The North Face Men's Paramount Valley Convertible Pants

$44.97 74.95 save up to 40%
Some Discontinued. Limited to stock on hand.
77505

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 18 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 18 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

The North Face Men's Paramount Valley Convertible Pants Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5

174 Reviews

Pros
  • Lasts forever: 4
  • Build quality: 18
  • Performance: 13
  • Ease of use: 12

Cons
  • Cost: 3
  • lacks pant leg adjustment: 1
  • pockets could be larger: 1
Comfort: 5 / 5
Durability: 5 / 5
Quality: 5 / 5
Fit: 3.1 / 5

174 Ratings & Reviews

Great Sailing pant
February 22, 2005

I got a pair of these pants to wear while sailing. They have great deep pockets so your stuff doesn't easily fall out and they fit me wonderfully. Washed up great, cool in the sun, dried quickly when wet, and warm enough in the evenings.

great comfort, poor quality
March 31, 2008

The fit is great as is the comfort but I have now returned my second set of pants in 2 weeks because the stiching in the back of the pants and along the left leg unravelled. All in the same location on the pants and all purchased at Dicks sporting Goods in West Windsor NJ. Customer support at North face was quick to respond but not very helpful, they weren't sure what their own return policy was except to say mail them back and they will try to re sew them, but had no idea what would happen if that didn't work. If they wear out in one week I can't imagine they are durable enough to hike in. Save your money, A brand name does not ensure quality.

Awesome!
July 09, 2006

The convertible feature is the only way to go. I wear them more as shorts on day trips and as pants once night sets in. The pockets are coveniently placed and easily accessible. Additionally, the pants are extremely durable which surprised me. I am sold on these pants and can't wait until I get my next pair!

The only pants I'll buy now..
December 08, 2007

They're great. Made of a super-durable material, they ventilate well (I'll never go back to jeans again), the pocket space is more than you can hope for, the option to unzip the pant legs is a feature that every pant should have. Super comfortable. In the winter you'll need thermals underneath because of the airflow.

Best pants for travel & flying
March 06, 2007

If you are looking for extra comfort when traveling then pick up a pair of the Northface Paramount pants. They are breathable, easy to clean and really comfortable. Also, lost of pockets to store things!

2nd Pair - My favorites
September 10, 2006

I've two pairs now. The 1st pair was my mainstay in a 7 day Alaska float trip. Greatest pants I have. I recommend to anyone wanting a durable zip-off that fits into waders well!

Perfect pants!
April 05, 2008

Great pants for just any outdoor activity. They are perfect for getting into nature, traveling or just hitting the town. They look great and not too sporty if you would want to wear them to school, workplace etc. Nice big pockets, great material, perfect fit! I guess I won't use them as shorts, but this feature is great in case it's getting really hot. Overall great pants for a very reasonable price.

Get what you pay for
April 17, 2006

great pants, very comfortable and keep with The North Face tradition of great outdoor clothing.

Wore Out Quickly
December 10, 2007

I owned these pants for about a year. They were pretty comfortable, but they just fell apart over the last few months. First the knee started to wear through. Then the thread that held the back pockets failed. The holes were so large that my wallet fell out while going down the stairs. I had to start carrying my wallet in the cargo pockets. I guess that's why they have so many pockets! :) Next the zipper broke. All this after just a year! I always thought TNF was expedition quality clothing. I guess I was wrong. I finally sent them in for warranty repairs and I received a cryptic letter saying something about them not being covered because of wear. Needless to say I was very disappointed and will not be purchasing any products made by The North Face from here out.

Well made, functional and comfortable
September 12, 2005

These are great for all day Fall fishing trips in Canada when the temps fluctuate with the wind conditions and sun exposure.

Tough pant with massive pockets
January 03, 2005

These pants are probably the most rugged pair out there. The pockets are large enough to store a car.

great pants
November 26, 2005

These pants are very durable and have met all my expectations. They are comfortable to hike in and the deep pockets give me peace of mind for my valuables. They are very easibly convertible to shorts with little effort. All in all, these pants will last me a very long time.

Afghan Tested - A+ Score!
May 18, 2005

When you are in as harsh an environment as I am in Afghanistan, clothing really matters! These pants are well made, resilient and look good. The built-in belt and zipper coin pocket are features that make a difference. Please stock these all year round, I will be ordering more! Thanks, Sf

Great pants
July 07, 2008

This is the 2nd pair of Paramount Convertible pants I've bought for my boyfriend and he loves them. Super fast drying and super comfortable. Nice big pockets, great material, perfect fit, very versatile and functional.

top1000Contributor

Very well constructed and comfortable
October 28, 2007

Great pants. Super comfortable, durable, and practical. They also look great, and paired with a nice shirt or sweater, they can be worn business casual or out on the town.

Absolutely Superb!
June 06, 2006

Great Pants. Best I've ever had. Highly recommended!

Great fit. Comfortable. Silly pocket design
May 11, 2007

Slash pockets are so deep that anything in the cargo pockets sits right on top of anything in slash pockets. Makes it uncomfortable to carry and kind of "cargo". Cargo pockets should go on the side and these would be perfect!

Make sure they fit perfect
October 30, 2007

These pants are comfortable, fast drying, and durable. I'm a shorter guy (5'7") with a 30-31 inch waist. I went with a medium thinking I could just cinch down the waist if they didn't fit snugly enough. The crotch sagged a bit low, and it ripped out on a 20 mile hike through the high ridges of Isle Royale. Despite the extra ventilation, I was not happy about it. Bottom line, great pants, but I'd recommend visiting a fitting room before purchasing these pants. If you're planning on doing some hard-core backpacking, make sure they fit perfect, or the crotch will split open.

great pants
January 30, 2008

excellent buy, practical but still cool looking. love the belt. all purpose pants.

only item you need for wearing on a spring summer or fall outing
May 19, 2007

These pants are simply the best. Cut for comfortable fast moving. Plenty of pockets for gear and the zip off leg is perfect for the afternoons when it heats up. If you searched the world for the best pant/short combo you would come back with these. I bought two pair. My oldest son stole the first pair and I had to order some more for me. I am not going to wear these around my youngest son!

Flexability is the key!
December 11, 2004

There are 2 reasons I am writing this review. 1- Altrec is terrific! They fulfill your order and deliver quickly. You get what you order. 2- The Paramount Convertible pant is a great travel solution. Whenever I travel from one climate to another I have the option of a pair of shorts or a long pair of pants to travel in. They are comfortable with lot's of storage. Great for carrying, instead of holding in your hands, your camera, water, glasses, cell phone, walkie talkie, GPS, ETC. Great fit and very easy to take care of.

Buy these pants
May 27, 2006

The reviews here about the Paramount convertible pants are all true. A versatile and quality pant. Shorter inseam will require $10-$15 for professional tailoring. Well worth it though. One does not normally see the attention to detail at this price point. I purchased another pair. Very pleased with this product.

Most Excellent Pants!
May 29, 2007

An EXCELLENT pair of pants. I recommend them for every day use. They are tough and comfortable. The pockets are in all the right spots for easy access. I have tried other pants, and there are none to compare.

Great!
May 31, 2005

The North Face company continues to demonstrate the fact that they are connected with their customers. These pants totally offer all the features that a person would ask for in a pair of convertible pants. From labeling the zip offs (left & right) to the lay out & number of pockets. An excellent purchase!

great pants!!!
February 23, 2007

Just got these and they feel great. The pockets are huge so you can carry a lot of things. I am 6'3" but pretty thin and I got the medium tall. They fit great, but when converted to shorts the shorts could be a little longer. Also, the material seems pretty sturdy so they'll hold up great.

*****
August 11, 2007

Great for outdoors, travel and leisure. These pants are durable, good looking with plenty of pockets.

Great value; look great - consider hem alteration
August 28, 2005

I bought this pair of pants after overpacking on several vacations to tropical areas. I wanted a pair of convertible travel pants that fit well and would work as nice shorts, knockaround shorts, casual long pants and long pants that could be used with a blazer (for tropical dress) when necessary. I really think these pants deliver - plus they have ample storage for travel needs. The key to this kind of pants is to have pants that fit well in the crotch - and have a tailor who can hem the pants. The pants have a zippered cuff, so they cannot be tailored at home by most people. The tailor will need to shorten the zipper. This sounds complex and difficult to do, but it really is not and my tailor charged me less than $15. Another thing that is nice is that the pants not only have their own belt, but they have overlaying belt loops so you can wear a real belt (nice one)on top without any discomfort or decrease in appearance. I am going to buy a second pair in another color.

Practical and comfortable
March 15, 2006

I've traveled Peru, in the Andes and Amazon, and Burma in these pants. They have the pockets that you need for travelling, deep and with a good sized zippered coin pocket. The material is strong, comfortable and keeps you dry. Open the leg zips a little for extra ventilation in countries where shorts aren't appropriate and it's hot, or you just want to keep covered because of mosquitos. They're incredibly comfortable and easily adjustable with their own light-weight belt that comes included. Great that they come in different lengths as they're not easily hemmed due to zips for easy on/off of the leg sleeves.

Great fit. Comfortable. Silly pocket design
May 11, 2007

Slash pockets are so deep that anything in the cargo pockets sits right on top of anything in slash pockets. Makes it uncomfortable to carry and kind of "cargo". Cargo pockets should go on the side and these would be perfect!

Great
August 22, 2007

These convertible pants are the best! The fabric is very soft and feels good next to your skin, and the fit is perfect

Love the pants
December 04, 2004

Love the pants, wear great. Received the first pair as a present and had to go get another pair because I wore them everyday.

excellent product
November 07, 2004

I´m very happy with it. Material, colour, fit and service at a fair price- all is just perfect. You won a fan. thank you.

its a good pants when go hiking
May 09, 2008

I like this because its very durable and baggy, which is comfortable when I go hiking. It dries quickly and breathable , however, I hope there are more color selections!

Best Travel Pants I've worn
August 02, 2007

The North Face Paramount Convertible Pants are the best travel pants I've worn! They are also very light and comfortable as ordered the ones with the short rise. When not at the office, they are my #1 casual pants!

the only convertible pants in black
November 13, 2004

I really haven't worn these enough to rate them as yet but I did learn a new trick about hemming to length. I'm kind of a short guy [5'8"]and often have to shorten the hems of pants so they don't drag on the ground. This has been difficult with convertibles because of the zippers at the bottom. What I figured out with these was to shorten them at the zipper that connects the top to bottom sections. Remove zipper from upper part of lower leg, cut to length, then carefully sew zipper back on. You might have to take them to a tailor to do this but I ende up with a perfect fit. I had to return another pair I'd gotten because of size and my hats off to Altrec, the easiest, fastest return I've ever done. [and I buy alot of stuff online]

Ultimate convertibles
June 15, 2005

These are the ultimate convertibles. They shed liquids well and are converted quickly. The stitching is impeccable, which accounts for the great durability, and the gusseted crotch makes for excellent freedom of movement.

Great versatility with an abundance of pockets!
February 23, 2007

They thought of everything with these pants, zippered legs to make on and off over shoes or boots easy, legs that zip off above the knees to convert to shorts in warm weather, a wealth of pockets and a tough durable fabric, That says it all.

Great multi purpose pants
September 19, 2004

I first use these pants on a multi day trip in the Smokies where in the mornings it was cold and wet but by the afternoon it was warm, hence zip off the pants legs and ready to go. The shell was very water resistant.

samspell1

I love these pants
September 23, 2007

These convertible pants are the best! The fabric is very soft and feels good next to your skin, and the fit is perfect. Also, very abrasion resistant.I also have the Mountain Hardwear Canyon Pants which are nice but not zip-offs.

Matteus

Great all-around pants
March 21, 2007

I originally bought these for hiking, but have found myself wanting to wear them for casual use as well. I thought the deep front pockets were odd at first, but have found them very useful when hiking, especially when stepping up on higher ground/rocks/logs/etc. Whatever was in my pocket used to fall out, but these pockets keep that from happening, so that's a much-appreciated feature. Zipping back on the legs is quick & easy (at least if the pants are off :). They're lightweight and the convertibility is perfect for 3 season-use (in my case the hot Georgia summers, cool spring mornings, and wonderful fall weather). I'll be buying other colors soon!

my favorite 3-season hiking pants
July 12, 2005

These are my favorite 3-season hiking pants. They keep you cool in the summer, they repel water considerably, and they are VERY stain resistant. Also, they are pretty tough to rip.

Great product nad great service!
November 28, 2004

Very quick shipping and a a great product just as described.

wgordon79

Best All-Around Pant There Is
July 11, 2006

These are by far my favorite pants. Besides being versatile (pants & shorts), they dry extremely fast. I can get away with wearing them in the office, as well. Let's just say I wore my first pair out after a couple of years, and bought an identicle pair immediately.

Very practical. Nice looking. Wear well.
July 09, 2007

Great! I compared several brands. These are more durable, more resistant to snags and look nicer than the others. Less flimsy. Ample pockets and well-place zippered security pocket. Took 3 pair on 3 week trip to Africa but needed only 2. Dried quickly overnight. Still looked good at the end of the trip.

good stuff
January 12, 2005

Excellent pair of slacks, very versatile and functional. They fit well, dry quick and have ample storage space yet don't feel bulky when loaded.

Great pants
August 23, 2006

Very comfortable for a trip.

pros and cons
October 14, 2006

These pants are incredible for summer traveling, I wished I owned 10 pairs. But (all good things have a catch, right?) they are very lightweight, so don't expect to use them outside in all seasons. Ideal for Late Spring/Summer/Early Fall rapidly changing weather. These pants bunch up into practically nothing but won't ever wrinkle...better yet they dry faster than you can get them wet. (Most of the world hasn't figured out the whole dryer concept yet!) If I had any complaints, it would be that the conversion between pants and shorts takes too long. They are very small zippers, probably because anything larger would be clunky against the leg. These zippers are sometimes tough to line up and don't always cooperate when you're in a hurry (and getting poured on). Bottomline.....haven't found anything I like more in warmer weather travel.

Pricey but great
June 09, 2007

Pros: Very abrasion resistant. Dry quickly. Plenty of pockets. Pants are convertible. Cons: The price. Try to get them on sale. Two pairs is all I need for all my backpacking needs.

These are the best Travel Pants
May 02, 2006

I love these pants

Great Pants
March 24, 2008

This is my 3rd pair of Paramount Convertible pants (and I've bought two pairs for my teenage son. They are very comfortable and durable. They wash very well. I thought I trashed my first pair with a gas/oil mixture that splattered out of a weed wacker but they washed up perfectly. I bought my first pair for camping and I think they are my favorite piece of "gear".

another great TNF product.
June 07, 2006

There are two companies that i usually have no complaints about their products: Merrell and TNF. With these pants i wasn't dissapointed as well. I put them on and wore for a week straight. They are lightweight, breathe well and dry very fast if got wet in the rain. Had no chance yet to wore them as shorts, but see no reason why they could be bad. Excellent money spend.

Excellent Pant.
June 15, 2005

Love the North Face Paramount Pant - dries fast, doesn't tear easily, converts to shorts - great pockets. Love em.

I highly recommend these pants!
May 25, 2008

I own three pair of these convertible pants and they are great for those chilly mornings but warm afternoons. I wear them while playing golf and they are so much better than the cheaper convertible pants. They also provide protection against the wind and light rain.

Just what I expected.
June 26, 2006

Very comfortable and cool. Looking forward to having them in Botswana.

Best recreational pants I've ever owned
November 21, 2004

I'm always looking for a great pair of pants and these are the most versatile and best suited for travel I have ever owned. I frequently travel overseas and need a good travel pant that covers many different environmental conditions so that I can look good without overpacking. These are also perfect for travel day as well.

great pants
April 25, 2007

First of all these pants are more flattering than your usual cargo pants. I wear a women's size 8-10 pants and the men's small fit great. They cut the wind and are warmer than jeans. They have been soaked in the rain at 40 degrees and still kept me warm. Mud brushes off easily if you let it dry. Another plus feature is the R/L label for the zip offs. My only complaint is the pockets on the front of the thigh don't allow for much stuff.

Great Pants
August 19, 2007

These pants are perfect. Comfortable, sturdy and all North Face. Thick enough to be warm on a chili night but thin enough to be cool in the heat of the day. Then just zip off the lower part when you are too warm.

Wear these all the time!
September 17, 2006

These pants are great for wearing around town on the trail or just comfortable lounging around the house watching TV. I highly recommend these pants. I plan on buying more!

Great Travel Pants
February 20, 2008

Just returned froma trip to Guatemala and wore these about every day. They make great travel pants...in and out of security checkpoints with no hassle...big on features...and most importantly, comfortable!

very happy with the purchase.
October 23, 2007

Good fit, comfortable and durable. Very light weight.

Awesome
October 10, 2004

These are tough pants. I love 'em. The only thing I would change is to put some velcro on the side pocket. My cellphone falls out. Other than that they are perfect.

good even in winter
January 30, 2007

the pants even held up nicely in the winter and they look great.

Excellent Hiking Pants = hiked in Presidentials in New Hampshire
June 10, 2006

Great pants, so glad I purchased them. Hiked for 13 days in Presidentials in NH on the AT - 103 miles - 6 days clear/sunny, 7 days consecutive rain, cold, wind, pants did outstanding, dried out fast in the shelters, repelled water well, zipped off/on quick, right over my boots, outstanding, can't wait to wear them on my next trip! Only 280 miles left to complete the AT...get yourself a pair!!!

Outstanding!
November 18, 2007

Best pants for going between outdoors and downtown. Love these pants.

great
July 23, 2007

I love the Paramount convertible pants, everything was great!

durable, versatile and oh so comfortable!
November 22, 2004

I purchased two pair as a gift for my boyfriend because he wanted to wear the one pair he already owned EVERYDAY! We've gone on a few overnights and day hikes with them, and they dry fast and were very durable. He also wears them throughout the week to work he loves them so much!

h2ofish

Comfortable on the field and in the lab.
October 26, 2006

Bought this pair because I needed something to wear to bike or hike with and go straight to work in. The zipper pocket on the right side stores my handphone nicely and comfortably, without hindering leg movement. Lightweight and quick dry makes this a wonderful pair to wear here in the tropics. Heat retention good, legs never felt cold in the cold room (4 degree celcius), nor felt too warm walking in the tropical heat (32 degrees celcius plus). Neat in-built pants hook too, unlike my other hiking pants.

Best ever
January 02, 2008

I bought 2 pair and I've worn them every day since Christmas. I'm 6'3" and 240lbs. The XL long is plenty long, almost too long. Great material seems more durable than my magellan, columbia, or aigle zip offs. Numerous pockets are also handy. I will by bying more!!

very effective, but some pilling
July 16, 2005

very effective pants. they're rugged, water-resistant, and just right thickness for 3-season hiking. they did pill easily, however, at the seat, because i sat on boulders quite a bit when hiking.

Very durable and with deep pockets.
October 03, 2007

I have several pairs in different colors, and wore one pair almost exclusively for two weeks walking up to Mt. Everest Base Camp, and wore the same pair in the Amazon. Very versatile! The deep pockets add extra security, but they could be improved by adding a pocket with a zipper. Plenty of room in the slash pockets for all kinds of things combined, and you won't even notice it if you carry a small camera there. I've had several different kinds of convertible pants, and these are the best.

Great for hiking
January 04, 2008

I love to hike and at times spend several days on the trail and these pants are my choice. They have all the right features for long hikes. A comfortable web belt, no chafing, quick drying, and the zip off legs make them perfect. I will buy more of these in the future.

Worth the money
November 13, 2007

I will usually only buy Marmot or Mountain Hardwear for trekking but these did an amazing job! Recently went on a 12 mile hike in a cloud forest (very humid) and stayed dry! They kept me warm when it was cold and cool when it was hot! Not to mention I was walking in thorn bushed for miles upon miles and the thorns did not even catch the fabric! Excellent buy!

This are the most confortable pair of pants ever
January 17, 2007

This pants are great, light, extremely versatile and well design. North Face is a company that always makes a difference and this product is certainly not an exception

the best convertible pants, ever !!
September 18, 2006

The North Face zip-offs are made to last for my style of extreme hiking, scuff resistant on rocks, deep pockets and look great after washing with no ironing, only minus is the belt that comes with it which I remove from all of mine.

function and style
June 03, 2005

These pants are very light, yet durable. They look killer and dry quickly. This is exactly what I was looking for in a 3 season hiking pant.

Good Stuff
July 10, 2007

Pros - fit great and last a long time. I've had mine for a few years now with no problems. Cons - as someone else said, get them while they are on sale

Great Product!
June 23, 2008

I looked at many brands of convertible pants, before settling on the North Face. The fabric and construction are sturdier than the competition.

Excellent quality
August 18, 2007

Although the pants are true to size, I am just over 6 foot and the XL I purchased were way to long and I had to have them altered by a tailor. But it did not stop me from buying 3 different colors.

A No-Brainer
August 06, 2007

I've been buying North Face Men's Paramount Convertible Pants for years for my teenage son. The only pant he'll wear. Can't beat the design and durability. Pants wash and wear like a dream.

Versatile Quality
July 19, 2005

Purschased a second pair of these in Kakai. Original pair was the Charcoal color. Lots of neat little details make these an all around great choice. The front hand pockets are deep (seems like almost to my knee caps) which keeps things from falling out when you sit down. The cargo pockets have velcro 'snaps' and are the right size. Zips at leg openings allow you to remove the lower leg portion of the pant without having to take off your boots. The material dries quickly, cleans easliy and has good quality stiching. The two tier utility pocket on the right can accomidate a cell phone and also has a velcro closure. Zippered change pocket, laynard, utility loops over rear belt loops and a easy to use adjustable belt to top it all off. Man, I think I've talked myself into buying another pair.

Comfortable with lots of storage.
January 25, 2005

I am a woman who wanted convertible pants for a trip to the Amazon River Rainforest in Iquitos, Peru. Women's pants have a very short inseam for the shorts, so I purchased men's pants and found them to be a perfect length, a good fit, and the many pockets were a boon to the hiking and canoeing we were doing on the Amazon River. Ladies, give these a try!

Page: 1, 2, 3
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
    Live Chat
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED