The North Face Women's Metropolis Down Parka

175644

Sold Out
We'll tell you when there's more:



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship - details 
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

The North Face Women's Metropolis Down Parka Reviews Page 3

Review Summary

4.8 out of 5

241 Reviews

Pros
  • Great design: 69
  • Build quality: 55
  • Performance: 44
  • Ease of use: 41

Cons
  • Cost: 31
  • Bad design: 1
  • can be tough to zip: 1
  • could be a bit longer: 1
Comfort: 4.8 / 5
Quality: 4.7 / 5
Durability: 4.7 / 5
Warmth: 4.5 / 5
Water Protection: 3.6 / 5
Fit: 3.2 / 5

241 Ratings & Reviews

Nice Quality, not too bulky, sooo comfortable!!!!
January 08, 2008

Great Jacket!!!!

Just what I wanted
November 01, 2009

Great coat. Warm and light weight.

Great Coat
February 05, 2007

I brought this coat for my daughter for Christmas. She loves it. It is very very warm and lightweight. She has a wool coat that now just hangs up in the closet because of the warmth of the North Face. Being a teenager they despise anything that is too big and bulky, well this coat is neither and she has put it to the true test this week as our temperatures are in the single digits. Great coat for the money. Kudos to the Altrec sales and customer service staff also. I had to exchange my first coat and I wish the rest of my life was that easy and pleasant!!!!!!

North Face Metropolis Parka
August 11, 2007

Great Quality! Bought a medium instead of small to accommodate extra clothes. Coat is so soft and light weight, I can't wait to wear it!

Metropolis Parka
February 18, 2008

I bought this jacket for my wife and she wears it everywhere. She says it keeps here perfectly warm and is stylish to boot.

Toasty Warm!
December 16, 2007

The ordered 'Metroplis Parka' arrived 1.5 days after ordering. The coat is warm, light and easy to wear. Being in a northern climate, northern Alberta, Canada, (land of snow and ice), I decided to attached fur to the hood. I am toasty warm now. I find the coat a bit big and the sleeves about and inch too long. I think North Face should consider making and XXS size. In the meantime I will enjoy the XS coat I have and hope it's lifespan meets that of my 12 year old, 600 down, jacket; it's been worn endlessly and still is in great shape.

Warm and Elegant!
March 30, 2007

Can't ask for a better combination - warmth and elegance. If you are someone like me who finds it difficult to stay warm, this one's definitely gonna be a keeper. And I don't like looking bulky so this parka is just great!

this parka is perfect
October 30, 2009

I am so pleased with the warmth, the tailoring and the style. Exceeded every expectation.

Awesome coat
May 17, 2009

I just love this coat! It is totally lightweight and I initially wondered how warm it would be. Turns out that despite it's weight, it is SO warm and great for even really, really cold winters in NYC!

great coat
January 29, 2007

perfect length, light weight and super warm

Warm and comfortable
October 27, 2006

This parka is simply fantastic! Great length, very light and warm as can be. The hood is comfortable with or without a hat and keeps my whole head warm even on windy days. It's not a bulky parka and doesn't get in the way or limit my movement. It's so warm I wear it with just a t-shirt underneath even on cold days! (there's room for a sweater too if required). It's great for walks, for shopping trips or simply driving to work. I wouldn't wear it for any occasion where it might have to stand up to lots of wear as the outer fabric, although very soft and light, wouldn't stand up to a lot of abrasion. The pockets are perfectly placed at the waist and are comfortably lined in a soft material, as are the cuffs and the collar. I've been looking for a longer length jacket for a while now and I'm very happy with my choice and would buy this parka again. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to keep warm this winter!

Metropolis parka
August 09, 2007

I love the color and the texture of the jacket. I have not have a chance to wear it, but I am sure it will keep me warm.

Great jacket for a Lacrosse mom. Covers my back!
February 18, 2008

Warm and stylish for an older lady. Feel good and warm in it. Zipper is great for insulation. Pocket on inside and outside handwarmers. really like it.

it feels so good, soft and light weight
January 04, 2007

i love the fact that it gives good coverage, allowing me to wear lighter weight clothing. for its size it crumples up into a small bundle, unfold and walla no wrinkles. i have recommended it to several people who admired it's style.

Great Coat!
January 15, 2009

I got the jacket in ink blue after altrec ran out of the brown, but I am happy with the results. The jacket is pretty tailored and hits right up the knee. Its fairly light, or maybe I just think that because I am in Boston, since it is only a 600 count for the entire body. However, it is an overall great coat and great quality and I definitely recommend it. I am between 5foot6 and 5foot7 and around 140lbs. a small fits well if you want it to be tailored. If you want more room for layers you may want to consider going to a medium. overall great jacket!

Mostly great but some flaws
December 12, 2009

This coat is warm, sufficiently long and non-bulky as anticipated. The asphalt gray is very attractive; a nice alternative to black but still neutral and will be timeless enough for this jacket to not be obsolete in a couple of years. However, I am disappointed that there is not a brushed chin guard as stated in the description. Also, the hood is barely large enough to cover my ears and forehead (I have a relatively small head). If I'm wearing a parka because it's that cold, I would like for the hood to be substantial enough to actually be useful. If you don't intend to wear the hood and you're not picky about the chin liner, it's a warm and attractive jacket.

Great Purchase
November 29, 2007

This was a great purchase. Very warm light weight and comfortable.

great buy
May 18, 2007

I purchased this coat in moonlight ivory; the color is absolutely amazing! I have been looking for a similar coat for awhile, and when I saw it on sale (only moonlight ivory, but I imagine that black would be more appropriate for most, though) and decided to take a chance buying it online. As a result I am very pleased with my purchase. The style is both modern and versatile. The coat is very comfortable, feels true to size, pockets are conveniently positioned, hood is comfortable as well. You would not feel embarrassed to show anywhere wearing this coat, it is very well made. I agree with other reviewers that it's not bulky, and not very tight at the same time, just the right proportion. Overall, it's a good everyday coat. The only minus for me was that it's lightweight, and I'm not sure if it's suitable for Chicago winter, but it was warm enough for early spring. I would highly recommend buying this coat for those who like comfort and casual style.

worth the price
January 29, 2007

I wear an extra small/petite and was worried it would be too big but it fits beautifully.. maybe a little longer on me. It is so warm I don't dread going to work in the early morning, the hood was also a must for me. I have received compliments on how nicely fitted it is even though it is filled with goosedown. I would not be hesitant to recommend it to anyone looking for a functional warm winter coat.

Great parka!
April 23, 2007

The Metropolis Parka is super-light yet warm, and also very very flattering, for a winter coat! The 3/4 length is fashionable; it looks no worse than any of the designer parkas. It is very well made. I purchased a black one in size XL, and I feel I look slimmer in it than in any other coat. Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase!

Great Parka
December 30, 2008

I ordered the small hoping that it would fit my hips in spite of the measurement chart and it fits perfectly! (I am 5'3" and am usu. an XS/S on top & M on bottom) The length, fit, and warmth of the coat are perfect for a windy Chicago winter. I do wish it would not "leak" down,however. I am hoping that it will stop after the first cleaning. Otherwise, I really like and recommend this coat - functional & fashionable.

Not warm
December 03, 2007

I love North Face products but I have to say, I spent $269. on this jacket the other day and have worn it twice- and been cold both times. It's more like a spring coat to me- the down is thin- and while I think it's a nice looking coat, I expect wind protection and warmth from my North Face products and this jacket in my experience does not provide either. My cheap Marshall's purchased ski jacket is MUCH warmer.

Worth every penny
January 09, 2008

I love this coat! It's super lightweight which is great since I travel from Chicago to the Pac NW and New England areas. My hands feel nice and toasty in the pockets so I never really use my gloves at all. I purchased the black in the xsmall (I'm 5'2", 102 lbs.) and it fits perfectly with still room to layer (not that I really need to since it's so warm).

Perfect winter coat
December 18, 2007

This coat is extremely lightweight, yet very warm. I wear it to walk to work in thin scrubs and I have yet to feel a chill...in New England! It is fashionable and versatile!

You'll like it!
December 07, 2008

I expected to need an XS -- as it turned out the XS was snug in the shoulders and even the hips -- I am 5'2" 110 or so pounds. Usually a size 4, sometimes 2. The Small is much roomier, I can wear layers.

great !
November 19, 2006

It is a perfect parka for tall,slim ladys !

fashionable and functional
January 25, 2007

This parka is lightweight, yet incredibly warm. I wear it everyday.

Great coat!
October 20, 2008

This coat is great! Super light but very warm. I'll be perfect for Chicago winter. I bought vintage white and love this color. I'm 6' tall but I chose size medium which was a good call. The sleeves could be a little bit longer but other than that it fits perfect. I would highly recommend this item.

super coat
January 18, 2009

It's super warm, but it doesn't weigh a ton. Best winter jacket I've owned.

Great, lightweight coat for winter
January 11, 2008

I purchased this coat for my daughter last year and fell in love with it. I ordered one for myself this year. I initially ordered the gold but exchanged it for the black (much more versatile color). The best feature is its lightweight and shoulder room. Some coats feel tight around the shoulders, this one provides a lot of freedom of movement and room for bulky sweaters underneath.

Perfect Parka
December 12, 2009

My wife feels North Face makes the warmest jackets. This one doesn't disappoint during a long Chicago Winter.

The best--not too heavy--winter warm stylish jacket.
December 24, 2007

I really am enjoying the jacket. The website suggests that a person size down, if they are in-between sizes; however multiple reviews suggest otherwise. I am one of those people in-between a Sm/Med. and am still wondering whether or not I should have gone with the Small instead of the Medium. If only my arms were shorter and my swimmer-like shoulders weren't as broad, I would have gone with the Small. Still-->GREAT JACKET. It's a must have and keeps me warm, stylish, and happy.

Fabulous
February 12, 2007

Great coat and incredible fit, I'm 5'11" size 8 and the Med. is perfect. I only hope all NorthFace sleeves are this long! First long down coat I've ever had with a flattering shape!

Great
November 21, 2007

Its a great jacket. Perfect for places like New York. It is light and I love the mission plum color

Great coat
December 25, 2008

Love it! Got small black and I do really think it is true to size. I would have ordered the x-small considering all the reviews but it wasn't in stock so I went for the small. I tried an x-small at a local store and I felt it was really short on length and very tight. Great service and price from altrec!

Great coat!!
October 30, 2009

great coat, warm and lightweight. amazing!!

so warm and cosy and very fashionable
March 01, 2007

I was so pleased to get my coat. it is even better than in the video, looks very loose fitting on the model but i found it fits and looks perfect. very feminine.

Love it!
December 12, 2009

I bought the North Face Metropolis Parka for my daughter. It fit perfect to size and looks fabulous. It is so warm and comfortable....now I want one for myself! Loved the free shipping. Thank you!

Great for scandinavian winter
December 01, 2009

I ordered this coat all the way from Sweden, since the color ink blue wasn't´t available here where I live, it´s just what I wanted!

Love It!!
December 12, 2009

I am 6' tall and wear a size 6 I ordered the large and was afraid it would be too bulky but did it anyway for the added sleeve length (1")It fits great!! So far keeping me nice and warm in 30-40 degree weather. North Face products always turn out to be worth the extra money!!!

Wife loves it...
May 19, 2007

Bought if for the wife and she loves it...the moonlight ivory color was a bit different from what we expected...not really ivory or cream and not really off white...but...still nice

The best dressy-sport coat around!
December 02, 2007

I've been wearing this coat in 20 degree weather and it is a wonder! I bike a lot and so I can vouch for its wind resistance. Also, the hoodie has enough room for my helmet, which is so AWESOME it makes me want to cry. Don't wear this coat in the rain, though, for too long. But do get it. You won't regret it.

Waited a year for this coat since it went so fast last year
November 26, 2008

Bought this coat for my daughter, a young mother in a cold climate. She's wanted it for a year and it was worth the wait. People stop her to comment on what a great looking coat she is wearing. She loves it. It's always her first choice from the closet. I couldn't be more pleased with how happy she is.

I love this jacket
January 29, 2008

I saw this jacket and I had to have it for après ski. Not only does it look great, it's really, really warm. And, it's so light that you can roll it up in your bag and never know it's there. I wear it at home on cold nights and après ski. The length is perfect right above the knees. It can be worn very casually or over a suite for work. And, because of the light weight it's perfect for traveling. The North Face as come a long way!!

Great part of my winter wardrobe
June 11, 2007

Just what I was looking for for the next winter season. It is a warm yet light jacket that will prove very useful. The color is amazing, I decided to go with the moonlight ivory. Everybody loved the color, is white but not quite what people really seem to enjoy. It is a very comfortable coat, with lined pockets that will keep my hands warm when I forget to bring my gloves with me.

Amazing coat with a style!
November 19, 2007

I am always cold. This coat is perfect for looking light and stylish. I love the combination of brown and grey. Most of all, this coat is ideal for Boston's weather. It is WARM!

EXCELLENT!
March 09, 2008

Drew in customer service tracked down this coat for me and it was VERY hard to find. I was so happy and would highly recommend your firm! great customer service!!!

AWESOME COAT
October 20, 2009

I absolutely love this coat. More expensive than I normally would spend, but so worth it. Goes with all my clothing: super casual, casual and dressy. Lightweight and not bulky like most down filled coats! I'm 5'4" & 130 lbs and ordered a medium....fits perfect!

I love this parka!
September 12, 2007

I absolutely love it! It's keeps you really warm, and it's so light!

I give it a 5 plus
October 22, 2009

I love it. It is so lightweight and warm. I want cold weather all the time so I can wear it.

Just right for the weather
February 23, 2009

Today is the first time that I had put on my Metropolis Parka and feels just great for this windy weather I wasn't cold at all, I would recommend this coat to anyone.

I love this coat!
January 20, 2008

My husband gave me as a year end present.I love it. This coat is really light and warm. The size is truely fit--I got a size extra small. I can go anywhere with this coat without felling cold in this winter.

I love this coat!
January 02, 2007

The North Face Women's Metropolis Parka is great - lightweight and extremely warm, it's the perfect coat for a cold Chicago winter. I definitely recommend purchasing this coat!

Love It!
January 07, 2009

This coat is super light and thin! I almost returned it before opening the package just by judging the weight. I had to test it on a 25 degrees(F) and very windy evening on our balcony with just a T-shirt and long johns on for 15 minutes, and surprisingly kept me warm! At first, I wasn't crazy about the ink blue color, but now I'm loving it as it is not very common. I mainly purchased it for Inauguration day, but could not wait til that day so I wear it every day and put my leather and wool coats away!

great coat
February 27, 2007

My daughter loves the coat! Very light weight but very warm and the removable hood was also a winner.

Excellent winter coat
January 19, 2008

Bought this coat for my wife as a Christmas gift. Wanted to get her one that was warm, light, and knee length. This coat fit the bill and she loves it. It is a great walking coat and even at -20c with a brisk wind she has stayed warm and comfortable. Great service from Altrec!

this parka is perfect
November 23, 2009

great coat, warm and lightweight. amazing!!

Great coat
January 28, 2008

Living in New England I really needed a long and warm coat but didn't want something really padded. When I first saw the coat, I couldn't believe how thin and light it was and really didn't think it would be warm enough but it is. I love the style of it and the fit. It is very fashionable and I have gotten lots of compliments on it. I wasn't sure whether to get Med or Small and got small. (I vary between sm and med in clothes). Down size if you are not sure. I tried on the medium since in another store and the sleeves are too long. I got the cargo green and just love it. You really can't got wrong with North Face products and I know it will last me for many more New England winters!!!

unbelievably lightweight and warm
February 22, 2007

I purchased this coat for the woman who cares for my ailing father. She travels 1 1/2 hrs to get to us. When this coat arrived in a small light box we could not imagine it was her coat. It has turned out to be the perfect coat for her travels on the railroad. You do not want to have a heavy coat. She could not be happier. It is also flattering , which is not always the case with this kind of coat.

I love this jacket
January 29, 2008

I saw this jacket and I had to have it for aprs ski. Not only does it look great, it's really, really warm. And, it's so light that you can roll it up in your bag and never know it's there. I wear it at home on cold nights and aprs ski. The length is perfect right above the knees. It can be worn very casually or over a suite for work. And, because of the light weight it's perfect for traveling. The North Face as come a long way!!

Rainy
top250Contributor

great length & warmth compare to triple c or arctic parka
September 15, 2007

i have all 3 jackets but the one tops the other 2 simply b/c of the length & also the thickness (arctic is 2 thick & it looks chubby) while triple c is 2 long. overall, the best jacket!

wonderful winter coat
February 09, 2007

close fitting so that you don't have to look enormous in order to stay warm. Long sleeves are nice, also the arms have a fuzzy inside so they don't get cold with wind. Perfect length too.

Worth every cent!
November 24, 2009

Wonderful coat! Fits beautifully, very smart looking, and toasty without any bulk. I love it!

I LOVE this coat!
February 28, 2009

I bought this coat in Ink Blue (this is the only one left when I bought it at FULL price). When I got it, I fell in love with this coat immediately and felt happy that it's worth every penny i spent. The color looks great: deep blue with shimmer, which is suit for both office and casual occasions. I am 170cm and 113 lb. Small gives me more room for sweater and layers, though I think XS may look better. TNF and Altrec never disappoint me!

very nice
October 09, 2007

It's really warm and light. Some of the feather does come out but not much. Only the first few days of wearing it. The shipping was on time and fast. The price is a little high but I guess it worth it.

North Face Metropolis Parka-awesome coat, so light.
September 05, 2007

I got a size small in vintage white. It looks so cute on, not bulky at all. I'm 5'3, 110 lbs, I was debating between a size small and the xsmall. I wonder if the xsmall would be too tight. Anyway, the jacket is amazingly light, which will make it easier for traveling on a plane. I hate carrying a heavy coat around. Great service on this website, Free shipping, fast shipment. Just awesome!

The Perfect Coat for The Windy City - Chicago
December 12, 2009

Lightweight, Extremely Warm, Great Fitting, and Great Colors to choose from!

THE BEST COAT!
January 05, 2008

Altrec is awesome. I had my heart set on the cargo color in this jacket and could not find it anywhere. Altrec emailed me as soon as they got their shipment. I was very pleased with their promptness and following through with their notifications.Unlike some online shopping. All in all I am very happy with my purchase. Perfect fit, Great warmth and very stylish. Worth every penny :)

Awesome coat
March 30, 2009

I love this coat. It keeps me very warm and light. Very worth the $$ paid on the coat. I got it in the cherry stain and the color is just amazing. XS fit very well. I'm 5'2" and it was perfect for petite framed people.

Awesome coat!
November 12, 2007

I purchased the black version. I am in car sales in the flat-lands of Ohio. It has been an awesome addition to my wardrobe. It can get really cold and windy and I have been staying toasty warm. I was worried that the coat was going to be too small because sometimes North Face stuff runs small (for me) but this is actually a little bit big on me. I think it will work though with additional layers for winter. All around -- Terrific Jacket!!

Great Jacket
February 06, 2009

She loved it...Living in Wisconsin it is warm and stylish

Great coat for a great price!
July 10, 2007

I normally wear a Small, but with NorthFace jackets, I tend to wear a medium. I purchased the medium, and while it feels a little big, I think that it will be fine during the winter when I'm wearing winter clothes under it. It's a great length, and I look forward to trying it out this winter!

great functional coat
November 19, 2006

The coat is so comfortable. Light weight and easy to wear. The length is wonderful as it gives full coverage for cold wintery days although it is not too long. I love to be able to pull on the hood in either wind or snow and the back of th neck is lined for warmth. This is a all around coat I am thrilled to have for the winter

fashionable and functional
January 25, 2007

This parka is lightweight, yet incredibly warm. I wear it everyday.

Great warmth for its weight
December 23, 2007

There are warmer coats than the Metropolis but they tend to be bulkier and heavier. The Metropolis provides quite good warmth in a coat that is light, easy to wear, and actually flattering -- not puffy. A very good balance of comfort/looks with warmth. I have warmer coats but the Metropolis tends to be the one I wear most of the time. I just purchased a second one in another color. I am 5'3", 109 pounds and the Small fits perfectly over a light sweater. Runs a bit smaller than the Nuptse.

My Sister from London loved this coat-Recommended to all
January 04, 2008

My sister loved her coat! I couldn't have purchased a better coat from a better company. Thank you for making our Christmas special!!!

Best jacket I have bought
January 24, 2009

Love my jacket. Only thing it was missing was a sleeve cuff. The color new taupe green is beautiful. I live in Wpg Canada and it has been colder here this week than the north pole. -48C and I was toasty warm.

amazing
top500Contributor

FABULOUS COAT...AN ASSET TO YOUR WARDROBE!!!
December 05, 2007

This 3/4 length coat is beautifully designed, comfortable to wear, fashionable and functional. I purchased it last year in apple green, and was absolutely thrilled to purchase it this season in black. It is warm, comfy in the mountains; add a rhinestone pin and it works in the "Big Apple". I get so many compliments on these coats. GREAT PURCHASE TWICE!

Just what I wanted!
September 09, 2008

This coat is exactly what I hoped it would be! It's a great length, color and fit. It's very light weight and has a nice rather fitted shape also!

Great coat for New England winters...
February 14, 2009

When I wear this coar I feel like I am wrapped in a down blanket. It's warm and cozy and best of all very light. I love the ink blue. What a change from wearing black!

Nice Winter Coat
November 05, 2009

This coat is stylish, great color selection, and the fabric feels great. However, I wish that the amount of down should be increased. It could be warmer.

Page: 1, 2, 3, 4
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED