The North Face Women's Paramount Valley Convertible Pants

$44.97 - $74.95 save up to 40%
Prices vary. Some Discontinued. Limited to stock on hand.
77591

Different size or color?



Loading...

loading...
Qty:
Add to CartUnavailableNotify MeSpecial Order
, - (Sku )
(% off)
  • Select an item for delivery date
    via standard shipping  
    Special Order: Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 16 - details
    Enter a zip for delivery date
    Estimated to ship Apr 16 - details
    Special Order - Delivery: ,  
    Estimated, via standard shipping  
  • $ extra handling fee
  • 30-day Guarantee & Easy Returns
  • Available within the U.S. only
  • CS: Ships from
  • CS: on hand

The North Face Women's Paramount Valley Convertible Pants Reviews Page 2

Review Summary

4.6 out of 5

152 Reviews

Pros
  • Great design: 9
  • Great value: 9
  • Build quality: 8
  • Ease of use: 7

Cons
  • Cost: 6
  • Bad design: 4
  • comfort: 1
  • fit is a little boxy: 1
Durability: 4.8 / 5
Comfort: 4.7 / 5
Quality: 4.6 / 5
Fit: 2.4 / 5

152 Ratings & Reviews

Three pairs in one!
August 03, 2009

I am so excited about these pants! I'm going backcountry hiking for a week soon, so if I'm going to be wearing one pair of pants (I know, sounds gross, but I have to pack light!), it's going to be this one. Long pants, capris, and shorts! Worth it! Do order one size up though. And I'm tall and the length is perfect, even with boots. Very comfortable and lightweight.

Best convertible pants!!!
May 11, 2009

I bought these pants because I love that they are convertible in three ways- pants, capris, and shorts. They fit well giving enough room to move freely and do not look manly like other outdoor pants I have tried. I am about 5'6" and the length of my pair may be about a centimeter too long. These pants are a little on the pricey side, but if you are going to buy convertible pants I definitely recommend investing in these!

Look Great, Feel Great
August 04, 2009

These pants are very stylish and comfortable. I would recommend ordering one size larger as there is no stretch in the fabric.

My Favorite Pants
April 13, 2009

The material is light, comfortable, and durable. I wore them while traveling and they were great accomodating changes in temperatures with the various configurations. I even wear them to work and receive compliments on how great they look! They're awesome!

Fantastic
May 30, 2009

I wear these pants to go fishing all the time. They are tough and wash well and I like them so much I ordered two pairs of each color.

True to size- Water Resistant- Love them!
October 11, 2009

Took them on a backpacking trip in CO. Since it was snowing I put some thermals on under them and they were still really comfy. I really liked that they were water resistant and dried easily. These are my new favorite pants!

the only pants you'll need
January 27, 2010

I went backpacking in costa rica during and I wore these pants as shorts, capris and as long pants during my trip and they were fabulous! They look great and are extremely practical. When i got back, I purchased another one in a different color.

Awesome Pants
July 30, 2009

I just wore these pants on a weekend backpacking trip and they were awesome. (I purchased the asphalt grey color, and they are darker than they appear in the photo) The zip offs made it convenient to [con-vert] them into shorts. The shorts are mid-thigh and comfortable. They ended up covered in mud, but cleaned up easily. The fabric is not extremely light, but still light- weight. I found that these pants run a little long.

Flattering despite being a bit big
January 18, 2010

I'm 5'4" and not quite 125 pounds. My hips (measured right on the hip bones) are a comfortable 33 inches. I ordered a size 4 and they are slightly big in the waist, but I'm glad I didn't get a smaller size as I think they would have been too tight. The greatest thing is that they don't look big! The cut of the pants is wonderful and the quality of them helps hide the fact that they're a little baggy.

comfy and great features
January 05, 2010

Comfortable, like the fact that can wear it in 3 ways (shorts, capri, full-length), repels light rain, if wet will dry up quickly. I'm 5'1" and 92.5lbs, used to wear 2/short which was a bit loose and long. When 0/short became available I bought a 2nd pair, fits better around the waist & butt but still a bit too long. If you prefer fitted look go for size0, if you want to wear baselayer underneath the pants and more freedom of movement, go for size2.

Just what I was Looking For
March 24, 2010

These pants are great. Nice quality. Fast Drying. I am tall - 5'10" and the length of the Tall Size is just right. The size 10 is a tad tighter than most of my 10's so if you're just right in a size, you may want to order the next larger size.

The best value with excellent service!
October 17, 2009

I have been extremely happy with the purchases that I've made with Altrec! I've shopped around prior to each purchase, and have always found Altrec to have the best offers. The free shipping is an added plus - and everything ships so quickly.

Love these pants!
September 10, 2008

Bought my first pair to hike up Mount LeConte. Plan on buying more because we got caught in rain, they dried very quickly, hardly wrinkled, are stylish and comfortable. I'm 5'4" and the short fits me well with low shoes.

Quality Pants, Nice Fit
March 15, 2010

I like the fit of these pants. They are comfortable and form-fitting; not baggy at all. The material is also nice. It feels more quality than most convertible pants.

Gotta love TNF
March 29, 2010

Got these pants in the mail yesterday and wore them on a short hike today. They are lightweight and seem very durable. The DWR coating is an awesome feature that I will definitely appreciate backpacking this summer. I stuck them under the running faucet for a minutes and they were still dry. I'm 5'8" and 130 lbs and the 8R are a good fit. The waist does come an inch or so below the naval. The one thing I'm not so keen on is the internal draw string. To tighten the waist it "bunches" the waistline. Furthermore, its basically a flat shoe string so don't expect to be able to snug these down a lot after several days on the trail.

Great!
March 28, 2010

I love these pants! I wore them hiking last weekend and they were just what I was hoping for. They do sit a little lower at the waist than what I prefer, but the drawstring did help them to fit comfortably. And the added benefit was that the inevitable mud from hiking in the Adirondacks came out easily in the wash.

Sweet pants
October 18, 2009

I am really glad to find these pants- and in petite sizing! They fit true-to-size- 4 as usual. These are so much cuter than the typical hiking pants with the pleats. It is a good investment - I use these pants for hiking and backpacking.

Northwest

Great hiking pants!
January 19, 2010

These pants have spent many days in the Northwest weather and continue to wear perfectly. They are both durable and fashionable. I like that their is no elastic around the waist. The only drawback is the lack of a zipper that would allow the user to remove the pant legs when boots are worn. I liked them so much I purchased a pair for my mother.

Great find!
August 31, 2008

I purchased these for my daughter as a gift because she needed a pair of slacks for outdoor activities. They ran a little small for her so I had to order a size up. Other than that, she loves the style, fit, comfort and the 3 convertible lengths. I may have to purchase another pair for her or myself!

Great product, as expected from TNF!
March 26, 2010

High quality fabric and great construction, as I've come to expect from North Face gear. I think they run a little small, so would recommend going up one size, but otherwise they're great! Can't wait to use them on hikes this summer.

Just what I was looking for
April 04, 2010

I tried on a million pairs of convertible pants and these were the winners by far. They have just the right rise so you can hike in them but not so high that you feel like your grandmother

These pants are great for traveling
August 28, 2008

These convertible pants fit almost any occasion when traveling. They don't wrinkle easily, are durable and quick drying. You can wash them on the go. They can be adjusted depending on the weather. Since the material is durable they can be a bit abrasive on the skin but not enough to deter me from buying them. If you have pets, the pet hair is attracted to the material but it isn't a big deal as long as you have a lint brush. I am 5' 4" and I think they run a little short. I tried the long but they are too long so I ordered the next size up and the lenght was perfect. They have a string to tighten at the waist and still fit nicely. The style is great and the extra pockets are nice. You don't lose storage when you convert them to shorts. I order a new pair every year in a different color. I look forward to the next colors that come out.

Great for hiking
October 25, 2009

My husband has the mens' version of these and absolutely loves them so I wanted to get a pair of my own. These pants are not only flattering, but are very comfortable on our long hikes. I was concerned about sizing as I typically wear a 4 in street clothes but a 6 in Columbia, and thought maybe all outdoor brands ran about the same size. So after reading many reviews where some claimed they ran small and others said the pants fit just right, I decided to go with a 6. They are only a tiny bit loose, but the draw string tightens them up a bit and I would rather them be a little baggy than too tight because they allow for a better range of motion while out on the trail all day. Overall, highly recommended and I'll soon be picking up the other colors as well.

Excellent hiking pant for variable weather conditions
January 22, 2009

I bought these pants for trekking in Patagonia. It is notoriously windy there, but it can also be quite warm when the sun is out. These pants were an excellent choice since they convert very easily, and they kept me nice and warm when paired with a baselayer for those chilly, windy days. Very durable, nice, big pockets, and dry quickly. I think the fit is a little boxy for a women's pant, but I like em kind of baggy anyway. Would definitely recommend them to a friend!

Great Pants
March 30, 2010

I've been looking for a pair of [con-vert]ible pants for awhile that would fit (I'm 5'2 - 110 lbs) and the size 2 short fit very well, but were still a bit long. I like this material better than that of the other north face paramount pants. I haven't tested them in the field yet, but hopefully they will do great!

These pants are fabulous
January 26, 2010

They are so comfy and look great. I have two pairs!

Nice but not good for a petite
February 08, 2010

I really liked the pants and the color. Unfortunately I'm petite, 5.2 (104 pounds) and it was too loose on me so I have to return it

Great value - a must have for outdoor enthusiasts!
August 14, 2009

I bought these for a weekend excursion of kayaking & hiking. With the crazy weather patterns I used all 3 versions (pants, capris and shorts) Personally, I thought they fit very true to size. Loved them so much I plan to buy a few more pairs!!

Perfect
March 28, 2010

I just got the pants in the mail and they fit perfectly! As the reviews said that they do run about a size smaller so since I usually wear an 8 I got a 10 and I'm glad that I did. I think these pants are going to work wonderfully on our trip to Europe and I'm buying another pair now!

Convertible Pants
March 01, 2010

I really love them! However, I do not like the velcro on the back pockets. When I sit down, they open up and then snag/stick to my shirt that I am wearing.

Exactly what I was looking for.
January 19, 2010

Perfect fit. Great quality.

Perfect!!
June 03, 2009

Great style, fit and color. North Face never fails on quality and fit.

Unflattering back pockets
February 16, 2010

I'm going on a safari in Africa and have been looking for pants suitable for the hot weather. I've ordered many different brands/models of convertible pants so my review of these is in comparison to maybe 8 other pairs. These are thicker fabric than many other pants, with basically no stretch. I think they will not be breathable enough for very warm or humid weather. I might have still kept them because the 0 Petite fit me well (I'm 5"1', 104 lbs) and it's rare to find pants that actually fit me, but the back pocket design was a deal breaker. The pockets cut straight across the back in a very unflattering line. It would not be as much of a problem if the pockets lay flat but because of they way they are constructed there is a major raised seam running across the top of the butt. I'm thin and in shape so if they don't look good on me, I'm pretty sure they won't flatter anyone. Sure, hiking is not a fashion show, but it would have been so easy to attach the back pockets with a flat seam instead of a thick ridge, or at least curve/angle the ridge instead of one continuous line that flattens out your backside -- but they apparently did not have women on their design team. The angle of the front pockets is also inconvenient, you can't casually put your hands in the front pockets because they are angled too "upright" instead of slanted out to the side. The front thigh pockets are also too small. North Face, I usually love your clothing, but these pants are a "miss"! Women looking for a flattering, lightweight, quick-drying, warm-weather hiking pant in petite sizes should buy the North Face Horizon pant -- that was my favorite.

Versatile, modern style, and slim fit
October 12, 2008

I purchased these pants for an extended travel in Asia, they are great travel pants. The waist band of the pants is about two fingers below the belly button, they are modern style and slim fit, the inseam is truly 32" long. I am 5'4" and 114 lb, these pants size 4 fit me very well. I especially like the feature of hidden draw string, It allows me to adjust the waist band without using a belt. Just keep in mind these pants are slim fit when you're ordering the size, I also have a pair of NF Precita pants size 4, the waist band of the Precita pants are nearly 2 inch wider than these pants (I had the Precita pants altered.)

Great pants!
June 23, 2009

Great style and fit. I found them to fit true to size. Note: the pumice grey color seems a bit lighter than it appears on my screen.

Love these pants
May 19, 2009

While they took a little longer than I had hoped to get here I love these pants. I have wanted a pair of convertible pants forever and a friend recommended these and wow they are great! I love North Face and have a lot of products by them but these have to be one of the best! Waterproof too! Ran very true to size for me as well.

Great for hiking in tropical areas
October 05, 2009

These pants are lightweight, perfect for hiking in hot, humid, buggy areas. I wore them in the jungle in Peru and stay as cool as I could in long sleeves and pants. They're versatile too.

top1000Contributor

My favorite pants!
November 28, 2009

I have spent the last month or so trying to find the perfect pair of [con-vert]ible pants. I have tried several pairs (including different Columbia and North Face styles) and this one is by far the best. I love the look of these pants because they are sporty and great for travel/hiking, but also can pass for smart-casual style for work. They can be worn as regular pants, capris, and shorts, and are flattering when worn in all ways. They are stylish and not boyish like a lot of other hiking pants. The shorts are neither too short or too long (come to mid thigh on me). They pack up small and even when stuffed in my bag, they don't come out too wrinkled. I have a pair in Dune Beige and one in Asphalt Grey (which is darker than it looks in the pic, like a charcoal color). I am 5'4", 140 lb with 30" waist and 39" hips, size 8 short fit me perfectly. The drawstring on the inside gives some flexibility for waist size. The only thing I would change about these pants is for the back pockets to be zippered rather than velcro, like on the North Face Horizon, because every time I sit down the velcro comes undone, so I do not trust putting anything important in the pockets. Still, these are my favorite pants of all time, I hope they last a long time.

Outstanding quality, 3 ways to wear them!
March 26, 2010

I really appreciate the shorter inseam on the "shorts" aspect, especially nice as I am barely 5'5" so some shorts seem long. Fabric is tough and wash up sharp. All features as good as described. I need to get another pair as the newer style has longer shorts. Great service w/Altrec.com

Great versatile pants
February 23, 2009

I wore these pants hiking in Kauai and in Africa. They travel well and do not wrinkle easily. They are easy to hand wash when laundry facilities are unavailable, and dry quickly (even in humid weather). I am 5'6" and around 115 lbs - I bought a size 0 in a long which fits me perfectly. The regular length would have been too short. They are a slim fit (not tight, but not overly baggy), so they may not fit well on women with muscular quads/thighs.

Great hiking pants!
March 09, 2010

These are very comfortable pants that are great for hiking. They're durable and dry quickly when wet. I've already bought several pairs. Definitely recommended!

Material is great, but
June 21, 2009

It's a great pant. Light and comfortable. I'm 5'2" but they are still too long. I think I'll wear them as shorts or capris most of the time.

A Must Buy!!
May 05, 2009

These pants are fantastic! They stood up to a whole weekend of hiking and still looked perfect. Love the option to convert from shorts to pants to capris. A must have for any trip. Definitely order up a size from the current dress pants size that you wear.

I love these pants!
August 30, 2009

These pants are comfortable and have a great fit. I love these pants so much I'm going to buy a few more pair. I love the 3 versions of how to wear these. They look great either way!

My favorite pants!
June 09, 2009

I love these. Perfect for me, change the length of my pants when I get too cold or hot. Very comfortable and rugged. I ordered up a size as suggested and they fit roomy, especially in the waist but if I got my normal size I think they would be restricting for hiking.

Love it!
December 16, 2009

This is a great pair of pants. Fits comfortably and looks fabulous. I'm considering getting another pair!

Love these pants
March 08, 2009

Had previously purchased 1 pair and loved it so much I came back and bought 2 more pairs, different colors! Fit is perfect and service through Altrec can't be beat!

good fit!
December 26, 2009

little flat on the back pocket details but good fit and comfortable!

These pants are PERFECT!
December 02, 2009

I loved these pants so much, and my man loved them on me so much, he went and bought the men's version for himself - and loves them as much as I love mine! Perfect pants that I have used hiking and rolled up to go running. Quick dry, lots of pockets, and comfortable fit.

stylish and great fit
August 08, 2009

The best pair of convertible pants I have ever owned. Love the style and low rise fit.

Great
January 28, 2010

Great fit for me being 5 ft tall! I just wish there was a snap on the inside for when u roll them into Capri length. Great pockets too

nice hiking pants
May 29, 2009

I am petite with narrow hips 5'1" and 95 lbs. I tried on lots of pants from EMS and Campmor, and REI and the size 0 short were the only ones that fit that were not from the children's department. I could only find the size 0 short on altrec. There is a drawstring so you can tighten them a little more. I thought the "short" length was still long, but wasn't so bad when I have my hiking boots on. The zip-off legs are color-coded on the zippers which was smart design; so when you convert them into shorts, you can tell which was the right leg and which was the left. These were pricey but I don't regret purchasing them.

LizLately
top500Contributor

Great Pants
October 10, 2009

These pants hiked Half Dome in Yosemite and though it rained, hailed and snowed heavily on the hike, they stayed dry inside and breathed wonderfully. They've also seen action in warmer and drier climates and been extremely comfortable. The fit is comfortable and true to size. I HIGHLY recommend them! I usually wear short pants, but the regular was fine as was the size 4 that I usually wear (NOT too small, as other reviewers have said. I actually had to return a size 6S because they were too large).

Very versatile
May 14, 2009

These pants are very versatile as they can be long pants, capris, or shorts. When rolling up into capris they didn't stay rolled up very well. I had to order 2 sizes larger than I normally wear - they run small!

Ok but not great
November 21, 2009

I ordered the pants in Marsh green and I realy like the color. They dont look as stylish on as they do in the pic but they are okay. I'm 5'7 and 145lbs and muscular, I ordered 8 long, the length is perfect but the legs are a little tight and are uncomfortable when sitting. They would be more functional if the pants had a little stretch to them. The shorts are a great length though, its hard to find shorts for tall girls that aren't obnoxiously long or x rated short, these are just right.

Great Pants!
May 10, 2009

I got these pants to go to Ecuador for 24 days. I loved that they can be capris, shorts, or pants. They fit great (though they run small - I generally wear a 4 and had to get a 6 in these pants) and are super cute.

Great Sizing
February 07, 2009

These pants are awesome. The Short length is great (short enough to look feminine, but not too short). This is the first place i have found them in a size 0. And they fit perfectly! I can't find any other pants that quite fit like these, so thank you Altrec.com.

Pants - good fit and length; delivery superb
April 30, 2009

Pants fit well and length is perfect. I did order a size up as suggested. Delivery was amazingly fast, especially since I used the free shipping option.

The Best Zip Pants for Women
May 14, 2009

Okay, maybe just for this woman. I bought a pair after trying on countless brands, sizes, styles and these are worth every penny to me. You get pants, nice enough for work casual, capris and shorts all in one. I can wear these to bike to work and keep them on at work. I bought them to hike the Grand Canyon but they are comfy and so very flattering, I wear them often. I'm gonna get another pair soon.

Mercury281

Great pants!!
May 26, 2009

These are amazing pants-very versatile. I love how you can have pants, button them up for caris, or unzip the legs for shorts! I already own three pairs. I think they're cut a little small and they shrink a little after washing, so if you're in between sizes-go one size up.

comfortable and stylish
July 21, 2009

it's low rise, the shorts are mid-thigh length which I like. Fabric is thicker than traditional quick dry fabric, due to its water repellent finish I guess. pretty lose in hips but that might be necessary for easy movement. Generally, great hiking pants.

Fantastic pants
January 24, 2010

I wore them out backpacking through New Zealand and they wore well. I already recommended them to my friends as the best pant around.

Wonderful Pants
February 04, 2010

These pants are very comfortable and work great for all types of outdoor adventures. They seem to be durable, and dry quickly when you get them wet. I use them in all seasons. They work great in cold weather with either Patagonia Capilene 3 or 4 layers beneath - depending on the temperature. I am very pleased.

Outdoors2010
top250Contributor

Not Practical
March 30, 2010

Those pants are nice but not practical for hiking purposes! The pockets were the problem for me with those pants...totally useless!

Love them!
November 07, 2009

Awesome pants!!!!!!!!! Being a tall girl it is very hard to find pants that are long enough. Definitely cute and comfy!!

Highly recommended
January 18, 2010

These pants are super comfortable and look great too. I like the versatility in that you can wear them as pants, Capri or shorts. I would definitely buy them again.

Great fit and well made pants
August 04, 2008

I purchased these pants for my wife. This is what she said: "this is my second pair of porter pants. I love the fit, low rise and mid thigh hsort length. When I zip them out i still feel sexy. I am 5'6" and the short lengh of the pants is perfect for me, so they run a little long. The standard is bit long. Well made pants and have traveled with an many treks and performed outstandingly.

always a sizing issue
June 12, 2009

I really love these pants, but I took the advice of the size chart as well as others who posted here and ordered a 2 short. Waaay too big. I am petite - 5'1" and 105 lbs, but my waist/thighs fit the chart's measurements for a 2, so I went by that. Someone here said the pants are a slim fit and might not fit muscular thighs. Wrong, they were absolutely falling off of me. Also, the 'short' length is still much too long. I have returned them and await my size 0 short. I *hope* they will fit, because I really, really want to wear them out hiking. The fabric is great quality and looks very durable and good for hot weather. Final note: I *always* seem to have a problem with sizing. If you are lucky enough to be a normal size, you will love these pants right out of the package.

Amazing pants!
March 21, 2010

These pants fit my g/f wonderfully. She loves them and she is as picky as it gets about pants. She thought they were a tad bit high on the waist, but other than that she loved the feel, the fit, and the style of these pants so I am ordering another pair!

North face paramount porter women's trousers
December 29, 2009

Great walking trousers, fab service from Altrec. Would definitely recommend these trousers to any serious walker

Unbelievable
May 14, 2009

When these pants came in, I could not believe how great they were. I have problems finding small sizes and these size 0 fit perfectly. I am 5' 3" and the regular size was the perfect length. Anyone much taller should order longer length.

Love Em!
April 29, 2009

These pants are perfect for anyone who prespires alot, like me. Not to mention the fact that they're cute and comfortable. I bought two pairs. Thanks

Just didn't fit
March 03, 2010

My wife loved the construction of these pants, and loved that they came in 'short,' which is perfect for her 5'4" height. Unfortunately, the size 6 was a little small in the hips/bottom area while the size 8 was too baggy.

Page: 1, 2
  • Talk to Us:
    (800) 369-3949
    Live Chat
  • We're Available:
    Mon-Fri: 7:30am-4:00pm PST
    Sat-Sun: CLOSED