The North Face Recon Daypack

155595

Sold Out
We'll tell you when there's more:



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship - details 
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

The North Face Recon Daypack Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5

143 Reviews

Pros
  • Build quality: 6
  • Ease of use: 4
  • Great design: 4
  • Lasts forever: 3

Cons
  • Cost: 4
  • a little on the heavy side: 1
Quality: 5 / 5
Durability: 4.8 / 5
Carrying Capacity: 4 / 5
Weight: 3 / 5

143 Ratings & Reviews

Great Backpack
April 15, 2009

The backpack has ample space for all your stuff. Its made of good material and I expect it to last a very long time.

super pack!!
July 26, 2007

it was exactly what i was hoping it would be, i love all the compartments in it!

Very solid all around backpack for college students
February 13, 2008

After having my Samsonite backpack for four years, it finally broke, and so as a second semester freshman I was in the market for a new backpack. A friend of mine had the Recon and another had the Jester line, and the Recon just felt and looked better. It can easily fit my laptop (Dell XPS 1330 - 13.3 inches), and three to four textbooks (physics, organic, calc...) It provides solid back support and has a lot of pockets to fit everything a college student needs.

goldenguy
top50Contributor

Great for carring laptop
October 13, 2006

It is great for carrying my laptop computer. It is roomy and great looking. Nice backpack.

Great all around pack.
December 05, 2007

Great all around pack: packs clothes, computer, and lunch for the bike ride to/from work; great for day hiking-easily carries all essentials including backpack stove and cookset for hot meals; great for the gym too. Comfortable to carry all day with a load, plenty of pockets and room for everything. Compression straps really help adjust the pack to job. Sharp looking, durable pack. Altrec had the best price on this pack--closeout colors included the color I wanted.

Great bag...holds more than it looks like it will.
March 12, 2008

This bag has proven to be very good. At first when I received it I was concerned because it did not look very big. However, when I started to put my books in it, the bag was much larger than it seemed. I am in law school and I have a lot of huge books as well as my laptop that all fit in the bag. Next time I might opt for a larger bag but this one has worked well so far. I love the pocket for a cell phone on the shoulder strap. It is comfortable as well. The only problem I had was not with the bag but rather the customer service from Altrec. I received a phone call from them stating that there had been a delay with my order and requesting I call them back. When I did the man was very rude and said they cancelled my order because they had not received the bag. I then had to call back to get someone else who resubmitted the order. The bag took a very long time to come and when it did, the Safe-T Whistle that was supposed to come with the bag was missing. The company pretty much said too bad they didn't have any extras despite that their ad said the bag came with one. When I asked them to honor the ad, they never responded.

Love this bag!
September 25, 2007

I've always had a NorthFace bookbag, but this year I decided not to splurge on a NorthFace. BIG MISTAKE!! After using a $20 bookbag for a week the bag was already falling apart. I decided to buy this bookbag and I am so happy I did. This bag can hold so much and my laptop fits snuggly in the bag. Even though I have two huge textbooks inside the bag doesn't feel so heavy. This bag is a MUST for any college student!!

Great Backpack!
March 14, 2009

I bought this backpack a few weeks ago and I am very pleased with it! The quality of this bag is excellent and it serves all the functions that I need it to. There is a place for my water bottle, my laptop, books and other items. There is a lot of storage space for all those odds and ends that people tend to carry around with them. The bag is a pricey, I was fortunate enough to buy mine on sale - however, it's a great investment at any price. This is my first purchase of a North Face item - but I am sure that it won't be my last!

Strongly recomend this Backpack.
September 19, 2007

I feel good even when I put many sizes of stuffs in this backpack. This is due to BackSaver Technology that reduces lower back strain. The size of the backpack is also proper to carry a laptop.

The backpack
December 07, 2006

I just wanted to say that I attended Suny Plattsburgh state university, which is located at the upper ends of the Adirondack Mountains. i am confident in saying this backpack is the best backpack i have ever own. i have taken my backpack everyday to the library, also this backpack accompanies me while i trek the numerous high peaks that the great Adirondack mountains have to offer. but i would like to take this time to describe the safety whistle feature as being the #1 most satisfying part of this product. Me Dennis Sullivan and my companion Ryan Helmblod are found on numerous occasions communicating across campus traffic on a day to day basis. i think this is a wonderful product and everyone should purchase a North Face: Recon Backpack

Good Stuff!!!!
September 15, 2006

Good Stuff!!!!

Great Pack
January 07, 2008

Um yeah-Great Pack!! Got it for X-mas and fell in love with it! It's deceptively roomy-it'll have no problem fitting everything I need into it. Durable too! Great for school and hiking!

Great features, but not for me
February 01, 2007

I bought this pack because it had all the features I was looking for. Unfortunately the fit just wasn't right for my body. The bottom of the pack hit my back in an uncomfortable way, and the waist belt wasn't as padded as I wanted. It's a great backpack, but just wasn't right for me.

I really do like this pack
July 19, 2008

Perfect size. Great for many things.

Great backpack!
July 27, 2008

I love my backpack and can't wait to use it at college! Wonderful price and fast delivery, highly encourage students or anyone needing a backpack to buy a recon from altrec.

perfect school pack
August 25, 2004

Excellent pack for books/laptop/whatever else you need, but no exactly designed as a "real" daypack. If your looking for a pack for school/work, this one is great. Not for the trail though.

Disappointing Quality
June 01, 2007

The plastic piece on my strap broke as I was tightening my pack (1 month old). The pack wasn't overloaded so I assume there was a defect in the plastic component (otherwise I'm stronger than a juiced up gorilla). Disappointing given the price tag and supposed quality

Great Weekend Pack!!!
May 31, 2004

I bought this bag on sale to use as a bag for work and some weekend trips but I never thought I would use it for a long 4 day hike. Until my other pack ripped while sliding down a rock wall. This pack held up amazingly through the rain and a few long hikes (2-6 days). I will never buy another bag again.

Nice but too small in some respects
October 27, 2007

Very nice backpack, but really too small for someone who has alot of books and should probably go with the Northface Heckler, if they want more space..my only concern is if the Recon is water resistant, as it doesnt say it is DWR like the Heckler does. The problem we have had in the past with other brands, is that all their papers and books got sopping wet whenever it rained. That is a big problem!!All backpacks should be water resistant or waterproof!

Excellent
December 26, 2007

What can I say about the Recon. The North Face makes the best packs in the world. I am a senior in high school, and I usually carry a lot of books to and from school. After purchasing it, I have fallen in love with it. The straps across the chest, the belt across across the waist, the water bottle storage areas and the laptop compartment together make this pack a phenomenal pack to use. It is worth the price.

I love this ruck
April 09, 2007

I have owned several different types of backpacks similar to this one, but the North Face Recon is the 'shizit'. There are many small pockets, inside of pockets, that actually HOLD what they are supposed to. There is even one compartment for sunglasses, and one for a cell-phone. The main compartment has held laptops, forcefins, a weekends amount of clothes. If you are looking for a great day pack, book pack, or carry-on ruck this is it. Happy trails.

good pack, make sure it's big enough first
November 01, 2007

I bought this pack thinking that it would hold my dell 17 inch inspiron laptop. I was told that it does and so I gave it a shot. The word "fits" I guess can be interpreted several different ways: if you mean that you can cram it in the bag and then almost break the zipper when trying to zip it up, then yeah it fits. But if you have a slightly smaller laptop it would fit great (my buddie's does and it's a dell 15.4 inch). The quality is great though - what you have no doubt come to expect from North Face.

Great overall back pack!!
June 03, 2007

I love this back pack. I have a Dell 6000 Inspiron laptop that's 15.4 inches and it fits great inside my backpack plus I still have room for books. The plus side is that I don't even feel the laptop when I commute by bike. It has great pockets for all your stuff. And another thing a love about it is the zippers because I tend to wear out a backpack real fast because of all the things I carry but this zipper seems like its going to hold up. This bag is also great for hikes. I did a lot of research before I bought this backpack I looked at various other one but this one beat them all. It's a little pricy bu I really love this back pack and how many people can say that?

above average pack
November 07, 2007

I would say for the most part this back pack is great. I am a college student so I walk a lot all over campus. This pack is comfortable to wear even with loaded. The chest and waist buckle even out the weight. The only bad thing I would say is the large pocket could be a little larger. But all and all a great pack with pockets for your every need.

Excellent
March 22, 2009

I did some shopping around before I bought this pack since it is kinda pricey. Now that I've used the pack for over a month I can say it's well worth it. I use this pack for my laptop and it has replaced my briefcase. It can be a fairly heavy load but the pack holds up great and keeps it comfortable. This is something to consider when comparing to cheaper packs. Overall I am very happy.

its absolutely wonderful!!
October 28, 2007

I ordered this bookbag from altrec and I absolutely love it! It came fast and I'm so glad I ordered from altrec! It fits my labtop and a few books but the best part about it is that it really distributes the weight well and it doesn't feel as heavy. I love the cell phone pocket on the straps and the multiple pockets. I highly recommend this product!

excellent backpack
September 24, 2007

roomy, lost of compartments, place fro 2 waterbottles, netting for items you want to get to easily. Very comfortable

great all around pack; school, travel & hiking
October 29, 2007

This is a perfect pack for heavy book loads. Great stability and comfort. I did not research this purchase as usual but relied on North Face quality. This product surpassed my expectations. I believe the quality of construction and detail, this pack will last through the last 3 years of heavy high school book loads without overstressing my students back.

Perfect bag for my needs
December 26, 2008

I'm a student that lugs around a laptop and a big binder every day. A lot of space is reserved for the organizer in front for things like pens/pencils, cell phone, mp3 player, which is great for me. The main compartment is not big, but does fit a laptop with laptop sleeve, and a 2" binder. The shoulder straps feel extremely sturdy and while there's a healthy number of straps around, this seems like a very sturdy bag overall. I would recommend it to any student or as a very rugged work bag.

Trendy
February 06, 2009

It really serves its purpose, and the laptop lining is a bit too small for my 15.4" Thinkpad (which is a brick anyway). The back part of the pack is VERY cushiony. Good stuff. I am glad with my purchase. It's better than my old Jansport, I just wished the outer lining was a lot more durable.

Perfect
January 02, 2004

I started high school in september and i wanted the perfect schoolbag. I got a swiss army bag- too bulky- a targus bag- to humungous- and 2 jansports- both fell apart- but what i realized at school was that the trend was small north face packs but i did not want anything small because of the large amount of books. I asked for the bag for xmas and i received a Recon. I absolutely love it- it is deceiving- it is small but holds millions of books and then the straps hold the bag in so the remaining space is held in.

Love it
April 10, 2009

Great backpack. Bought it for a trip to Europe. Can't wait to use it

great back pack
July 16, 2008

Roomy, good looking, and easy to use.

awesome pack
October 19, 2008

I am buying this one to replace my current Recon, which is about 10 years old and still working fine (just looking a little dingey, waterproofing flaking off). These are GREAT bags that last a long time and look nice doing it.

The Recon backpack really lived up to its reputati
July 15, 2004

After considerable research, I recently purchased a North Face recon backpack from Altrec. I wanted a pack that I could take with me on my motorcycle as an alternative to saddlebags. I received my pack within two days of placing my order and was impressed by the overall appearance and quality of the pack. It easily handled all of my gear and fit comfortably and securely even at highway speeds. Altrec had the best price I have seen so far and free shipping.

Fantastic and just as convenient as I imagined
September 02, 2008

Thank you so much for the wonderful customer service that TAJ gave me during the order of the backpack. I was well pleased with the length of shipping time.......it arrived in excellent condition and I will certainly order from you all again.

Excellent
September 17, 2007

Ive had this bad for only three weeks and I love it! It has plenty of room for my school books and also a laptop. Its got a place to stash my MP3 player and phone and makes them easily accessible at the same time. This lightweight bag is also great when I'm riding my bike around and when i get off i have a place to put my helmet. I love it!

Fits everything with multi-use
March 11, 2009

This backpack fits everything I need for school on my everyday routine. The small pockets on the inside help organize my little chords and accessories. It is also wonderful that I can change it to a hiking backpack, or a sleepover/travel bag. It is a great purchase.

awesome!
April 23, 2008

the backpack is amazing.. i love it! also, the shipping was quick and i really appreciate it.. i am goin to use this backpack for a long time and i might even buy another one for my friend!

Great for school and day hikes
March 02, 2009

I've been using this bag for a while now and I really like it. I've used it for school, day hikes, and city travel. It's a good all around backpack. Also, the side pockets easily fit Nalgene bottles.

Great Pack!
March 07, 2009

I really like this back pack a lot. It fits a ton of stuff and is also very stylish. I hoping to use this pack some on a hiking trip in Oregon. I would highly recommend this pack.

Great overall back pack!!
June 03, 2007

I love this back pack. I have a Dell 6000 Inspiron laptop that's 15.4 inches and it fits great inside my backpack plus I still have room for books. The plus side is that I don't even feel the laptop when I commute by bike. It has great pockets for all your stuff. And another thing a love about it is the zippers because I tend to wear out a backpack real fast because of all the things I carry but this zipper seems like it’s going to hold up. This bag is also great for hikes. I did a lot of research before I bought this backpack I looked at various other one but this one beat them all. It's a little pricy bu I really love this back pack and how many people can say that?

Exactly what I need
August 22, 2008

I will be starting law school in the fall and wanted a backpack that could hold a lot of heavy books and not kill my back. This backpack and its back saving technology works wonderfully. I also like the organizational compartment in the front pocket where there is space for my cell phone, ipod, and pens and pencils. Also, the mesh front is perfect for shoving jackets or other large items into. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase and believe it would work very well for other students who know they will have a large amount of books to carry around

yeah yeah
August 13, 2008

this is a good bag but dont believie all this rubish above and below me this pack will rip it will break an after 2 years yes 2 years not a liftiime u will probaly need a new one

Great Pack
May 28, 2007

I got this pack about three months ago and I love it. It's very well made and still looks brand new after three months of use. It's got lots of pockets to keep your stuff organized and the straps are well cushioned so it doesn't dig into your shoulders even if you have heavy stuff in it. My cell phone doesn't really fit well in the cell phone pocket on the shoulder strap, but that pocket great for a small Mp3 player. The only downside is that the way the two main compartments are set up, if you have something bulky in one, it makes it hard to put much in the other.

Great!!!
September 09, 2007

I'm 13 and I just got this daypack for school. I thought that it would be way to small to fit my 3 inch binder in but it turns out it was perfect. I can fit my binder, 2 books, 5 subject spiral notebook, lunch bag and more...what a great purchase!

Not enough room for my books.
September 10, 2007

I wanted to use this primarily for a laptop backpack because of the seperate sleeve. However the Recon has enough room for about two or three of my classes. When I want to go and study, I prefer to have more room for the rest of my class materials. The organizer pockets are nice, but almost every backpack has them.

Great Pack
September 16, 2008

The pack is a good guy if you have the money. I found it cheeper elsewhere, but it serves my purpose of protecting my computer well, is very durable and has a place for everything.

Excellent Backpack
November 10, 2006

This is probably the best backpack I've ever owned. Comfortable, good for holding my laptop, binder, a few books, and that's just the main compartment! Highly recommended backpack.

Great bag!
February 17, 2008

It has been quite useful as a backpack for work! It fits my 19" Dell M90 (it is a bit snug, but still fits!) and has the perfect zippered compartments and places for the essentials like a wireless mouse and power cable. It's really comfortable to wear and I look forward to using it as a pack for hiking too. I love it, worth every penny!

Very nice commuter pack
August 16, 2007

I have owned a North Face Recon for as long as there has been a Recon. I had my last one stolen two weeks ago. I am gong to replace it with a new Recon next payday. I wish the internal pockets were larger. And Some loops to tie stuff on the outside would be nice as well.

A perfect backpack!
August 07, 2007

Great backpack...simple, yet it has everything that one would want/need in a backpack!

Recon Pack
October 10, 2006

I love this pack, I have an older version but it very durable. alot of compartments water holders on both sides, straps are very thick,comfortable and durable. I would recommend this

D3nnis

Does it's job
November 15, 2008

Great backpack. Does it's job. roomy, and durable. Although it's more exspensive than all the other backpacks it's worth it.

Good purchase!
March 05, 2004

I just want to say that this bag has met every expectation that I have for a day pack. I had the original North Face Borealis bag that came out four years ago. When it died on me, I could not find any bag that could replace it both in design and functionality. I ended waiting for another year for a bag that would be worth buying. You will not be disappointed! This bag is nicely designed and is spacious with pockets in the right places. I wish the North Face Logo was a little smaller but that's just me. Otherwise, a perfect buy for those who need a daypack for different things: school, hiking, weekend trips, etc. Buy it!

This bag will knock the bejeezus out of you!
August 19, 2002

An amazing pack that defies expectation. I filled it with textbooks on the first day of classes and it miraculosly performed extremely well under 25 lbs. of books! It's almost like a magic trick that you can fit a day's worth of books and supplies and it doesn't feel bulky at all. Just buy it, it's an amazing value for such a versatile and durable bag.

Great Daypack
June 17, 2004

This is a really good pack, I bought if as a general purpose travel pack. Everything my wife and I may want to take will fit, snorkel gear, extra jacket, towels, books, and room enough for snacks. This will be a fine carry-on, and will fit right under a table in a restaurant. If you are looking for a general purpose shoulder pack - you found it.

Awesome!
July 29, 2008

Super backpack! My 14 year old daughter loves it. She is excited about using it this year. Lots of room - Lots of pockets! Great design.

Great service and a wonderful product with everything we needed!
August 17, 2008

This is a great pack! It was given to my daughter for R.O.T.C. Not only did it fit the bill for required features, but she could get it in basic black! We couldn't believe how quickly it arrived after our order! Thank you for a job well done!

good roomy pack, big enough for all my stuff. but uncomfortable!
December 04, 2007

I was looking for a backpack that would be able to fit my school textbooks, binders, AND my laptop. A friend recommended the recon so I tried it out. It fits my laptop just perfectly. If it was a bigger laptop it definitely wouldn't have fit. the recon was big enough to fit my school text books and binders, my DELL Inspiron 1521 Notebook (15.4 inch) and even a tiny purse on top of everything. The recon was great for that purpose, but because I'm a small girl, it looks a bit awkward on me. The back of the bag is wide and fits awkwardly to me and again, that is probably because I'm a girl and have more of a smaller back. This book bag is definitely made to fit males rather than females. The book bag is as big as me, maybe even bigger! and the shoulders hurt in the beginning because it had no padding. The shoulder straps are a tad bigger than my shoulders. But Im getting used to them now. Because i was looking for a book bag that would be perfect for school, and partly because I was getting tired to look for a better book bag, I decided to keep it and I am satisfied with my decision. the only con is the shoulder straps. I wish there was more padding on the shoulders. the shoulder straps are stiff and they hurt!

The lightest, most spacious backpack ever.
April 17, 2007

I bought many backpacks before this--Nike, Jansport, etc. Although the Jansport Airlift was fun, it didn't get the job done. Although the Nike Air bubbles were really bubbly, they were not right for me. Both bags were uncomfortable when loaded even with the stupid air straps. But this, this Recon bag is ridiculous. So comfy, so efficient, so stylish. It fit's my laptop and and my charger, my wallet, two Gatordes on the side, all of my books, and so much more free space inside. Really good for daytrips or just school.

Good for hiking, not good for securing your laptop
September 13, 2008

I didn't buy this bag, but after reading the reviews I decided to find one at a local sporting goods store to have a look. I was hoping to find a bag to carry an expensive laptop around in that nobody could guess the contents of. After analyzing it (and several other versions of the "recon" bag), I realized that it is too lightweight and lacking padding to protect a laptop and I wasn't impressed with the small amount of padding on the shoulder straps. The hip belt only goes around your hips if you are an extremely short individual (I am 5'10" and the strap went around my belly button). The nylon is also thin enough that it could be easily cut with a razor and the zipper pulls are made of string - not suitable for adequate security in high crime areas. This bag might work great for a school bookbag or a bag to go hiking with, but it did not suit my needs. I was also not very impressed by the small number of organization pockets that it has, especially since so many reviewers boasted about this.

I love it!!!!!
September 09, 2007

I love my back pack. I just started college and i only have classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays so i have to take all of my books both days and it is a very heavy load but with this back pack it is very comfortable. I have had it for three weeks and i can't find one thing that i don't like about it.

Great looking and spacious...Altrec offers fast shipping!
August 23, 2007

My 13 year old daughter loves this bag. She is able to fit three 2 inch binders plus a couple of textbooks and still sprint to class. It is made to carry heavy loads, but it doesn't feel heavy on your back. I always bought her "Lands End" and "LL Bean" backpacks until this year, and I'm glad we switched to this bag. She loves the designated spots for the cell phone and i-pod, plus the extra pockets for her scheduler in the front. I have a feeling this bag will carry her into High School, whereas the prior ones didn't hold up through the school year. Since we personalize her bags, I was unable to return the other ones.

Page: 1, 2
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED