston, TX
25-34 yrs

Great Purchase!!!!
December 15, 2010

Its my first North Face Jacket and Im 100% percent sure it wont be the last one. Cant wait for my next purchase.

Pros: Great design, Build quality
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
skimanskiman

Great Jacket
December 07, 2010

Great jacket for cold weather. I've been wearing it for the beginning of winter and it has held up very well in wind and cold. I have only been out in the rain once, and although it is not completely waterproof, it does a decent job of blocking out water.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance
YetiSpaghetti
from Minneapolis, MN

Good for 35-50 Degrees F
November 29, 2010

Blocks out the wind and is warmer than it looks. Good construction and details. This is a great late fall or early spring jacket. Two cons: - The sleeve length is a bit long for a size small. I usually wear a 32" sleeve length and the sleeves here would be more appropriate on a 34"-36" Not too bad--it just bunches up a bit. - I also wish the collar fit a bit more snug around the neck. When I zip it up, there's still a pretty big gap.

Pros: Ease of use, Cons: collar too big
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 4 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
lisa1559
from Iowa
35-44 yrs

Great purchase
November 10, 2010

Ordered this jacket for my 21 year old son and he loves it. Great jacket for going back and forth to classes at college even in the cold weather. He is 5'10" 190 lbs. and we got the large and the fit is perfect. Super fast shipping too!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance
cooltoad
from pennsylvania

apex mens bionic jacket
November 16, 2010

I just got this jacket last week. I was excited to order this as I was in need for something that is water proof and wind proof along with some warmth. This jacket is one solution to many issues. Plus its so light weight and skinny that I dont feel bulky. The jackets fits well and I have already got couple of comments on it. I would highly recommend this product. I had my wife get one of these too.

Pros: Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 4 / 5
FitClothes: 3 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 2 / 5
Mize5
from Cedar Falls, IA
18-24 yrs

Great Buy
December 07, 2010

Overall a great buy, fairly warm for the most part... rain drops shake right off jacket! Love the style and look

Pros: Great design, Ease of use, Great value
facingnorth
from Chantilly, Virginia

excellent all around
December 27, 2010

this jacket is bulletproof, let's see where to start? completely wind proof, waterproof, good warmer, extremely durable, excellet fit, awesome style, other jackets that I still own simply don't compare to this jacket, not my first northface, surely not the last one.

Pros: Great value, stylish, excellent fit, Cons: needs internal pocket
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
wesswmn
from Chicago, IL
45-54 yrs

Excellent Jacket
November 15, 2010

I bought this jacket for my son through Altrec. I got it much cheaper than it was in the retail stores and shipping was fast. I would most definitely buy from Altrec again. The jacket itself is great. Super warm and my son loves it. He is a teenager and too cool to wear "jackets", but he wears this one! Very pleased with the purchase

Pros: Great design, Lasts forever, Great value
Comfort: 4 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 4 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
outdoorsman99
from north carolina
25-34 yrs

good value good gear
November 23, 2010

I was very pleased with this northface jacket. got it for the lowest price possible no complaints. if you live on the east coast get express shipping other wise take a while to ship.

Pros: Great design, Performance, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
ameggs

January 02, 2011

got it in the taupe green & it is a great looking color - goes with everything

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5

from INDIANA

NORTH FACE APEX BIONIC JACKET
November 13, 2010

GREAT JACKET BY ITSELF, OR AS A LINER. ORDERED ONE FOR A CHRISTMAS GIFT, GREAT SERVICE.

Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
at260
from Austin, TX
18-24 yrs

Great Jacket
December 25, 2010

This jacket is great. I've wore it through fall and winter weather in Texas. It is comfortable, warm, and windproof. It works great even in light rain. Overall, great buy and will purchase again.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 3 / 5
WindProtection: 3 / 5
jacketman
from North Georgia
35-44 yrs

Great Jacket
November 22, 2010

I love this jacket. If you want a warm, light weight jacket, this is it. It even repels water in a light rain. I haven't tested it in a down pour yet but I'm sure it will keep you dry. Great material and well made.

Pros: Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Great value
Comfort: 3 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
FitClothes: 2 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
roughenit

Great Jacket
November 23, 2010

Love this jacket. However, it is smaller than expected. I'm an average built guy and ordered a medium. Fits well in the arms and at the waist but the chest is very tight/snug fitting. Overall I am very pleased with the build quality of the jacket. My friends are asking me "where did you get that awsome jacket".

Pros: Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 2 / 5
Ztac
from Seattle, Wa
18-24 yrs

December 29, 2010

Looks great and is high quality but the collar is too high on the neck and the jacket is an inch or so too short, but other than that it is excellente!

Pros: Build quality, Great value
shopping4family
from Guthrie, OK

Great Purchase
December 06, 2010

I bought this jacket for my husband for Christmas. He absolutely loves it. He lilked it so much I bought myself one also.

Pros: Ease of use, Great value
Corona12oz
from Houston, TX

Great Purchase!!!!
December 15, 2010

Its my first North Face Jacket and Im 100% percent sure it wont be the last one. Cant wait for my next purchase.

Pros: Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value

from INDIANA
55-64 yrs

NORTH FACE APEX BIONIC JACKET
November 13, 2010

GREAT JACKET BY ITSELF, OR AS A LINER. ORDERED ONE FOR A CHRISTMAS GIFT, GREAT SERVICE.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Ease of use
roughenit

Great Jacket
November 23, 2010

Love this jacket. However, it is smaller than expected. I'm an average built guy and ordered a medium. Fits well in the arms and at the waist but the chest is very tight/snug fitting. Overall I am very pleased with the build quality of the jacket. My friends are asking me "where did you get that awsome jacket".

Pros: great looking jacket that gets lots of attention, Cons: smaller than expected, order next size up
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 5 / 5
outdoorshopper
from Michigan
35-44 yrs

Excellent jacket
November 25, 2010

I bought this jacket for my husband, who is very tough in his clothes. This jacket lives up to North Face's reputation for quality, and durability. This is the third Apex jacket I have bought. Fits great, sleeves nice and long, a great purchase.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
mommy
from Missouri
18-24 yrs

Great jacket
December 05, 2010

I bought this for my son who went off to college. He loves the jacket and says that water repels off of it when raining. looks great too!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Performance, Ease of use
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
WaterProtection: 4 / 5
WindProtection: 4 / 5
Dodoche
from Chihuahua, Mexico
55-64 yrs

North face Apex Bionic
November 16, 2010

I bought two, one for me and another for my son. We used in Valle Nevado in Chile and was wonderful.

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
Campjeep
top50Contributor

from Kentucky
35-44 yrs

Great Jacket
December 28, 2010

This is the best feeling jacket I have ever owned!! Would recommend everyone owns one!!!

Pros: Great design, Build quality, Lasts forever, Performance, Ease of use, Great value, great color
Bijou

November 10, 2010

I bought 3 of these jackets in S, M, and XL for my three sons...each size fits perfectly and my sons love them. We all own a lot of North Face so I didnt doubt they would be as expected. they all walk or ride bikes to classes so these jackets are perfect for the elements!

Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED