The North Face Men's Apex Bionic Jacket

$148.95
86589

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 21 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 21 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

The North Face Men's Apex Bionic Jacket Reviews Page 6

Review Summary

4.9 out of 5

471 Reviews

Pros
  • Lasts forever: 97
  • Build quality: 80
  • Ease of use: 36
  • stylish: 3

Cons
  • Cost: 33
  • Bad design: 3
  • none: 2
  • a bit short legth wise: 1
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
Wind Protection: 5 / 5
Wind Protection: 4 / 5
Water Protection: 3.6 / 5
Fit: 3.1 / 5

471 Ratings & Reviews

Exceptional
February 23, 2008

I recently wore this jacket on a skiing trip, it was even more than I hoped for. With a fleece pull-over (laying) to prepare for the ups and downs in temps, this jacket was perfect. More than the jacket was the service I received from Taj. I personally went to the warehouse to look at the jacket to answer some questions I had. Since I ordered this jacket, a friend of mine was so impressed with the service and product I received, he ordered the exact same jacket in another color. Thanks for the exceptional service and great product!

Great SoftShell
November 21, 2006

This jacket is great for mid to low temperatures. It does an excellent job of cutting down wind, and the jacket still lets you move around freely. It is very lightweight and good for walking around and doing some exercise. In terms of waterproof, the jacket does an adequate job.

the recipient loved it
March 09, 2005

Great looking, good price and the person I bought it for loved it.

Excellent
April 15, 2005

This is an exceptional jacket. Absolutely no wind coming in, very lightweight and water proof. I got the chance to field test this jacket the day after I got it. It held up very well on an overnight trip in the pouring rain and wind. The only thing this jacket needs is a draw string around the waist.

Nice Jacket
April 09, 2008

I bought this jacket and returned it only bc I was looking more for a fleece jacket that zips into a NF shell. The jacket felt good and looked great too. Felt durable even though its a lighter weight jacket. Would recommend it to anyone.

Great, classy jacket!!
February 17, 2008

I got this jacket for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day and he loves it! It fits well and it went well with the rest of his attire.

Good jacket - shame about the fit around the shoulder/arms
August 20, 2008

I like the jacket and got it for a great price during a recent sale. Fits well (am just under 6ft tall and a medium fits me fine) - although the arms seemed a little longer than I'd expect. As others have commented the fit/cut around the shoulders & upper arm is poor but this is a minor point (in my opinion).

Nice Jacket for the price
June 15, 2008

This is a very well made light weight jacket from North Face. It has a contoured fit and does a great job of keeping the wind and rain out. Can't beat the preformance for the price!

Awesome Jacket!!!!
August 27, 2008

I went camping last winter and happened to borrow one of these jackets from a friend. I loved it so much that I bought a black one for myself. Well I enjoyed my black one so much that I decided I needed another color, so I bought a red one. I wear a t-shirt under my jacket and that's it. It shields of the rain like water on a duck. Great piece of clothing!!!!

Functional and Sporty
June 13, 2006

Love this new jacket I bought from Altrec! From the Bay Area and land of a thousand climates, Although I'm not much of a skier, I'm confident I can take it from those sunny but windy to chilly and foggy to cold in the snow...it's the perfect versatile jacket for those not wanting to buy 3-4 jackets! I usually go black because it's so easy to match, but I'm so happy I got the root green. For guys, it's really nice! Definitely, something I will use and keep for the next several years!

Great Deal
September 23, 2007

Wonderful jacket, this is the second one I have bought because I grew out of my old one. It is amazingly warm and yet light. Provides great resistance against the elements.

top250Contributor

a light and comfortable softshell
September 09, 2008

A pleasure to wear, but not alone during very cold weather. Great under a waterproof shell.

Good Buy
August 31, 2008

So far this has been a bad ass jacket in the rain, but not yet tested in the snow. I'm 6'1" 170 and the large fit perfect. The ignition orange is a great color!

Nice lightweight jacket
November 08, 2006

I bought this jacket prior to going to Point Reyes. It kept me warm enough with wind gusts of 40mph. I am 5' 8" 150 lbs. and bought a medium. The sleeves were a little long but that is my only complaint.

top1000Contributor

Great jacket
October 02, 2007

I wear this jacket under a synthetic motorcycle jacket for extra warmth while riding. Works very well at keeping the wind out, and the outside material is great for sliding another jacket on top. I usually wear an XL, but I bought a large in this and if fits nicely... a bit tapered fit and plenty of sleeve length. Wonderful jacket.

Nice jacket
April 25, 2007

It is well made and nice looking jacket. I wear it all the time. Nice jacket

Great looking, comfortable soft shell
April 29, 2006

We bought the jacket in Root green which is a great looking colour, the jacket fits well and is comfortable to wear, would highly recomend this product for anyone looking for a great fitting, stylish soft shell at a reasonable price.

Great jacket
September 08, 2006

I give the Apex Bionic a top rating. It is substantial but not overly heavy. Nice sturdy construction with a sylish understated design. I like the texture and density of the exterior fabric-not fragile or easilly ripped. The interior is very soft with room for layering if needed. Great buy!

apex bionic jacket
January 11, 2008

i really like the jacket however its not as warm as i thought it would be but it is still a very nice jacket. its also a little short to me. im around 5'8" and it comes down to my belt on my pants.

Cant understand why iI waited 31 years to get this jacket!
February 17, 2008

Love it!

Great Spring and Fall Jacket with style
November 13, 2005

Great Style and perfect material. Also it was really good deal on Altrec.com. But it needs to have a draw string. if the next model of this product has it, I would definitely buy them again.

Comfortable light jacket
April 15, 2008

I had expected a warmer jacket, but as a spring jacket it works well, looks good and is comfortable.

Love it! And it came quickly!
March 31, 2008

Very breathable; nice for warm weather & cool. And it came in 2 days!

Excellent Jacket, 2nd Purchase
March 06, 2008

This jacket has an amazing fit for both outdoor and casual settings. Relatively light weight but keeps you very warm even in pretty cold conditions (I wear it for most all of winter in NC). Only downside is it let's strong winds through since it's a shorter jacket. I'm 5'11" and 175 lbs. and I wear a medium.

5 great
February 19, 2008

This is a great jacket. It works great in cold weather. It is a true fit, not to big and not bulky. My son loves it.

the best compared to the rest
March 26, 2008

This jacket is great! It is what I have been looking for for a long time. the staff at Altrec was great. My first choice wasn't in my size so they directed me to the apex bionic and I couldn't be happier. Thanks so much for the help and the great service.

Great looking and warm jacket
September 19, 2006

I like the jacket. It looks great and warm.

Great Jacket for WA
August 24, 2008

I love this jacket, It fits great and well insulated. Wind proof and great for our mild WA winters. Awesome fit and quality. Everything you can expect from North Face. Great customer service from altrec as always ! Thank you guys

Excellent jacket.
January 31, 2008

Great jacket, works in all but the highest wind. Anything at 30 mph or above and you will feel the breeze cut through the jacket. Seems a little stiff at first. The sleeves on the jacket run long.

12-15-08
February 15, 2008

I bought this jacket for my boyfriend and he absolutely loves it!! He travels for his job and it's lightweight enough that it packs easily. It's perfect for the cooler climates that he is in while watching games in various states! He wants a couple more in different colors!

Maybe a little too Bionic for Southern California
August 23, 2008

Wind doesn't really blow all that hard here. If it did the palm trees would fall over and kill most of us. But the Altrec price was too good pass up. One fellow commented that it was similar to scuba diving suit material & I tend to agree. A jacket to be proud to have wind or no. Thanks again Altrec.

one of the best jacket that I ever owned
August 03, 2008

Great jacket for all kinds of conditions, light yet warm .

These are great jackets particularly for the Pacific Northwest
May 26, 2008

I have two of these jackets and the weight is ideal for my climate. They are very water resistant, sturdy jackets and very comfortable. The only weak point of the jackets is the cuff closure. They are not as strong as they should be and can tear. Northface replaced the velcro flaps cuff closure on one of my jackets. The service at Altrec was outstanding. I expected my jacket in 4 or 5 days and received it in two.

Very Good Value
April 28, 2008

All excellent all-around jacket for cool to mildly cold weather. Not quite as wind resistant as advertised, but good waterproofing and overall protection from the elements. Nice looking and comfortable.

Excellent Jacket
August 18, 2008

This is my second Apex Bionic. Of all the North Face products I own, these are by far the best. Good for temperatures 25-50, it is generally windproof. My only complaint is that the sleeves seem to run kind of long for the respective size of the jacket, but it is only a minor complaint.

great jacket, easy to order, shipped on time, no hassle
February 15, 2008

my son loves the jacket, lightweight, but very warm.

Great Jacket For Rapidly Changing Weather
March 26, 2008

I wanted a jaket for the Spring and live in the upper Midwest. Weather goes from rainy and 40 degrees to 20 degrees and snowy in a day. This Jacket performed perfectly where I wasn't too hot, kept the moisture out, and was very warm on windy days. It runs a bit large so try one on at the local sports store before ordering online. I have a Mountain Hardware heavy Fleece I wear an XL in and I stuck with a large in this jacket. Sleeves are a bit long, but have velcro wrist snuggers to keep them from getting annoying. Love the chest pocket and use it for my iPod. Overall great coat.

Giovanniko
top500Contributor

Better than I thought
March 29, 2008

Great item. Really holds out the wind and rail. Sleeves are a little long, but if using with gloves it works out better that way. Material is great and finish top notch.

Great present!
March 30, 2008

I bought this item for my boyfriend for his birthday. He had a jacket similar to this one of another brand but this one takes the cake! He loves it!

Five Star Rating
January 03, 2008

My son loves the jacket that I purchased from your company! You have a better selection of styles and colors than any other source on-line. I definitely will use your company for future gifts for my family.

A great outer and mid layer
April 12, 2008

I first bought this jacket in Fall 2007 in advance of the Minnesota winter. I was attracted to it by it's excellent fit, it's wind-proofing and to it's moderate water proofing. It has not let me down. It folds neatly into a daypack for temporary relief from unexpected showers as an outer layer. It excels however in windy conditions either as an outer layer up to about 30 mph but also as a mid layer when the gales are howling. Excellent thermal properties allows it to be used as a midlayer whilst skiing, or even as an outer layer on the milder days in SE Minnesota. I am not as keen on the colors for 08/09 so I am buying up two more for the year ahead. On a note of caution, it is an excellent fit for the slim / average build. If above average build, it might be worth trying it on first. That withstanding, I am happy to get this my fullest endorsement.

IT'S THE NORTH FACE!!
February 25, 2007

Excellent Jacket! Had it about 3 weeks and been in driving rain/snow. No water or wind gets through this baby! You'll love it!

Nice jacket
January 04, 2008

2nd one we've bought, because we liked it so much the first time around. Perfect for our climate in the Northwest here. Keeps the rain off, lightweight yet warm

Great Jacket...
March 24, 2005

Great all around jacket. Truly wind proof. I recommend it for casual and technical uses.

JesterC

Streachy and good Wind+Water Proofness
August 24, 2006

Pretty good all around soft shell jacket for cooler weather metro area. But due to its thickness, may not be suitable for LA or like hot and humid cities.

warm in the winter!
January 09, 2008

We just got back from skiing, and this jacket was perfect. In snowy, wintery weather - we had a normal fleece pullover with this jacket. It was warm enough that we ditched the fleece for the afternoon. It is clean cut and a great jacket.

Awesome jacket.
March 13, 2008

Very versatile. I have had it for three weeks. Does not feel stiff like most new jackets. Very comfortable to wear indoors as well as outdoors. Surprisingly warm for the thickness.

a great jacket for a great price
March 06, 2005

I bought the jacket for hiking and general outdoor sports and was very pleased to use it also as a jacket for skiing and seakayaking. the material is extremly confortable, warm and windproof. The breathable shell brings the damp from the body good to the outside which gives a comfortable climate on the inside. I tested the jacket also in light rain and snow and did'nt get wet. All in all I am 100% satified.

NuttyBuckeye

Great Jacket!!
December 13, 2007

Good for wet weather, although not waterproof, stands up well. Wore the jacket running - performed well - (fyi, no pit-zips).

Sprisingly nice
April 17, 2006

Great jacket for all kinds of workout stuff. Breathes really well yet still keeps you warm. About the only time you can't wear it is when it really is warm. Excellent in wind, not just waterproof but the surface is also somewhat stain resistant. If you normally wear a large get a medium as this isn't the kind of jacket you'd want to wear oversized (unless you're just a poser :-) About all it lacks is a hood or a drawstring at the neck (2006 comes with wrist and waist snuggers). Also, the pockets are the vents, so think before you stash. Great for the price.

Best bang for the buck
April 08, 2005

This is my third one. I bought a size smaller to get a snug fit due to lack of draw string at the hem. Otherwise it is as good as those costing 2-3 times more.

Great Jacket
August 30, 2008

Perfect for the in between weather. You gotta get one

Sweet Jacket
May 20, 2007

This jacket is very comfortable. The rain sheets right of it as well. It's pretty lightweight, but still warm.

Outstanding Jacket
April 09, 2008

This jacket is ideal for this zone. I live in the Chilean Patagonia, and we have several monts with snow, wind, and rain. Furthermore, his fit is very true and comfortable. Very good choice.

Well worth the cost.
March 17, 2008

I bought this jacket 2 months ago & have been really pleased with it. It functions well in a variety of weather conditions making it a very flexible choice. It keeps you warm & is rain-resistant. The jacket seemed a little stiff to start off but became more comfortable after a wash. For what it's worth it also seems resistant to stains. I highly recommend it.

Mcadmin

This Jacket Is Outstanding!
March 22, 2005

If you're looking for a great jacket look no further. The style is outstanding, fit perfectly and the material is very durable. If you're going to by this jacket this is the web site to purchase it from. Customer service was nothing short of excellent, shipping was very fast and I would recommend this site to anyone. I would purchase from this web site again! Thanks Altrec!

Good jackets
June 12, 2008

I gave this jacket to my father, he said to me that it was comfortable and warm when he wore it. good jacket...

Great jacket
October 15, 2005

Very nice jacket. It's a great product.

Great Jacket
February 25, 2008

Comfortable and durable. Great as a liner on cold days or stand alone on warmer windy/rainy days. Great to stay dry for a change. Good value!

Wonderful Coat
December 30, 2007

Great fitting coat. Warm and extremely comfortable. Looks great with the other North Face jacket I also recieved.

ordered two jackets unsure of size
January 06, 2008

Jacket was very much liked by my son. Light weight yet warm. Return was easily done

great practical jacket
December 29, 2007

Living in a cold area, this jacket is a life saver. Even though it isn't very thick, the jacket insulates heat really well.

Super Easy
February 25, 2008

This is a very easy site to navigate around and order from--which I GREATLY appreciate since I don't do computers that well. Also, have had to exchange somehing before and it was VERY fast and easy. Thanks!

staff

Perfect Jacket!
March 14, 2008

This jacket is great for a wide variety of activities as well as just hanging around the in the city. Excellent breathability and sheds rain effortlessly. I wear this nearly everyday and couldn't be happier. A great jacket that's worth every penny.

Love this jacket! A middle layer dream come true!
October 16, 2006

I use it all the time as described as a jacket, but it also makes a great middle layer to block wind and retain warmth. The fabric is flexible, doesn't take up as much space as a regular fleece and gives you a lot of bang for the space for keeping the elements out and the warmth in, while breathing! A layering must!

Great everyday outdoor work jacket
July 03, 2006

water repellant enough (we constuction workers have high expectations often disappointed with this word but not with this jacket) it takes a half an hour in a steady shower for a seam to get wet hour and a half to get completely wet jacket+ sweatshirt 45degrees allday fleece+ jacket40allday 2fleeces+jacket 20degrees allday great wet+ dry protestion durable and flexible for physical exertion. would be better with a waiast drawcord but when layering it becomes a mute point

This is a great jacket....fits well and performs as designed.
August 27, 2008

I've been looking for a nice softshell jacket for sometime. After trying on numerous versions from various manufacturers I finally decided on the North Face version. The North Face quality of workmanship, fit and performance is far superior to any of the other jackets I tried on. Stays cool in warm weather and keeps out the chill and wind in cooler weather. In addition, Altrec.com had the best price for this jacket. Go Altrec.com!!!

Good quality softshell for the money.
March 17, 2007

I have a couple of these softshells and my last one has a drawcord. Great value for the money with a good look in any color. It does not breath as well as other softshells but works well in cooler weather and it will keep the wind and light precip off you. Not as technical for all around use in demanding conditions but has been greatly improved with the hem drawcord.

Great Jacket
February 02, 2008

This jacket is amazingly warm for its weight, and keeps absolutely all wind away away from the body. It is meant to fit closely and is very nicely styled. For colder temperatures it is best paired with a fleece under layer, or used itself as an insulator beneath a heavier coat. This is definitely the best jacket I have ever owned.

Doneen Griggs
September 03, 2008

My husband loves the jacket, the size was very accurant as I am leary of buying clothes over the net. He is a tall person roughly 6'2" and the length was just perfect. I would definately buy from here again for the whole family this time. thanks

Great Jacket
September 03, 2008

Really nice jacket. Got it for a trip to Russia because I wanted something warm and light, and that is exactly what I got. It is extremely warm and lightweight. They do run big in the sleeves so I went with a Large where I normally wear a XL, but you can't go wrong with this jacket.

Great jacket
January 05, 2008

Very good jacket...

Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
    Live Chat
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED