The North Face Men's Nuptse 2 Down Jacket

123143

Sold Out
We'll tell you when there's more:



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship - details 
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

The North Face Men's Nuptse 2 Down Jacket Reviews Page 3

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5

332 Reviews

Pros
  • Lasts forever: 8
  • Build quality: 30
  • Great value: 25
  • Great design: 23

Cons
  • Cost: 3
  • Bad design: 1
  • bulky: 1
  • just two hand pockets: 1
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
Warmth: 5 / 5
Fit: 3.5 / 5
Water Protection: 3.4 / 5

332 Ratings & Reviews

great product, timely processing of shipment, great price
March 13, 2006

This is a backup jacket for my very old original one which has served me well for many years. My oldest North Face gear is over 30 years old, and still going strong. While I realize there are many good manufacturers, and, indeed, I own some of their stuff, we have around 10-12 jackets by North Face, and have always felt we got our moneys worth. While new to Altrec, my congratulations on your website, and the ease of doing business with you.

This jacket is a winner.
May 19, 2007

Classic down jacket from North Face with good looks and the dependable North Face construction and attention to detail. This jacket is a winner, made even better by the Altrec price and service.

True Performer
March 20, 2006

Warm, lightweight, comfortable, and yet still stylish! A friend of mine bought one and we both love wearing them. Makes you wish for cold weather so you can wear it! I highly recommend it

Warm and sharp looking
June 11, 2007

The price was great and the jacket was even more than I expected.

TNF NUPTSE MENS JACKET
January 25, 2006

THE NUPTSE IS WARM,COMPRESSABLE AND HAS A GREAT FIT.THE OUTTER SHELL IS TOUGH BUT SOFT.THE ABILITY TO ZIP IT INTO A GORE-TEX TNF SHELL IS A REAL ADVANTAGE.THE HOOD IN THE COLLAR DOES COME IN HANDY.THE TAFETTA FABRIC ON THE SHOULDERS IS NICE ADDED PROTECTION IF YOUR CARRYING A DAY PACK.I WISH IT STILL CAME WITH A TNF STUFF SACK RATHER THEN USING THE STOW POCKET.

mens nuptse down jacket
February 07, 2007

excellent item,excellent delivery,excellent price. my new store for getting all my winter clothing needs.

Great!
January 27, 2006

This jacket is lightweight and warm. I love it.

Awesome
January 03, 2007

THere not much more to say about this jacket. It is the perfect length, warm and stylish. Looks great with gym pants or jeans. ANd Altrec's customer service was excellent too!

Treker
top500Contributor

COLORADO CLIMATIZED
January 23, 2007

Strictly a field "stand" or "stadium" shell. If you generate a moderate or high activity level, you will melt. I use all goose down shells for extreme outdoor activities which generate low activity. No other material can maintain the high degree of retained warmth. I have been out all day in -25F wind chills with sleet covering my entire attire and never felt one moment of cold. Go for it if you need extreme inclimate weather coverage!!!!

great hiking jacket
March 10, 2006

I live in colorado and bought the jacket to use for climbing in the winter. Works great in cold weather and is excellent under a shell when the wind picks up or things start getting wet. I would definately recommend this jacket to anyone looking for a jacket that will keep them warm when the temperature drops.

Very warm and lightweight jacket. Great for hiking!
February 20, 2006

This jacket is very warm. It compresses well for hiking and is lightweight.

Excellent Jacket at excellent price.
March 10, 2006

I really love this jacket. I also get many good review from so many others that I encounter. Jacket is very warm and very well made. I never had such a great jacket.

Great jacket!
February 12, 2006

Very warm, yet very lightweight!

Great jacket
February 07, 2007

Lighter than I thought, very warm, and stylish. In a nutshell, quality jacket with good looks.

Great!
March 01, 2006

This jacket is great. I bought it for my husband and he loves it. He told me it is very warm and light weight. Thanks for the fast and easy service.

five stars
January 07, 2007

I bought this for my boyfriend whom is very picky about coats, and he is now a Northface fan. I am asking for one for my birthday in February. Five stars.

Great coat
February 26, 2006

This replaces my Woolrich down jacket I bought in 1972 while in college that has candle wax and soup on the front from numerous winter backpacking trips, and I haven't even become sentimental. Ahh, goosedown just feels so nice. I'm very happy with the jacket, one of 4 TNF jackets I've had over the years. I like the fit of Marmot better because their sleeves are just a tad longer, and I use a 16-35 dress shirt, and 43 long suit. But the large size sleeves are just long enough on this jacket and it feels great. These days winter camping has given way to dog walking in the neighborhood, and the hood on the jacket was a very pleasant benefit when the wind kicked up, as did the fleece lined pockets with overflap and a zipper--just big enough to get a gloved hand in. It seems everyone has gone to a zipper on the front; I do miss the versatility of snaps for changing exertion levels, but the zipper is lighter and less expensive to produce, and does have a nice pull to make it easier for a gloved hand. I love down coats... Also a great deal on the Industry color which is more grey than blue, but looks very nice.

BEST BUY
January 03, 2007

What a jacket; fits great, looks great and keeps me warm.

Nice jacket, nice color.
November 06, 2006

This was a great jacket, but I prefer the vest becuase it feels less bulky. The adder brown is a great looking color.

Great jacket and great Altrec service!!!
June 03, 2007

I originally bought a well-known mountaineering company's down jacket from Altrec. But it didn't fit me very well and I wasn't satisfied with the quality of workmanship. I contacted Altrec's customer service by phone and received assistance in printing the mailing label to return the first down jacket. The North Face Nupste jacket arrived a few days later. It fits me well, and the quality is great and to my satisfaction. The Nupste jacket's zipper is compatible with a North Face waterproof shell I bought a year ago. I bought this jacket in May, 2007 so I won't be wearing it until November at the earliest but I am certain it will perform well because I have owned a Nupste down vest for the past 5 years. About 2 weeks after I purchased my Nupste jacket, the price was reduced by Altrec. I emailed Altrec about its Sale Price Adjustment and was promptly refunded the price difference. I recommend this jacket and commend Altrec for its great customer service.

exvelent
February 10, 2006

ecxelent, light , and black

very nice
February 22, 2007

Super warm Great jacket, lightweight, comfortable and provides amazing warmth.

Fits snug and is versatile
February 05, 2006

Very versatile and warm...I probably could have gone a size higher for further layering but I think it will work anyway.

Amazingly light and warm!
November 15, 2006

This jacket is the BEST! I moved to Chicago a few years ago from L.A. California. Every November I would run around looking for a "new" down jacket to keep me warm, seeing that the previous years purchase was a flop. I have low blood pressure and have a hard time producing body heat. As many of you may know, goose down is great when you can produce enough body heat to actually trap it in. I have a total of four goose down jackets that I have collected over these past few years ranging from $150-300 that claimed to be the warmest. I then purchased "the" warmest jacket EVER, not to mention the lightest. This jacket warms up the moment you put it on and stays that way until you take it off. I love to shop and any girl knows that having to lug around a big puffy jacket is no fun, even annoying. With this jacket, I am able to compress it down and fit it into a gallon size zip loc (after rolling all the air out) and am able to stuff it into my purse. How amazing its that. I am also a tiny person so after wiping the snow off my car, I am drenched! But thankfully this jacket is waterproof and doesn't get phased by all the wear and tear. It is a must. I do have to say, it isn't the most flattering but when you're that cold, who cares!!! Oh and Altec is the best! I purchased two jackets, one for my husband and the other for myself. They were shipped right on time as promised, not to mention when we needed to exchange my husbands for a different size there were questions asked and the return shiping was FREE!! They have made shopping online a pleasure. I had a question and talked to someone live on-line and when they needed more info. they called me immediatly and answered all my questions. Talk about great customer service.

NOT SO GREAT
March 18, 2006

I have down jackets from Marmot, Patagonia & Mountain Hardwear and in my opinion they are much better in quality than the Nuptse

best down jacket
June 10, 2007

This is my favorite jacket to wear. It's so light and warm. Great for when it's raining as well. The hood is well hidden in the collar. Looks and feels great.

Great jacket and great Altrec service!!!
June 04, 2007

I originally bought a well-known mountaineering company's down jacket from Altrec. But it didn't fit me very well and I wasn't satisfied with the quality of workmanship. I contacted Altrec's customer service by phone and received assistance in printing the mailing label to return the first down jacket. The North Face Nupste jacket arrived a few days later. It fits me well, and the quality is great and to my satisfaction. The Nupste jacket's zipper is compatible with a North Face waterproof shell I bought a year ago. I bought this jacket in May, 2007 so I won't be wearing it until November at the earliest but I am certain it will perform well because I have owned a Nupste down vest for the past 5 years. About 2 weeks after I purchased my Nupste jacket, the price was reduced by Altrec. I emailed Altrec about its Sale Price Adjustment and was promptly refunded the price difference. I recommend this jacket and commend Altrec for its great customer service.

TERRific! & FABBBulous
March 05, 2006

with Men's Nuptse down jacket you feel terrific & fabulous and when you wear it... It's really stand-out from the rest of the winter jacket. Not only your in a great style, ur also feel warm inside. For this famous NORTH FACE brand and a good price discount given by Altrec,What can you ask for.. it's a no brainer :P

Great jacket, great price, delivered quickly
February 14, 2006

I looked on eBay to buy this jacket, but was put off as no one had a return policy that could match Altrec's. The jacket's great, buy it - it's as simple as that. The only negative is that this version (Fall '05) does not stow into the internal pocket, so packing it is slightly more tricky (Not a great hardship, given the price I paid!)

Worth the purchase.
February 04, 2007

Great jacket. I got one for my boyfriend and then my father because he liked it so much. This jacket is great. Its super warm and not too heavy. Worth the money for the Chicago area where its been super cold!!!

Excellent coat!!
November 25, 2006

What a great coat! It is like being hugged in warmth and what great quality!

Very comfortable and light
February 10, 2006

I live in Pennsylvania close to Pittsburgh whrere the winters are very unpredictable. It is not uncommon for our temperatures to range from in the teens to in the fiftys. I recenty purchesd The North Face Nuptse Down Jacket to add to my arsenal of winter clothing. I wear it on 2-4 mile walks when the mercury goes under 30 degrees and so I think it is very warm and light and and can really like the fact of how well the fit is around my neck , very snug with out strangling me. The only warning I can offer is this is a delicate coat around thorns and thick brush. So far I am ver satified and would reccomened this coat for the right conditions being cold dry weather in open areas such as open trails or streets.

Warm and comfortable
March 13, 2006

It's a great jacket. Only problem is that the outside tends to get snagged and tear or get holes. Otherwise, a great warm jacket.

Warmth without the weight!
March 07, 2006

I purchased this jacket as a gift for my son's birthday.The clearance price made it much more affordable. He really liked how warm it was yet so lightweight. He decided not to bring it with him this semester abroad so he was only able to wear it for a short time. Our only concern was that the medium seemed a little small on him but knowing the Altrec customer service 100% guarantee makes this deal a great buy in case he decides to exchange it for a larger size when he returns.

perfect ift, excellent quality
June 09, 2007

I brought the jacket for my trip to the arctic circle. it did not disappoint, warm and well fitting.

Love this jacket!
February 24, 2006

More durable nylon fabric than other lighter weight 700 fill down jackets I have looked at. Great fit with nice features like the stowaway hood and adjustable cuffs. Very warm (0 degrees-no problem) without the Michelin man puffed up look. Altrec...great price and prompt delivery shipping.

He Loves It !!!
January 23, 2006

My 13 year old son loves the jacket. He could not believe how light weight it is and how warm it keeps him on those cold mornings waiting for the bus.

Great Jacket!
April 29, 2007

Great Coat! Very Warm and Comfortable! Great Service.

soft and stylish
February 25, 2006

I ordered this jacket for my teenage son and he loves it. It is very soft, extremely warm, almost waterproof, and has a great cut. It falls at the hips and looks fabolous. Now his friends want one too.

Excellent coat!
February 22, 2007

I originally purchased the North Face 900 fill flash jacket and the feathers were poking through. I've had this two weeks and no feather seen yet. Comfortable for a range of outdoor temps. Highly recommend!!

Great Jacket
January 03, 2007

I purchased the Men's Nuptse down jacket for my 11 year old. I have one and so my son wanted the same jacket. Your store was the only store that had the size that I needed. We got the delivery on time. Great jacket. Looks great and is very warm. Very happy with my purchase. Thanks!

Great Jacket
February 13, 2006

This has to be one of the best and warmest jackets I have ever owned- but I would expect nothing less of The North Face. Very warm while still be very light. I would purchase this jacket again in a heartbeat

Great Jacket!!!
February 11, 2006

Very warm jacket.

Better than expected
May 06, 2007

When I ordered this jacket I was afraid it might be too bulky and look too puffy, but when I received it, I saw that it was seemed much smaller once it was on. It is also amazingly light and you barely notice it is on when you are wearing it. I was also a little apprehensive about ordering a large after reading the other posts about sizing up, but I must say it fits perfectly (I am 6' and weigh 200 lbs.) Overall a great jacket.

It was exaclty what he needed
January 24, 2006

My son, who is originally from Georgia, was transferred to Maine. I sent this jacket as a gift since he was freezing up there. He sings the praises of this jacket constantly!!

Good enough for Everest
February 07, 2006

I purchased this jacket to replace an old favorite. I'm delighted to report that The North Face Nuptse Down Jacket in fill power 700 is more than sufficient for trekking to Everest Base Camp. It is roomy, so will also accomodate a vest, should that become necessary.

great jacket
April 16, 2006

very nice light and warm jacket.

Awesome!
December 04, 2006

I have become a bargain hunter in my old age! I still continue to look for the best quality (my wife finds it difficult to get a present for me) in everything I purchase. I spend as much time as possible to research what I am going to buy (especially on line)for the best price. This is very challenging. With this said, this jacket is amazing and meets/exceeds my expectations. I have actually been warm wearing just the jacket when it has been about forty degrees. Winter has not hit the East Coast yet, but when it does, I am looking forward to being warm in this jacket. I have worn many coats over the years, and I honestly feel that this is the best jacket that I have ever had. It is certainly not the high fashion coats that I so love, but then again, that is not its' intention. In addition, I love that this coat is that it is not very puffy. If you have experienced coats that make you look like you have gained a lot of weight, you will appreciate that this coat simply fits, without making you look like are inflated and about to just float away. I am grateful to Altrec that they are able to sell North Face products at affordable prices. I wish I could do a spell check. Please excuse errors.

Good Jacket
May 22, 2007

I recommend it, very warm and light.

Great jacket!
May 07, 2007

This jacket has great reputation for a reason. It is a great outdoor jacket from the time when TNF was an outdoor gear retailer. Unfortunately they are turning into an urban brand, but the jacket is little changed and still great for cold weather.

So toasty and warm
November 30, 2006

As written in all the reviews, I have to say that it keeps you really really warm, even in the bitterest cold of winter. Also, definitely follow the advice of ordering one size up. I'm sure glad I did.

What you would expect, great jacket
February 13, 2006

Great jacket with limited pockets but that doesn't matter since this is technically a liner to a North Face shell. That said, I have been using it as an outer jacket both in camp jacket and around town.

Roseman7622

Super Warm and Stylish
November 20, 2006

This coat works great for our cold and windy Wyoming winters. Highly recommended.

Nothing like the Mens Summit Series
December 25, 2006

I purchased a Mens Summit Series for my girl friend. I then purchased the Nuptse because it was on sale. Wow, you really can't even compare the two. Nuptse will work for sure, but if I am going to spend this type of money, I am going with the Summit Series.

AWESOME JACKET
February 05, 2006

WISH I WOULD HAVE PURCHASED THIS COAT A LONG TIME AGO..IT IS INCREDIBLY WARM, LIGHTWEIGHT AND IS SO EASY TO MOVE IN, NO RESTRICTIONS ON MOVEMENT....BEST JACKET I HAVE EVER PURCHASED AND ALTREC WAS GREAT TO WORK WITH.

Great Coat!
March 06, 2007

This coat is great because it is not only very warm, it is very lightweight. It can be used in so many different ways-- everyday wear, layered....Excellent coat.

Best Stylish Jacket on the Market for Men and Women - Ultra Warm
November 23, 2006

The North Face Nuptse is sweet! I live in cold Michigan and this jacket is perfect. It keeps you nice and warm wherever you go outside in cold temperatures. I dont recommend wearing it inside your house too long though. Wow, you will take it off after a few minutes. You will start to burn up quick! Not a joke! Thats how warm this thing is. Its the best jacket I've ever bought for the cold outdoors. Nice and stylish too. I got the black one. Yeah, it's cool and not too puffy and the goose down does not shift (it stays in place so your jacket is always uniform and sharp looking). You can move around in it in a snap. It is very flexible, lightweight, and soft (none of those goose feathers that prick you...just fluffy soft feathers). I found the best price on Altrec.com. They provided free shipping, no taxes, and awesome customer service. They will send you follow up e-mails and a link to track your order. If you want to have a great shopping experience, buy from Altrec.com!

Best Stylish Jacket on the Market for Men and Women - Ultra Warm
November 23, 2006

The North Face Nuptse is sweet! I live in cold Michigan and this jacket is perfect. It keeps you nice and warm wherever you go outside in cold temperatures. I don’t recommend wearing it inside your house too long though. Wow, you will take it off after a few minutes. You will start to burn up quick! Not a joke! That’s how warm this thing is. It’s the best jacket I've ever bought for the cold outdoors. Nice and stylish too. I got the black one. Yeah, it's cool and not too puffy and the goose down does not shift (it stays in place so your jacket is always uniform and sharp looking). You can move around in it in a snap. It is very flexible, lightweight, and soft (none of those goose feathers that prick you...just fluffy soft feathers). I found the best price on Altrec.com. They provided free shipping, no taxes, and awesome customer service. They will send you follow up e-mails and a link to track your order. If you want to have a great shopping experience, buy from Altrec.com!

Warm, light, and comfortable
January 04, 2007

I gave my son the Nuptse Down Jacket for Christmas. He loves it because it is warm, light, and comfortable.

2nd Nuptse Jacket...still great as ever
May 19, 2007

Yup..this is my 2nd one...the other was purchased almost 10 years ago...still same great quality and utility...

Amazing jacket - soft and puffy
March 18, 2006

amazingly comfertable, warm and it'll even doubles as a pillow when your tired and bored, sitting in class.

Outstanding jacket
May 20, 2007

I'm a college football fan and I was looking for a lightweight and warm jacket to use during those cold late November afternoons and late evening tail gating parties. The Nuptse jacket is perfect for this. it's light weight, stylish and very well made. I love it!

Great jacket! Everyone should have one
February 16, 2007

I bought one as a gift and the day I got it in the mail I ordered one for me. This is the lightest and warmest jacket ever!

Great quality for low price.
May 19, 2007

This jacket definitely performs. Keeps you warm when it's cold out but doesn't make you overheat when it's a little warmer.

Best jacket ever!
March 05, 2006

This jacket is so lightweight and so incredibly warm. I live in Wisconsin right on Lake Michigan and it's always cold and windy. You can't even feel the wind with it on. I can wear a T-shirt and then throw on this jacket and it still keeps me really warm. It's a little puffy, but I still think it looks very stylish. This is a great jacket.

Very very warm and not too bulky
March 31, 2006

Have to say this jacket has save me on more than one occasion in Minnesota. The jacket is surprisingly lightweight and very warm. The jacket zips up so you don't even need a scarf at times.

Quality Jacket
January 27, 2006

Very satisfied with purchased. A top quality jacket at a great price. Super warm and compressable. Even includes a rollup hood.

top250Contributor

This is great !
February 15, 2007

This is the greatest jacket entire North Face collection.

Fantastic Warmth for the price
March 16, 2006

Construction well done. Down evenly spaced. Very warm. Not very wind resistant, but that's not what it's for

excellent services and best jacket
May 20, 2007

It was my first time to order the staff from North Face on the internet, I found out everything was great, I received the jacket in timely, and it is a great jacket, and I am going to e-mail these informations to my friends. Once again, thank you.

Winnipeg Winter Proven
March 06, 2006

The Northface Nuptse Jacket is stand alone in terms of weight to performance ratio. Here in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada where winter nights can be as cold as minus 40 degrees celcius with windchill, this jacket performs well on it's own, or in combination with other shells/liners from Northface. The product was well packaged and sized according to web site specifications. I highly recommend this product and look forward to doing business with Altrec.com again

Outstanding!
January 29, 2007

I just need a tee shirt and my Nuptse jacket for my pre-dawn walks in NC with my lab. It needs to be in the 30's or below, otherwise the nuptse gets me too warm! Great wind resistance and light weight.

Great Item for Alpinists
March 15, 2006

This jacket with it's 700 fill power is good around camp when things get cold. It's highly compressable, you can easily cram it into your pack, and the warmth to weight ratio make it a must have for cold weather climbs. Belaying can be a cold job, so having that one jacket that can perform is key. This thing will last forever...and TNF's satisfaction guarantee is a good thing for a jacket that costs a few bucks.

excellent jacket
May 27, 2007

Great jacket. Warm and light. Looks good, too. Perfect for camping without a lot of bulk. Would buy it again.

I love this Jacket
November 07, 2006

I bought one of these for myself and one for my girlfriend. Soo comfortable and soo warm. I do believe the womens jacket is better though. Her jacket has a soft felt neck liner, cinch straps inside the pockets (no dangling cords) and a better/larger inside pocket. Regardless, this is now my favourite jacket and it is unfortunate that fall and spring are too warm to wear it.

LOVING IT!!
November 26, 2006

I bought this jacket for my son. He couldn't wait to wear it. It's so lightweight, and it keeps him warm. Was a little worried about getting the blue with black but it is truly awesome... Delivery was great, packed nicely and received it fast. Looking forward to buying myself one now!!

Warm & Cozy
March 08, 2006

I love this coat. For the money, I don't think it can be beat. I wear it primarily when I'm walking my dog out across the Wyoming prairie. Last month we had some seriously wicked windchills, and my Nuptse kept my core cozy and warm. Unfortunately, my eyes about froze out of their sockets. Great coat, a steal at $130. My only regret is that they dropped the price another ten bucks after I bought mine.

GREAT VALUE!!!
January 23, 2007

I have had several down and other winter jackets in the past. This is by far the lightest and WARMEST jacket I have ever owned. It is very comfortable, and the price is worth every dollar. I was a little nervous shelling out this much for a jacket, but I am a very satisfied customer, and if you are on the fence, go for it. You won't regret it!

Great Jacket!
February 23, 2006

The North Face Nuptse jacket is a great coat. I love it because it is very light weight but very warm. I got a great deal from Altrec and recieved the coat quickly.

my husband loves it
January 23, 2007

it's lightweight which makes it easy to move and travel in. his work often requires him to be on location (outside) for 12-14 hr. days. during the winter that can be brutal and he said this jacket had the combination of comfort and warmth, much better than his other down, heavier jacket - and as an added bonus, it looks good.

Great Jacket!!!
March 01, 2007

Just the best choice! I got my jacket to go traveling to Chile, very warm, lite weight and nice looking too. We got a great price from Altrec....so the deal was double good!

Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED